We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropica Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropica Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropica Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mamanuca Islands, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY PAY SPECIAL
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Malolo Island
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stay here at the start of August and it was perfect!!
The staff are friendly, very helpful and do anything for you..
We had great food every day and our bure was the best place in the world to watch the sunsets! with a few drinks and also very comfortable to lax out after a hard day of doing nothing ;)
We will go again!... and we suggest you do to!..
Great Pool and hang out place..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Tropica is a perfect getaway & it was a good experience for me n my partner because of the resort enviroment,location & staff was just amazing that makes you feel like home.we got on a small boat heading to the resort and on arrival the staff was singing and welcoming us with their beautiful smile spending our holiday at Tropica was awesome, staying at the beach front bure enjoying the views everyday & we would not miss sitting on the see-saw chair outside our room waiting for the beautiful sunset every afternoon..The Activities everyday is fun & entertaining
The food & drinks is served with a smile, the service of the staff is unbelieveable that we get along just like we have known each other for a long time..

once again a big vinaka vakalevu to all the
Housekeeping staff
Bar & Resturant staff
Activities staff
Function staff
Reception staff
And also to you all that i didnt mentioned

Thankyou for making Tropica Island Resort a PERFECT & ENJOYABLE Place for our holiday....we'll be back..see you soon
Moce

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ni sa Bula, What can I say??? Words can't describe our recent stay at Fiji's best kept secret. This tropical paradise which has recently opened was just awesome!!! My partner and I never wanted to leave.

With over 15 years as a hotelier in senior management (with many years in the Fiji Islands) and now as an International Travel Consultant, Fiji has been waiting for a resort like this.

We experienced the true Fijian hospitality by all the staff. I believe this is a special place that has so much potential, it is a luxury and unique product within the Fiji market. The bures - WOW, the public areas and the food were just great. We were fortunate enough to have a beachfront suite bure which was massive, with a outside bathroom and even with a swinging love seat on the front porch. The sunsets were just the best!!! I have been to most places in Fiji over the last 12 years and hence we left sad but also at the same time excited for all of the team at Tropica.

At the end of the day, I sell the same product, a bed, a restaurant, a bar and so on. Success is all about the people and Tropica is already there. Please promise to visit and have the pleasure of meeting the one and only "Director of Celebration". Ilisoni Vibose, Fiji's up and coming award winning hotelier. I have known Ilisoni for years and I am so proud of him from where he has come from and where he is going with his brilliant career.

I had the opportunity to speak with quite a few other guests and they were more than just impressed. Vinaka vaka levu to the team at Tropica for making us feel so welcomed. We just loved our barefoot experience on the island, the toasted marshmallows and the bon fire on the beach.

We will be back soon....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozelle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for a blissful week at the end of July 2013. The hotel was still under construction so we were aware that the hotel still had a lot more finer touchers to be made. There was some heavy machinery working during our time which didn't bother us but other guests found it annoying.

1. Service staff
- we thought the staff were very helpful and provided great service. The singing when you arrived on and off the island was such a beautiful touch.


2. Bure 1
- we loved our room it was clean and uncluttered, but very basic, no safe, no tv and the outside shower had no atmosphere was a little unfinished

3. Food & Drinks
- ranged from poor to average. We ended up eating the snack menu late and avoiding the dinner. All the dinners we had bar the traditional Lovo and the meal on our final night (26th) were substandard.
- (a) fish cakes tasteless / (b) pork medallions over cooked
- (c) omelettes for breakfast overcooked
- (d) veg curry, inedible. It was so salty and over spiced, the roti that came with it was like cardboard
- (e) chicken satay lacked flavour seemed to be out of a bottle
- (f) lamb meat balls were very juicy and tasty
- (g) dessert on a whole was quite good except for the night of the Lovo

One guest had a prawn cocktail that was half frozen.

Breakfast was ok, portion sizes very good as I tend to overeat with a buffet. The bacon on our last day was cooked well but all other days was cold and overcooked.


We were told the replacement chef was working during out stay and wondered if the normal chef returned on our last night as there was an improvement with the lamb cutlets and veg noodles.

