We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not without risk.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Plantation Island Resort to your Saves list
Plantation Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good but not without risk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week recently . Beautiful location. The resort is tired in parts but they are spending money doing it up. What they have done is lovely.
The buffets are good value for money and a reasonable standard. During our stay we had buffet dinner a few nights, dinner at Anandas twice which was quite average. The Old Copra opened half way through our stay with a la carte food and it was very nice.We ate there twice. They have a very complicated billing system where they charge every meal and then credit certain amounts from the meal plan, instead of billing extra only. This is further complicated if you have family across different rooms. Allow time to sort at end of holiday. We had an in incident during our holiday when I returned to the room one afternoon to find it full of smoke. The air conditioning unit we shared with our neighbours had caught fire and caused lots of smoke to the rooms. Smoke alarms did not go off as no batteries. They moved our room and gave a small credit, but not enough considering during a night it could have killed us. Mgmt response was they are putting new smoke detectors in all rooms, from Australia instead of China. To be sure take your own and batteries for it...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi NZ Lucy.
Thank you for your review and the positive feedback you have given even though you had a distressful moment with the aircon and the smoke alarm. Our most sincere apologies over that situation and would like to assure you and those who read your comments, all detectors have been thouroughly checked for servicability.
thank you for your comments also on the fact that the resort is spending money on refurbishing and that it is noticable.
Your comments are well received and appreciated that you have taken time to give us feedback. We need the guest comments, good or bad to help us maintain or improve our standards. From all at Plantation Island, thank you.
Dave Woodman, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    390
    148
    73
    64
See reviews for
660
144
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Idyllic location. Resort is not plush, would benefit from a revamp of facilities, and the restaurants are basic, but lots to do, and lots of fun to be had if you go on the understanding this is not a 5 star resort. For the cost of the holiday this exceeded expectations. Lots to keep kids and adults amused; great beach, good pools, activities, bars and sports. Enjoy

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Bula NZstevo1.

We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write your review of Plantation Island Resort.
We are equally pleased to read that you had a good time.

I am happy to tell you that the resort will soon embark on a major refurb programme.

Your feed back is important, and helps keep us heading in the right direction.

Once again, thank you for the review and for choosing to stay at Plantation Island Resort.

Best regards, Davwe Woodman GM, Plantation Island Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have been travelling to Fiji ever year for the past eight years and have stayed a number of places from Blue Lagoon Resort, Octopus Resort to The Radisson in Denarau and we have never experienced such a run down, horrible resort experience in our Fiji holidays before. I know Fiji and was not expecting a 4 or 5 star experience when I booked here but did however expect decent food, beach towels provided, a nice bar and dining location and experience - but you will not get this here! The buffet at FJD 50 pp was a rip off given the quality of food. breakfast also you have to 'line up' like in army barracks and be sent to your table and told you could only eat when you got your ticket which half the time never came. There was a constant lack of glassware, bread and butter. Water leaked on the floor from water fountains that staff seemed quite ambivalent about mopping up. The food hall (yes you actually felt you were eating in a food hall) was loud and noisy with no entertainment at dinner sitting at all- no music, no local Fijians singing nothing. The swimming pool area was poor and it felt no better than a glorified campground swimming pool. No cushions were supplied for outdoor chairs or loungers - you had to check them out and and carry them around each day (as if guests were going to steal them or something). The kids pool was about 1.5m deep so kids 10 and under actually couldn't even touch the bottom of the pool so not much of a kids pool! There was hardly any seating by the kids pool and as a parent you want to be at arms reach to young kids in the pool. The staff are sloppy and unfriendly and all looked like they didn't want to be there. The restaurant area by the beach was dark with a desolate feel to it and there was no nice outdoor seating or cool outdoor beach/pool bar area which seems to be the general model at resorts in Fiji. The beach is beautiful at high tide only. The tide is out most of the time and your view turns to mud flaps and the ugly wharf where the big boat comes in four times a day. I realise this place is not 4/5 stars but I have stayed in other 3 star Fiji resorts and they put this resort to shame! The basic elements to make a Fiji experience are just not delivered here. The only good thing I have to say is that our beachfront bure was tidy and that after a heated discussion with management the resort agreed to refund 2 nights for us. we had paid for 6 but decided to leave early because it was that bad. I had also spoken to two other families that we're leaving early too because of such a horrible experience. Please read the bad reviews on this site and believe me when I tell you that it is all true. Do not book here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear rtanner1975.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Plantation Island Resort.

