We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect tropical island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Island Resort to your Saves list
Plantation Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect tropical island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Place is gorgeous. Beach and ocean are stunning. Coral reef with million fish just 50m of the beach. Visit to village very interesting. Currently being renovated (a bit noisy at the times but nothing big).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: beach side bure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    441
    162
    80
    65
See reviews for
725
161
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Honestly before I start the review. These negative reviews I am not quite sure of what there expectations are but they must be pretty high or totally unrealistic. Plantation is a 3 star resort - consider it like that and you will enjoy it. Yes it is full of kids but that is the type of resort it is. My two boys 5 and 7 loved it - good kids club and they made friends with some of the other boys there. Location was fantastic - beautiful beach with reasonable snorkelling of the beach or pay a few $$ and head out to the sandbar. Yes the buffet wasn't fantastic in the main resort but was certainly very edible (mind you I have never been a fan of buffets), but the Black Coral was great, and Anandas was awesome atmosphere, and you also had the choice of Musket which was good and Lomani for some adult only time. We went for a couple of dives which were fantastic, my hubby played some golf which he said was great fun and we had an island tour to Castaway and Malolo and honestly after going to those - although they looked nice, I had no disappointment of where we had chosen to stay. Bure's were cleaned daily to very satisfactory level. We never had any complaints any delays in getting drinks served. Mind you being there in May might have helped as we just missed peaked season. Overall I would certainly recommend Plantation and wouldn't hesitate on heading back then again.

Room Tip: Beachfront Bures on the 200 side - can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is in need of a spruce up, but apart from that the staff are awesome. The kids club is fantastic. The food is good but not fantastic but there is plenty of it. The pools are great. Overall this is a gret place to stay for families, not so much honeymooners or couples. I had a great time and was sad to leave ill def be back though hopefully by that time some money has been spent to bring it back upto scratch!!

Room Tip: The garden bures are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The only thing this place had going for it was the location and the crystal clear water which allowed for good snorkeling.
We were traveling with 4 other families and had spent our first part of the trip with a 7 night stay at the Warwick Resort on the mainland which was absolutely amazing.
Our last stop was Plantation Island for 5 nights. We had booked 5 beachfront bures (which were supposed to be the best accommodation at this resort, which you really can't call a resort !). If you consider the best accommodation to have cockroaches crawling on you during the night, very outdated amenities and a construction site that is going on behind the bures, then this place is for you.
The entire complex is in desperate need of renovation. Everything is so old and run down.
There are 3 restaurants and all 3 have terrible food. It really did show just how bad things were when during breakfast, one of our friends had the pleasure of finding a cockroach in one of her pancakes.
Service was very slow (waiting up to 1 and a half hours for a main meal and 1 hour for a burger at lunch). Bar service was very slow and overall staff were unfriendly.
The only time we were given good service and a decent meal was when we paid FJD200 for a private function under a private hut.
There are 3 pools which are poorly located around the complex. The kids pool with the water slide has very murky water. The "adults only" pool always had kids in it and the timber decking around it was so unsafe that we did not allow our kids to go anywhere near it. The 3rd pool was located in the middle of the complex away from the main bar & restaurant area, which was not in a good position for us to watch the kids. You know things are bad when the kids (all 9 of them) are asking "when are leaving this place ... can we go back to the other resort" !!!!
This was my 3rd trip to Fiji but the first time to plantation island. I would not recommend this resort to anyone. It was a big disappointment to end our 2 week holiday in beautiful Fiji at this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was the final stop of a long business trip to Fiji before returning home. This is a big resort with several pools a giant common / bar / restaurant area. This is also a very popular place for families. There must be a ration of 5 kids to each adult at this resort. The place was packed and very noisy. This is good for those that have kids and need to have things for them to do as there was a lot to do if you were a kid. The down side is that kids carry germs like nothing else on this planet and as it would be I came home with the worst cold ever!. But this resort does know how to manage the tons of people there. The food was good, the bar was very good although a little on the expensive side. The property is a little on the rundown side, and the dining area (buffett area especially) was very unorganized, but the food was good and so was the service. Managing the size of the visitors was a little messy when trying to get food, but it was understandable. Did not dive here and the beach was nice but very crowded.

