We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropica Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropica Island Resort to your Saves list
Tropica Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mamanuca Islands, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I have recently spent 4 nights at tropica resort. We had an excellent time a few points are listed below

The staff made us feel so welcome, there are too many to list by name but everyone greeted us with a friendly bula. They were professional and polite and genuinely seemed to be interested in talking to us.

The resort was very helpful on organising all activities for us from fishing to wakeboarding to scuba diving to playing beach volleyball. They were very helpful in organising our room early for us as we had just arrived after a 11 hour flight and gave us a late check out.

The food was excellent. We tried another resort nearby but the food was far superior here. The chef prepared our fishing catch 4 ways all perfectly done and let us watch him fillet the fish

We stayed in a beachfront bure which was right on the beach. The location was perfect it was so romantic sitting on the double swing outside watching the sun set. It had an indoor and outdoor shower. There was no TV etc but this was in with the resorts feel with nature

The no kids policy made the resort a perfect stress free environment for couples looking for a quiet beach getaway

Finally a couple of minor quibbles. Whilst the staff were excellent in arranging activities from other resorts for us we felt tropica own were overpriced thus not using them. Also whilst we have previously commented that the food was excellent, the menu definitely had a western feel. When travelling we love to experience other foods and cultures and we were actively looking forward to trying more Fijian dishes whereas most dishes on the menu whilst excellently done were western

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    35
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qld
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

7 nights was a great amount of time.
We came away very sad to leave, the staff on this Island resort are wonderful and know how to make you feel welcome.
The chef and hospitality staff are very highly trained, the attention to detail shows, very classy with the finest details attended to. Placing napkins on your lap, holding a napkin over their arms when waiting to get you attention, there is a very respectful amount of courtesy given to your privacy.
Views are breathtaking from every angle, rennovations from the last cyclone are going on around the resort, but do not take away from all the tranquility the Island resort of Tropica has to offer.
we were so impressed we are planning to go back, the meal plans are a great way to go, this catered for all our meals, breakfast was hot and cold, lunch 2 course and evening meal 3 courses. The food menu changed every day, and the choices were high class and a very well blanced diet.
I am a gluten free diet, the staff were very attentative and came with the bread every day when dining, I did not have to ask or remind them, this personal attention to detail is one of the many things that make this Island paradise stand out from the pack...........
we stayed at 5 different resorts and have to say this one is the one we will go back to, the others were Sofitel and the Raddisson at Denarau, Mecure at Nadi and (Matamanoa Island was AWFUL).
Snorkelling around the island and water sports were well organised if you want to participate or not.
All the staff stay near the resort and are not intrusive, they are very friendly, one of the nicest culture of people in the world. this being due to the way they address and speak to you as you wander through the resort, BULA is a common way to say hello and we would always hear them say it!
We left feeling as though we wanted to give back as they made our trip so memorable in a kind and caring way.
When we came back from dinner one night, the staff who do trun down service every night, decorated our room with candles and placed a heart shape flower arrangement on our bed. We came back into the room, I cried with joy and sadness to be leaving the next day.
* * * * * + 5 STAR PLUS............
VERY IMPRESSED

Room Tip: MANY ROOM BY THE OCEAN/WATER, ALL HAVE GREAT VIEWS AND VERY PRIVATE, all rooms airconditioned. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Tropica Island Resort for 8 nights at the beginning of October. We loved our time here! The rooms were newly renovated, clean and comfortable, though nothing fancy. The food at the hotel was delicious and the pool facilities were great (the chairs were very comfy). There was some construction going on during our stay, as the resort renovations are not complete yet, but we didn't find that this hampered our stay (and if there were things that got in the way of the guests management went above and beyond to acknowledge the disruption).

The thing that really made the experience at the resort was the wonderful staff. Every person on staff at the Tropica Resort is not only wonderfully friendly and welcoming but also wears different hats. You see the same people each day while you're there and get to know them. There is live music every night, a choir performance on Sundays and dancing some evenings. The energy and talent of all the staff is amazing.

The resort is beautiful and the accommodations were nice, but what really made this trip for us was the people. We would definitely recommend the Tropica! I am sure it will only get better as the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropica123, Owner at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Bula Michelle,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of Tropica, we are thrilled you had such a wonderful experience. All works in and around the resort are now complete and we are in the process of further enhancing the beauty of the resort through landscaping. This is not causing any disruption to guests.