We are very sorry that your time with us was not an enjoyable one. Your many comments are a point of discussion between the Department Heads and would like to assure you that, where necessary and applicable have been dealt with.

Plantation Island Resort prides itself on the reputation of a fine family orientated resort. Guest feed back is always welcome as it helps us to make amends and better ourselves in areas of concern. Your review has been constructive and we thank you for raing those issues.

The resort has embarked on a Customer care/Service training programme which will enhance our committment to our valued guests.

Once again, our sincere apologies that we were unable to meet your expectations.
Sincerely, Dave Woodman GM. Plantation Island Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just got back from a 7 night stay in a 1 bedroom garden terrace. The room was ideal with two small children as we were very central to everything (close to the reception building) but still surrounded by beautiful gardens. The room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. We used a cot which was old style but clean. With four ceiling fans we didn't really need to use the air conditioner. It was beautiful to sit outside every morning and enjoy breakfast.

The resort was full of kids so I'd probably avoid this place if I wasn't travelling with them but on the other hand if you have them this is the place to go. Ours were a little young to make the most out of the waterpark, the kayaks, snorkelling and all of the organised activities (1 & 3) but there is a kids club and you could hire a babysitter to stay with them if you wanted free time. Kids had to be over 4 to be signed into kids club on their own. However, this was our only real negative of the whole place. We felt kids club was very dirty and we also didn't feel comfortable leaving our kids there. This may be a cross between the fact that we haven't used childcare yet so have never left them and that we are both teachers so felt it was a little lax for the care of toddlers. Others happily used it though and the benefit for the older kids was fantastic.

Unlike other reviewers I found the food great. We didn't go for the meal plan as we're happy to have cereal for brekky and I knew I'd over eat at dinner so one meal where I ate too much was enough for the day. We used the supermarket to purchase groceries and they had fresh bread, banana bread and muffins daily so we were right with that. There's also another supermarket at Muscat Cove if you can't find what you want at Ananda's. For dinner I mainly had the chefs three course meal (I'm not keen on buffets) and my partner had the buffet. We were both more than satisfied. Good food and lots of it. I'm sure I've put on a few kilos. The only meal I didn't enjoy was the last meal as the steak was tough and the dessert dry but I could eat my partner's so I was fine. The kids ate free as long as we ate. They ate lots of spaghetti bolognaise but that's the nature of toddlers so we made sure they had plenty of fresh fruit. The vegetables were a little too hard for them and other options were wedges and wedges and wedges. They survived! We ate once at Ananda's and weren't overly impressed. Oh, and the coffee hut was excellent and such a bonus. There's also another coffee hut at the neighbouring resort but the coffee was much better at Plantation. If you get a night off from the kids Muscat Cove has a bar right at the end overlooking water in a gorgeous setting with couches, etc. We explored during the day so didn't see it open.

We had a relaxing holiday escaping Melbourne winter so everything we wanted. The kids had lots of fun and our 3 year old didn't want to leave. I loved the fact everything was right on the beach and the water sparkling. Would we go back? Definitely but maybe when the kids are a little older (5 years) so we can also do the activities we enjoy. We are going to Fiji again in April but staying in Denarau so a comparison will be great.

It's a 3 star resort and if remembering that I felt everything (except maybe kids club) exceeded my expectations. Thanks for an amazing break.

