We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Island Resort to your Saves list
Plantation Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Plantation Island in the past 12 months and I don’t know where to begin.

There has been a massive drop in the quality and standards of everything since 1st visit. We read some of the latest negative reviews before going thought they were being picky, they weren't!

The buffet dinner was truly awful! The only thing that saved you from the food was the fact that it was always running out or there weren’t any plates to eat off. The kid’s meal is a joke…. Pizza, Spaghetti Bolognese and chips all the time is not what you want to feed your children. Drink service didn’t happen due to a lack of staff. They didn’t cope the whole time we where there.

Breakfast time was a joke. Always the same I can deal with (no egg lady doing the freshly cooked eggs) but always running out made this like Faulty Towers. This is not an exaggeration; every morning there was food not available. No cups, glasses or plates was also very common. You could see the queue of unhappy dinners waiting for food and drinks. I even saw people drinking tea and coffee from bowls!

The staff did nothing to help and the time I did mention the issues I was told “Vinaka” and they walked off. I got the feeling they were just trying to get by with a minimum of grief directed at them. The Fly’s…..there were fly’s everywhere and I hate to think what it looked like out the back.

The “Old Copra Dining” area was being renovated , why this was being done in the busy holiday period I don’t know. They lost one of the best things about dining here, the view.

The furniture around the pools is non existent. Instead of building more accommodation they should look to spending something on the communal areas, they are all desperate for some attention. They need deck chairs.

The Inflatable water park was non operational which was a huge disappointment to the kids.

The water in the room stunk. It smelt awful and filled the room with a horrible smell for the 1st week. No fear of drinking it by mistake.

Like all other reviewers we weren’t expecting five star facilities and food (being our 2nd visit we knew what to expect) but compared to the same time last year something has gone wrong.

It appeared when snorkeling that even the reef fish have given up and left.

Think seriously about this location for your family holiday, you could get a lot more for your buck elsewhere.

During the 11 day stay on the island we were all sick as well but don’t know if this can be attributed to the stay, we hope not.

We will not return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    397
    151
    75
    64
See reviews for
667
146
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our family, 2 adults and 5 children, spent 3 nights at plantation island at the start of May. The accommodation was lovely...all we needed, no extras just the basics, the scenery was gorgeous. On arrival we were greeted with lovely singing and shell necklaces, all very nice.
The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and we all had a swim in the ocean and played on the inflatable that was there, had a canoe around and relaxed.
The staff smiled, but they weren't really interested in having a chat, l felt they were really flat and not at all bubbly like l expected. No one came up to us and spoke much to the kids, there was no one on the beach for the kids to muck around and chase. Kids club was not that interesting and they watched movies at night, l would of much rather had seen them outside looking for wildlife and running around. It was lacking atmosphere big time. The kids jumped in the pool one morning and they all came out crying of sore eyes!! So we didn't use the pool after that.
Food was also expensive, and you only had a couple of restaurants to choose from that both charged a lot. Activities were also very expensive, the only thing we did was snorkel which was good. So disappointing overall and we wont go back again. A day trip here is properly enough.
It felt like they trapped you, we couldn't organise to hire a long boat for a reasonable price, so the only thing going for it was the beautiful scenery. We stayed at the Radisson in Denaru after that and that was buzzing with fun for the kids, young Fijian adults were really getting involved and our kids absolutely loved it, kids club was fun chasing the bula man around and lighting the evening torches, catching crabs and lizards, lots of laughs. However, Denaru doesn't have the beautiful beach, but it makes up for it in fun for the kids. Day trip to Plantation sufficient and then stay at the Radisson the kids will have a ball, Elmo from kids club was our favourite.

Room Tip: Ask to be closer to the resort area, otherwise it gets annoying having to walk back and forth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Plantation Island was a wonderful surprise to us after reading many of the negative reviews. From the moment we stepped onto the jetty with lovely welcoming music and shell necklaces our whole week was heaven!We were travelling with 10 children and 4 families, and each of the children had a great time with many special memories. Yes there are a lot of children , meal times are very busy , but there are options for those who want a little quiet. The food was great , service friendly, and you can see that a lot of improvements are being done in a lot of areas. The bures in the 200 up the Lomani end were very good and most have all been refurbished. We took the trip to Shell village and also the Sand bank Reef for snorkelling although the fish and snorkelling were just as good from the beach.Take your own snorkels if you dont want to be returning borrowed ones every night .Reef shoes are also handy as is sunscreen and mosquito spray. We would return tomorrow and thoroughly recommend Plantation for a family holiday !

Room Tip: Rooms up the Lomani end.. 200 and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We came to the resort as part of a day trip with Coral Cats. We selected it because it stops at Plantation & we had had a fantastic family stay 7 years earlier. We had the best BBQ lunch, the best food of the entire stay. I can't talk highly enough. We had been to a steak restaurant & this steak was so much better. Prices of drinks are better than in Denarau, but most importantly you can't beat the breathtaking white sand beach & clear blue & warm ocean. Just incredible. Was a really hot day, that we thoroughly enjoyed. Would love to return!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed in a poolside room for 7 nights in May 14 with 2 adults and 2 children. These rooms were ok but unfortunately have very thin walls to the point you can hear conversations in the adjacent rooms which means being woken up by even slight noise your neighbours might make in the night. The rooms were spacious and it was good having the sitting room at the front but they are somewhat dated and certainly aren't what I'd describe as pristine or lovely rooms that entice you to spend time in.

We ate at the buffet most nights and the food was certainly reasonable and there was a decent range. It does get pretty expensive though when you are paying approx AU$30 per person every night and there really are no other options on the island for a dinner that is much cheaper unless you eat earlier in the day when you can order off snack menus and get a cheaper pizza or the like at the neighbouring Musket Cove resort but this menu finishes at 5pm.

We found the service at the resort to be fairly average as we had a couple of not insignificant issues with our room including the safe being unable to be opened due to flat batteries. It took the resort about 3 hours following 3 phone calls from us to get it fixed, this was quite frustrating as we had all our money in the safe and had needed money to buy food. The power in our room also tripped at one stage and similarly it took a couple of phone calls and hours to get it fixed.

We took our young children to the kids club but we stayed with them at all times as they were below the minimum age to be left with the kids club staff. After what we saw I would strongly recommend against leaving young children in the care of the kids club staff as we witnessed young kids wandering off without the kids club staff noticing and we spoke to one lady whose young child went missing at night and was later found near one of the pools so the supervision is completely inadequate for younger children. We did however use the babysitting service and certainly found this to be great with the lady coming to look after our kids in our room at $4FJD per hour per child.

Some other points...
- Room wasn't ready for us on arrival despite arriving after check in time and the resort even arranged our transfers so it wasn't like they didn't know what time we were arriving....

- The wifi at the resort is expensive, about AU$5 per 15 minutes which was a bit disappointing in this day and age. Was slightly cheaper at the nearby Musket Cove Resort

- The inflatable water park was fantastic and it was good being able to use this and the kayaks at no additional charge

- The island was really nice, water great for swimming and the people friendly

Would I stay there again? No, I would spend a bit more and try somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

had a great stay at this island resort, plenty of activities for the kids, nice pool and beaches, and the accommodation was spacious and clean, plenty of entertainment in the evenings, service was a bit slow... I know what Fiji time means now, they are so laid back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, NSW
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice outlook, weather was great. Resort was a bit run down, but a lot of rooms being renovated. Service at bar was slow and even know we met a lovely man in the coffee shack, he was often run off his feet and had inexperienced assistants. Bored after a few days, so unless u like sitting around soaking up the rays, eating and drinking don't come.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.