We are pleased you enjoyed the delicious food prepared by our executive chef, our 25 metre horizon pool and that our fantastic staff looked after you so well.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to your Tropica home in the future.

Kind regards,

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a holiday that was booked after spending 5 days on Denarau at the Sofitel. Whilst this resort is still under construction and only 5 months old, it was everything we were looking for in a holiday. The greatest appeal to us a couple was that the resort caters for just that, couples. No children under the age of 16 are permitted. We stayed in the newly established resort rooms which were clean, spacious and conducive of relaxation. The resort is situated at the end of the island and has access to great snorkelling, kayaking and other islands. The people of this resort is what made it for us. Meeting the owners and the manager of the resort who mixed and mingled with the guests gives you an additional luxurious feel. The food was amazing and we couldn't fault it....there were different options every night and were reasonably priced. The only improvement for us would have been if we could have stayed for another week.... I would recommend this place to anyone who wanted a truly relaxing holiday. Thank you, Tropica.!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropica123, Owner at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Bula Vinaka Lucy,

We were so pleased to read that Tropica was everything you were looking for in a holiday and met all your expectations. All construction is now completely finished and we are in the process of finalising landscaping and beautification of the grounds. This is not causing any disruption to guests.

Thank you for your fabulous review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our new resort rooms, water activities, food and of course our wonderful staff who go out of their way to make our guests feel welcome. It was lovely to meet you.

Kind regards,

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Tropica for a week and wished we could have stayed forever! The fantastic staff made it feel like a home away from home and the service in all areas was impeccable. I would not hesitate to recommend Tropica to any adults (single, group, couple) looking for a relaxing holiday in Fiji. We stayed in the Beachfront Bure which was absolutely beautiful. It had a swing on the front porch and many hours were spent reading and looking out over the ocean. The outdoor shower was also a lovely additional touch. The coral reefs around Tropica are astounding - you don't have to paddle out far to see some incredible tropical fish. We were also able to kayak out a bit further to see other reefs and took a guided snorkeling trip organised by the Resort. I also had a massage at the Spa and would highly recommend it! I only wish that Tropica was around when we had our honeymoon - it would have been the perfect destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropica123, Owner at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Bula Amanda and Nick,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review of Tropica. We are really pleased you had a great time and it was lovely meeting you both. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica in the future.

Bula Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our first Fiji experience and we found what we were looking for. Our trip was to celebrate our round wedding anniversary and we stayed 4 nights. We were living in the beach bure that was very clean, well equipped and bed was made for us after and before each night. Bure itself fitted with bed, furniture - all locally made, timber shutters and outdoor shower with little outdoor garden was themed which we loved.
Food was very tasty, cooked to order with same breakfast menu but lunch and dinner menus changed daily.
We also sailed in a little catamaran in areas near the island - this was a real side-seeing pleasure.

We also had an unwanted experience ! My husband was bitten by a stingray in a shallow water near the resort beach, while coming back from the snorkeling. It was very painfull and scary event but again the General Manager of the resort, Leba, turned it into another positive experience. She immediately arranged for my husband to see the nurse on the other island and personally assisted us all the time with her fantastic local knowledge and managed all the steps of my husband treatment - so besides the pain that was treated as soon as possible she made us feel very safe in this exotic to us environment. In all our journey to and from the island we were kindly assisted by Illy who was most helpful in organizing comfort for my husband. So thank you all again!

Coincidentally it all happened exactly on the day of our anniversary so we were even more pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of chilled bubbly on the table and beautifully decorated bed with flowers and balloons , when we returned to our bure!! We also had special serenade sang for us at dinner time.

It is true that the resort was still being worked on while we were there, but this was not disruptive to us at all. We were in bure 8 and generally did not hear any noise.

Our experience as a whole was great, we will be definitely recommending this resort to our friends and family. Thanks again to all, Dorothy and Mirek

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropica123, Owner at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Bula Dorothy and Mirek,

Thank you very much for your positive review of Tropica. We are really pleased you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and that you enjoyed your accommodation, the food and the water activities.