Room Tip: If you have really small children the gardens terraces (260) were very close to amenities but not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Kylee C.

thank you for your very indepth review and we are pleased to read that in general, you had a great time. We have noted your comments of the cleanliness of the kids club and dealt with it.
Plantation Island Resort certainly is a 'Family Resort' with lots of children during school holidays. But it does also cater for couples with lots of space to lose yourself.
Thank you for taking time to write your review, we really appreciate the feedback
We look forward to welcoming you back when the children are a little older.
Best regards,
Dave Woodman GM, Plantation Island Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the island for 5 nights and I had read the reviews and was dreading our stay thinking I had made the wrong choice. But from the time we arrived to the time we left we loved it. The staff where very welcoming and helpful and really loved the kids. Yes there was a wait on arrival but with 50 guests arriving at a time you would expect that but we all got a free bottle of water even the kids. Because our room wasn't ready on time we were given a complimentary fruit basket which was a nice gesture and good start to our holiday. We stayed in a 2 bedroom garden bure that had been renovated and it was great for our family of 5. It was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and linen available daily. The bure had a small fridge and coffee & tea facilities which is a bonus. Swimming towels are also available and you could change them every 2 days. The food is a buffet meal or 3 course meal but had a different theme every night which was good and gave it variety. Overall we enjoyed the food and there are a lot of selection with the buffet and our kids got to eat free which was a bonus. There is also a snack bar by the beach for hot chips, pizzas etc...if you don't want to eat at the restaurant. We also ate at Anandas one night it was so beautiful outside under the lights & there's a park right beside it for the kids to play. Food was average and took a while to arrive, service wasn't the best but enjoyed the experience. Kids swam all the time in the sea on the inflatable toys and loved the different pools they could swim in. Pools cater for all ages. Kayaks & snorkelling gear always available. There is staff patrolling the beach & all kids must wear a life jacket when in the sea. You can see tropical
fish under the wharf & the sand bar snorkelling trip is well worth a look. The main toilets could do with an upgrade as they are quite outdated and often had a funny smell but were cleaned several times a day. Also umbrella stands & beach lounges are worn but did the job. A suggestion would be a changing shed by the beach in future. Overall we loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear LJVanB,
We would love to have you back!
Thank you very much for the review with so much positive feedback. We take note of the areas where we were not so 'hot' such as restautant service. However, I am pleased to advise that we have now commenced in house service training throughout. Another area you mentioned were the pool loungers. Happy to advise that all have been replaced with new ones just a few days ago. More refurbishment for the resort is planned over the coming months.
Once again, thank you very much for your review and for holidaying at Plantation Island Resort.
Best regards,
Dave Woodman GM, Plantation Island Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I went here to Plantation Island to have a tropical holiday and share in our friends Wedding celebration. We were both pleasantly surprised by what this resort has to offer. We will definitely be back with our kids.

We stayed in a hotel room that had garden and beach views and would gladly stay in the same accommodation again. Yes the bathroom was dated but VERY clean. Beautiful views and the room had air conditioning and ceiling fans. It also had tea and coffee making facilities. NO minibar so if your a drinker I would suggest purchasing your alcohol duty free and purchase coke or sprite at the Nando's supermarket to have drinks in your room. We did this and it was great for night caps.

We were worried about the negative reviews given but feel that some of the people have been overly negative and expecting a 5 star resort and were disappointed.

Upon arrival due to the number of people being on the Malolo Cat it is a little un-organised but if you appreciate what "Fiji Time" is I would suggest just going with it and you will enjoy your time here alot more.

The Fijian's are beautiful friendly people and we enjoyed our time here very much. We had a few hiccups along the way such as; the water stopped running in our room - this was immediately fixed upon polite complaint to the front desk. The room cleaning was all over the place as the times they clean can vary - again though was immediately rectified upon reporting to the front desk. These were the only real downers to this resort and enjoyed our holiday very much.

