We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family holiday !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Plantation Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Family holiday !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Plantation Island was a wonderful surprise to us after reading many of the negative reviews. From the moment we stepped onto the jetty with lovely welcoming music and shell necklaces our whole week was heaven!We were travelling with 10 children and 4 families, and each of the children had a great time with many special memories. Yes there are a lot of children , meal times are very busy , but there are options for those who want a little quiet. The food was great , service friendly, and you can see that a lot of improvements are being done in a lot of areas. The bures in the 200 up the Lomani end were very good and most have all been refurbished. We took the trip to Shell village and also the Sand bank Reef for snorkelling although the fish and snorkelling were just as good from the beach.Take your own snorkels if you dont want to be returning borrowed ones every night .Reef shoes are also handy as is sunscreen and mosquito spray. We would return tomorrow and thoroughly recommend Plantation for a family holiday !

Room Tip: Rooms up the Lomani end.. 200 and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    372
    145
    71
    63
See reviews for
628
143
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We came to the resort as part of a day trip with Coral Cats. We selected it because it stops at Plantation & we had had a fantastic family stay 7 years earlier. We had the best BBQ lunch, the best food of the entire stay. I can't talk highly enough. We had been to a steak restaurant & this steak was so much better. Prices of drinks are better than in Denarau, but most importantly you can't beat the breathtaking white sand beach & clear blue & warm ocean. Just incredible. Was a really hot day, that we thoroughly enjoyed. Would love to return!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed in a poolside room for 7 nights in May 14 with 2 adults and 2 children. These rooms were ok but unfortunately have very thin walls to the point you can hear conversations in the adjacent rooms which means being woken up by even slight noise your neighbours might make in the night. The rooms were spacious and it was good having the sitting room at the front but they are somewhat dated and certainly aren't what I'd describe as pristine or lovely rooms that entice you to spend time in.

We ate at the buffet most nights and the food was certainly reasonable and there was a decent range. It does get pretty expensive though when you are paying approx AU$30 per person every night and there really are no other options on the island for a dinner that is much cheaper unless you eat earlier in the day when you can order off snack menus and get a cheaper pizza or the like at the neighbouring Musket Cove resort but this menu finishes at 5pm.

We found the service at the resort to be fairly average as we had a couple of not insignificant issues with our room including the safe being unable to be opened due to flat batteries. It took the resort about 3 hours following 3 phone calls from us to get it fixed, this was quite frustrating as we had all our money in the safe and had needed money to buy food. The power in our room also tripped at one stage and similarly it took a couple of phone calls and hours to get it fixed.

We took our young children to the kids club but we stayed with them at all times as they were below the minimum age to be left with the kids club staff. After what we saw I would strongly recommend against leaving young children in the care of the kids club staff as we witnessed young kids wandering off without the kids club staff noticing and we spoke to one lady whose young child went missing at night and was later found near one of the pools so the supervision is completely inadequate for younger children. We did however use the babysitting service and certainly found this to be great with the lady coming to look after our kids in our room at $4FJD per hour per child.

Some other points...
- Room wasn't ready for us on arrival despite arriving after check in time and the resort even arranged our transfers so it wasn't like they didn't know what time we were arriving....

- The wifi at the resort is expensive, about AU$5 per 15 minutes which was a bit disappointing in this day and age. Was slightly cheaper at the nearby Musket Cove Resort

- The inflatable water park was fantastic and it was good being able to use this and the kayaks at no additional charge

- The island was really nice, water great for swimming and the people friendly

Would I stay there again? No, I would spend a bit more and try somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

had a great stay at this island resort, plenty of activities for the kids, nice pool and beaches, and the accommodation was spacious and clean, plenty of entertainment in the evenings, service was a bit slow... I know what Fiji time means now, they are so laid back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, NSW
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice outlook, weather was great. Resort was a bit run down, but a lot of rooms being renovated. Service at bar was slow and even know we met a lovely man in the coffee shack, he was often run off his feet and had inexperienced assistants. Bored after a few days, so unless u like sitting around soaking up the rays, eating and drinking don't come.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A very child friendly resort with a kids club during the day and baby sitters available in the evenings for a moderate fee. The beachside Bure are the best and are very comfortable and airconditioned with close access to the beach . Food choice is limited at dinner to the buffett no a la carte and service can be slow at busy times. All staff are very friendly and helpful and are on "Fiji Time". All activities are pay as you use except the 3 pools. Watch the 3% credit card fee when you check out.

Room Tip: The low 200 beachside Bure are very close to the wharf and can be noisey. the 300 and high 200 are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a 7 day trip to plantation and it was just lovely. The resort is magnificent and there's so much to do for both old and young. My son 3.5 years fell in love with the kids club and having babysitters at the ready for our 16 month old meant we were able to enjoy some moments of Bliss whilst the kids were well taken care of too.

The food was extremely adequate and the continuously changing evening buffet was fantastic. We had a full serve meal plan however would consider simply having our evening and breakfast catered for next time round.

We stayed in a two bedroom bure and we're fortunate to have a room that had been recently renovated (Room 237). Cannot wait to return to Plantation again next year.

8 days isn't enough 10-14 days is probably sufficient.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.