We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Island Resort to your Saves list
Plantation Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in early Feb 2013 for 6 nights. I think it may have been low season because there really wasn't many people! I think it would be better is there was more people otherwise take your own group to party with at night :) Overall, it's about what you'd expect from a three star resort, and as we came from a five star resort on the mainland you really felt the difference.

The pros
- Beautiful island with a lovely view
- Snorkel straight off the beach. There was a really good spot just off the beach near the coco hut which we spent ages exploring
- Enjoyed the cultural show
- Anandas supermarket. Cheese buns and cream buns fish everyday for about 50c each! Saved us a lot of money when we just wanted something to nibble on.

The cons
- Tired. Everything was just so tired looking. There seemed to be a lot of mould in our bathroom and mould growing on the lampshades. The tea spoons were rusty. Broken light fittings. The towels must have been used at the kids cliub because I kept getting towels covered in brightly coloured paints! There was nothing that would spoil the trip, but all the little things became very noticeable and would bother some people.
- The meal plan. I regret booking it. The breakfast wasnt enjoyable...buffet breakfast was mediocre and often cold- toast was per made and in a pot so it was always cold an soggy. There as one really awesome buffet dinner on a night there was a few more people but the other nights we had to pick off a set menu to the value of $40 which got pretty boring. It is probably better just to pay as you go, at least you have choice to go to another resort or just get fresh buns for breakfast from the supermarket.
- Noise. We stayed in a garden bure. There was a construction site right near our room which started early and went until late in the day. I also thought it was odd that even though the resort is so big the 3 rooms either side of us us were always full so it was noisy because of all the activity from the other rooms. I thought that maybe they would have spread everyone out a bit. Anyway, it was hard to relax or sleep in the room so if you could find a hammock that wasnt broken it was nice to sleep in the shade of a palm tree on the beach :)

If I had kids and was on a budget, I would return (and hope the food quality improved). If you are low key Plantation Resort will be adequate enough.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a free standing bure so you get peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    400
    151
    75
    64
See reviews for
668
148
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
central coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

travelled march 2013 arrived denauru, 50min trip to plantation, great welcome fijians singing on the wharf and presented with a shell necklace excellent,then we were mustered together and allocated our rooms the first room a construction site out the front no thank you,next room run down and very very tired mosquito plagues inside and out generally needed maintenance ie paint replace rotting timber mould in shower the list was endless no thank you, next room pool side excellent every thing was great so the third and final room in 24 hours time to settle in , if you complain about anything they do go out of there way to help you which was great,the food was ok we had a meal plan for breakfast and dinner , dinner could be used at 2 other resorts on the island lomanis or anandas which we found were both great,activities surfing cloudbreak 3 to 5 foot cost was 80 fijian dollars 3 of us out surfing priceless,kayaks good for a cruise around the lagoon, tennis ,putt putt golf , plenty to do in the day ,night time fire dance , disco, bingo,cultural show , and consuming the local beverages,if you like a drink take your duty free saves you heaps, all in all this place needs to be upgraded starting to get very run down , but they have started in certain parts but i think it will be a while before there is a improvement,slowly slowly due to fiji time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Plantation for 4 night from March 2-6. Unfortunately while we were there, we were hit with a huge storm. We were in a garden bure and woke up with the entire bure filled with ankle deep water. When we gave them a call at 5am, they moved us quickly, but I was upset they had not been proactive - getting those people in low lying areas out before the rain started. At any rate, the manager was very apologetic and compensated us fairly. Aside from the bad weather, we had a really nice time. It is not a 5 star resort - but a really good 3 star for families. We bought our breakfast at Ananadas supermarket (yummy chees buns) and then ate lunch at Anandas (which was excellent). We had dinner at the buffet all nights - it was pretty good - something for everyone. The pools were nice, the bure was nice too. There is certainly some wear and tear on the property and I think some upgrades are needed. The laundry facilities are nice to have - especially when you are washing and drying things from a flood:)) All in all, an excellent choice for families who want a low key, laid bakc Fijian Vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was supposed to be a family trip of a lifetime and what we got was a nightmare. As a family with 6 people it cost us a fortune to go in peak school holiday time and what we got was a bure backing onto a construction site with bed bugs. For 10 days from early in the morning to late at night the workers woke us up and went to 7pm at night plus weekends, then four days into our holiday our 2 and half year old son had bites all over his stomach which over the days was getting worse. I took him to the nurse and after I suggested it could of been sea lice he agreed. Our son started to get bites all over his body and I couldnt work out why he wasnt sleeping well until my husband and I started to get bites and we could feel the bed bugs biting us at night.
The resort wants nothing to do with this but I want people to be aware how bad the situation was, my poor son's body has scars from this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are very sorry for the confusion regarding the bed bug complaint. We did respond to your email on 11 March, and did not hear back from you so we assumed that you had sought out a second opinion for your child's rash.