There are TWO menus at the Ol Copra Shed for dinner. A "themed buffet" that changes nightly as does the "chefs menu" where you get a 3 course meal with a choice of the main. We chose the half board plan for meals (breakfast and dinner) and would recommend you do the same. Much more economical and better value for money. The food is nothing flash but if we didn't like what was on offer at the buffet we would ask for the chefs menu. I personally preferred this menu. We didn't try Anandas or Lomani's but our friends did and ate there regularly. There are plenty of places to purchase lunch and the Copra Shed did a lunch buffet each day as well as we didn't have our kids with us we filled up at the breakfast buffet and didn't require anything till dinner.

All meals, drinks, souvenirs, day trips, purchases etc can all be charged back to your room. Be sure to give your self time to peruse the final bill and pick up any discrepancies. We were on a "My time" package and few things were missed and again politely fixed up. NO problems. We are coffee drinkers and loved the Coco Hut where we purchased our lattes.

We had Wifi in our room which worked fantastic. We had massages at the salon at $40fj per half an hour and recommend this. The salon is VERY busy so you must book at least a day in advance for services. I had a manicure and pedicure for $30fj and enjoyed the pampering very much. There is nightly entertainment and children aren't restricted to come and sit with mum and dad whilst enjoying the later entertainment after 9pm. Nightly shows, discos, fijian and polynesian dancers are a nightly norm. We even were amused by the frog and crab races one evening as well. Our last night there my husband and myself were apart of the Mr Plantation contest and we won....quite a buzz for the final night to our holiday.

Because this is a family resort there are children and babies everywhere you go. That said we being a couple without our children still enjoyed a romantic time here at Plantation. There are plenty of places such as beach walks, kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkelling etc to do to avoid children. If you are surfers the breaks here are fantastic and leave early morning daily. There are 3 pools one of which adults only. We chose to swim in the ocean as the water is crystal clear, warm and is gorgeous for snorkelling and just swimming around. Eating your evening meal on a candlelit beach was what we did every night. We had a few nights of children sitting sitting close to us but didn't spoil anything. The resort were aware we didn't have our children with us and tryed to seat us away a bit from children but it didn't bother us all. We can't wait to bring our kids along to this resort next time. Plantation has made us fall in love with them.

Room Tip: We stayed in a hotel room that was on the second floor and had beach and garden views. The bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Bula Gerbs 73.

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback in your review of your recent stay here at Plantation Island Resort.
The staff and Management are delighted that your expectations were met and overall, an enjoyable experience was had.

We thank you for choosing Plantation Island Resort for your holiday and would hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Dave Woodman GM, Plantation Island Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our trip was mostly positive. Our room was lovely and clean and we had plenty of lovely, fluffy towels each day. There was also plenty of room for all of us. The pools were wonderful and my kids loved the water slide! Kayaking was fun too. Plus they have a very cool inflatable thing in the sea kids climb up and jump off (my kids were a bit too little but heaps of kids were using it).

The kids club is handy too. My kids only went for a couple of hours each time then I picked them up to cool down in the pool. They liked the activities provided and the playground. They also joined in the after dinner kids club activities, which was a lot of fun.

The meals were not the best, however they weren't too bad either. There was plenty of variety each night and I didn't have to cook or clean so immensely enjoyed the buffets.

Some things around the resort were a bit run down but didn't affect our holiday too much. The playground did have a cracked slide, which worried me however my kids managed to miss that spot. There was also a really rusty chain kids climb across.

Staff were about 50% friendly, 50% not so much, but again this didn't affect us too much. I think the check in process could be better - there is a lot of waiting around and no communication as to what is happening. All of a sudden, a group is told to follow someone and the group just looks confused.

Overall we had a nice holiday and would recommend Plantation Island to other families.

Room Tip: I'd recommend upgrading to at least a one bedroom if you have a family for the extra space. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Starlet_Auckland.
Thank you for taking time to write your review of your recent stay at Plantation Island Resort.
We are delighted to read of your positive comments and apologise for the areas we were lacking in expectations.
The resort is about to embark on a major refurbishment programme which will help rid it of that 'tired' look.
Thank you you staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Best Regards,
Dave Woodman GM, Plantation Island Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.