Room Tip: The resort is under renovation, so in time I am sure it will be very nice again. The staff was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I visited in May 2011 just for a family holiday with my parents, and it was a beautiful island, really huge actually, it has 3 different resorts all on one island, We stayed in a garden terrace which was quite ordinary...

if i had the chance i think id rather a hotel room or garden bure, the pools where so nice and relaxing i liked the round pool the best because you could just relax more there, theres another 2 pools, the other two pools one was a kids pool, and the other was a nice relaxing pool but it was really quite,
The food however, the breakfast was quite nice buffet, but the dinner was bad, my parents complained non stop about the food, we went to a couple places around the resort for dinner as well,
The adventure getting there was also really annoying if your flying from australia i.e. sydney, and get there after 2 then you will miss your boat and have to wait at a hotel for 3 hours until a mini bus comes to pick you up to take you to the malola cat (ferry)

The days go by, there is a lot to do on the island and they have a lot of tours, we went on a island hopper and it was pretty cool to see all the islands, you can't really go snorkelling but you get to see amazing islands such as Castaway Island where they filmed (castaway the film) and other quite nice resorts around...
we spent 17 days at the island, i would probably spend a week next time.. a week is a lot of time..
this place would be perfect for friends!!!

there was only one major problem, it stunk! they had sewerage problems while we stayed there..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited Plantation Island in April 2013. Idyllic location, beautiful beach, not too far by boat from Nadi. The resort facilities could use a few million spent on them, so if you are looking for 5 star accom don't come here, but I can cope with a few chipped tiles and rust spots in an otherwise well serviced, clean comfortable and air-conditioned room that I spent very little time in because I was busy snorkeling, swimming, boating etc.
Staff invariably lovely, helpful and funny, and I didn't think they rated too badly at all on the "island time" scale, and they were always around to help.
Food at the main restaurant Copra Shed was reasonable buffet style but nothing flash, if you want fancier fare and a nicer atmosphere try the resort's Black Coral restaurant, or go 5 minutes easy walk to the Lomani resort Flame Tree restaurant. Food at both these places was pretty good, reasonably priced and the cocktails were pretty darn good and cheap.
Activities - I came to the mamanucas islands because I wanted to be able to walk out my room door and onto the beach and snorkel. Snorkeling was pretty good off the beach at Plantation, but go east of the jetty. There has been some coral damage from the Dec 12 cyclone, but there were plenty of fish and molluscae. Better snorkeling however can be had by taking a day trip further
out around Mana and Lororiki islands - in fact it was really good out there. I didn't bring my kids, but from what I could see there was plenty of activities planned for kids on a daily basis, and the staff who ran the Kids Club did so with stacks of enthusiasm, which was nice to see. The local staff ladies who looked after peoples' babies always seemed to have very happy toddlers with them. Overall this resort amply met my needs for a totally relaxing holiday in a beautiful tropical location.Tips would be to book a waterfront bure if you want a bit of seclusion to lounge around and a beach view, and note that the bures here are mostly maisonette style. Also, BYO hairdryer, plastic wine glasses (there are none in the rooms, though there is a fridge and kettle) and bottled wine (the selection of wines at the resort is a bit vin ordinaire but you can pick up a staggering amount - literally, we are talking 6 bottles p.p - at the duty free stores at Nadi airport as you come into the country, and the d.f stores at Nadi have respectable Aussie and Kiwi quaffers so buy them there if you want to drink wine at the resort).
Lovely location, beautiful beach and swimming, and friendly staff. I'd definitely go back again, just don't expect 5 star as the accommodation is more along the lines of your beach holiday house standard.

Room Tip: Beachfront bures to the east of the jetty seemed to be the most secluded and quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.