We do see the occasional sting ray at this time of year in and around all waters of the Mamanucas. We are really pleased Leba and the staff looked after you so well and that you felt safe and comfortable.

All works in and around the resort are now complete and we are in the process of finalising landscaping and beautification of the grounds. This is not causing any disruption to guests.

Thank you for recommending Tropica to family and friends. It was lovely meeting you both and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Bula Vinaka!

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Tropica for a week, loved it and will definitely be back.

Stayed in a beachfront Bure which are beautifully decorated, very large and very cool, for our whole stay we did not require the fan or air con once, though having them both there is a great. The outdoor shower is a great touch and e spent a lot of time on the porch chair swing watching the sunset over the water. This resort is still under construction so yes there are a lot of workmen around and some noise, obviously some areas are not 100% there yet but you can see the potential and we were not really bothered by it during our stay.

As it is still under construction there was a couple of let downs in terms of activities & equipment which was disappointing, as mentioned above we loved our stay and will be back but it is good to note some things on the website are not yet correct. There are currently a few kayaks and two hobie cats for guest use, there are not yet paddle boards or windsurf kit as mentioned on the website. This was disappointing as my partner windsurfs and we both love stand up paddle boards and did help influence our choosing Tropica. I am assuming that because there was not a lot of guest (16-20) this is why the other activities on the website (beach volleyball, crab racing, hiking, hat weaving, kava ceremonies and village visits) did not happen either, we usually love a more active holiday and were looking forward to some of these. However we did enjoy kayaking, sailing and there is some great smoking about 500meters off shore, good variety and clarity, as it is a marine reserve I imagine this will continue to improve.

The pool area is gorgeous, the restaurant also beautiful. The food was varied, menu changed daily and all meals were tasty and fresh especially the lovely seafood. Drinks are reasonably priced and cocktails at happy hour were a must.
The spa was nice but doesn’t feel finished, we enjoyed a couples treatment which was great but a couple of things were left off from what the package said. Wasn’t a problem for us but again I think this is just something that hasn’t been worked through as it is a new resort.
The sunset beach bar is gorgeous but not yet operational, however we could order a drink at the main bar and they would bring it down to us no problem.

Tropica’s location is great, calm clear water sheltered bay and not far from Nadi, easy ferry or seaplane transfer. The beach is not your typical white sand beach it is tidal and at low tide rock and rough ground is exposed. You can swim straight off the beach though and easy access to great snorkelling. There is also a great group of fish under the jetty, be sure to save a bit of toast from breakfast and feed them!

The staff are just fabulous so friendly and helpful any request is met not a problem. They will remember your name and your usual order, and they really make the resort something special. Have to give special shout of to Ilisoni Director of celebration, wonderful person and extremely helpful.

As mentioned we will be back and cannot wait to see the resort finished, we loved our stay and the people who work there. There are still things for them to sort through and fix before it is perfect but they did not impact our stay and enjoyment that much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropica Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropica Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropica Island Resort is Fiji's newest resort having just opened 1st May, 2013. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade, the resort has been transformed into a stunning 4 star, adults only boutique resort, blending Fijian and contemporary architecture with beautifully landscaped open spaces, dotted with fish ponds and water features. This is a resort centered around two key themes: Celebration and Rejuvenation. Our 'Director of Celebration' will assist you and your friends/family to design experiences you will never forget, from weddings on the beach, birthday parties poolside or intimate dinners under the jetty Bure. And when you're not celebrating, you may choose to rejuvenate with a spa treatment, relax in a hammock (or island swing) or enjoy your favourite book in our lounge. Guests will experience stunning sunsets, local and international cuisine, a diverse range of motorised and non-motorised activities and most memorably, will be charmed by the warm and friendly Fijian hospitality. The upgrade has seen the addition of a stunning 25 metre horizon pool, 12 fully refurbished Beachfront Bures and 4 Beachfront Suites (with outdoor river-rock showers, air-conditioning and ceiling fans). The renovation has also seen the addition of a stunning new Beach Bar built on the water, an open air restaurant with bar, activities bure and tranquil spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropica Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort Walu Beach Hotel Malolo Island
Resort Walu Beach
Hotel Walu Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropica Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.