We did not receive any bed bug complaints from while you were at the resort, and have not found any evidence of bed bugs in the room that you were occupying. After viewing the photos of your son's rash that you emailed to us, it appeared that your son was actually suffering from impetigo, not bed bug bites. Impetigo is a very contagious rash caused when a cut, bite or scratch becomes infected. It is very common among kids and is usually referred to as "school sores". Impetigo has a very specific look in that the sores are crusted or scabby, and these can spread over the body and from person to person through physical contact.

We urged you to seek a second opinion because if you had been using a cortisone based cream to treat what you thought were bed bug bites, this would have actually caused the rash to worsen and spread. Impetigo can be treated very easily with bactroban or other antibacterial cream.

We do have construction near to where you were staying and we are very sorry if this disturbed your stay. We did not think the noise would carry to where you bure was located, and we have not had any other complaints from other guests who had stayed in this bure. If you had mentioned to customer care that you were unhappy, we would have moved you to the other side of the resort where there is no construction noise at all. The construction workers have been given strict instructions not to begin work until after 8:30am and to finish before 5pm, so we apologise if they started earlier or finished later than these times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After a successful holiday last year we returned this year for two weeks in Feb. Not much had changed and still a fantastic spot for a family holiday. The studio garden bures are well maintained with a fridge and regular cleaning - worth taking along a few bottles of duty free wine as we did, as the wine prices are pretty steep. The island Vonu beer is well worth it though and good value.

Kids loved the kids club again and one of the attractions of this place (and probably any other in Fiji) is that the islanders are genuinely interested in the children. Fantastic for them. Awesome beach and stunningly picturesque.

As mentioned by others the food is reasonably average, and probably really the only downfall. Over the two weeks we were stuck with the a la carte menu as occupancy was low. For the kids, this meant relatively restricted menus - always accompanied by chips. But it is what it is. A bit of time spent reviewing the menu would be money well spent. Service is generally good, only one hiccup in the 42 meals there so that is not bad really. Steak cooking was variable - the medium rare could come out well done, or could come out looking like it was used to wipe the skillet. The curries on the other hand were constantly great.

Surf access was good and spent 6 of the days surfing perfect cloudbreak and wilkes. Wonga the boatman is a top bloke. Best family activity is the sandbar snorkel - although they would benefit from a bit of a talk about the value of coral on the way out and not stepping on it. Mike the DJ has been putting a lot of effort into trying to protect the coral and encourage the coral so it was surprising this wasn't covered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took the families which included 5 grand kids .. they had a ball .. there were lots of activities at Kids Club and water activities such as snorkeling which was a big hit with those that could swim.
Buffet meals were OK, dont expect anything fantastic but there are other places on the island you can go and eat where you will be surprised at the quality.

Overall a good holiday destination if you have children

Room Tip: Just choose somthing back from the beach .. cheaper and you spend little time in your room anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hedland, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

we stayed at this hotel in 2008 for our honeymoon and i plan on booking again for a surprise holiday next year for my husband and i , we had the most amazing time with the staff who treated us like family and we have laughs with them each night :} , food was amazing and so was the service, the rooms do need upgrading but in saying that how often are you in ya room !
cant wait to come back and see all the wonderful staff and other holiday makers we met xxxx thanks so much still the best holiday to this date xx

Room Tip: dont disregard this hotel based on others bad reviews it really is a fab place to stay !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.