The great side of this hotel is that it is Child Free and the number of guests is limited so it has an intimate environment.

The water sports/tour desk did some great tours. Went enjoyed our snorkelling trip very much.

My husband and I have stayed at a lot of hotels around the world, similiar in style, and would suggest that this was the most overpriced that didn't deliver the same polish as we experienced in Sri Lanka, India, Malaysia and Thailand.

The spa was ok, but again lacked finesse for the price.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basic, bring your own laptop if you want some media. If you want net access choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropica123, General Manager at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments Cathrine. With regard to the work being carried out at the resort we are just finalizing the last of the landscaping in and around our Resort Rooms which will be finalized within the next 2 weeks. We were disappointed to hear that there were some aspects of your stay which you did not enjoy.
We were very surprised to hear your comments about the food. As you will see from the other reports on Trip Advisor we have had nothing but praise regarding the high standard of our food. We have also checked other guest reports who stayed at the same time and there are no negative comments regarding the food. However, we will certainly investigate further with our Executive Chef as your feedback is very valuable.
We would also like to clarify that when you refer to the bures as ‘basic’ you are purely meaning because they do not have internet access. We would not consider them to be basic in any other aspect. The bures have been fitted with king plus beds & pillows, the highest quality linen, towels, toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron & board, and fridge. It is our intention to keep the bures ‘island style’ which means no media. However, we have complimentary WiFi in all the public areas – the restaurant, bar, around the pool and at the Sunset Beach Bar. Our aim is to allow you to experience a true island style stay, with all the comfort and touches of a 4 star resort, but without TV or email access in your bure.
We are pleased you found our staff helpful. They really are a wonderful team and as you said the singing when you arrive and depart is truly special. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have just returned from 6 nights at Tropica Island resort and need to share what a wonderful holiday we had there. We were looking for somewhere that was relaxing to recharge our batteries and we got it at Tropica! Our beachfront bure was outstanding - the refurbishment of them is absolutely superb and they are infinitely nicer than any other resort I have stayed at in Fiji previously. The pool is outstanding, the staff were incredibly attentive and friendly and we will definitely be returning. Lovely to talk to Sue about the plans for the future and I urge you to consider this resort if you're planning a Fiji holiday as I'm sure it will be a huge success and will become one of those resorts that you can only book into a year ahead when it becomes known because it is so lovely.
Jane, New Zealand

Room Tip: Bure 2 was lovely - on the beach but up a few stairs so we could sit on the deck on the swing seat a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A small boat picked us up from South Seas ship and took us to the resort. Incredibly friendly staff. Greeted us with a fresh juice. Took a dip in saltwater infinity pool while room was getting ready and had lunch. Stayed in beach bure. Very nice, right on beach, love the outdoor shower. There is a swing bench on the deck and we relaxed on that to watch the sunset. Stayed in bure 14. We were 2 of 20 people at the resort, without staff.
Resort still finishing with construction, but didn't impact us at first. Only beach bures available for now. Power went out frequently and we were told that there were issues with the generator breaking and parts had to be sent off for repair. Meant no lights, fans, charging of Kindle, but at least it wasn't too hot as there was a good breeze and it wasn't humid.
Get a pool chair early since there aren't enough for everyone, even given what you pay to stay there, and people leave their stuff on the chairs all day even when they aren't around for an hour or two. Also, the sand at the beach isn't for laying out, it's not soft and a bit silty so if you want to lay out, the only option was the pool - but they might be working to improve the beach in the future.
The food is good and the menu changes daily and the provided breakfast has both hot and cold options with fresh fruit.
Sunday went out in the kayaks with snorkel gear to little rock just offshore from the resort. Saw lots of small fish and coral. Monday went deep sea fishing but didn't catch any fish, but were able to see Castaway Island (where the movie was filmed, but not where the resort is) and had fresh coconut. We went past other islands to see the other resorts too.
Don't worry about cash. The resorts can charge meals to your room and you just pay the tab with a card when you leave.
When we left it really felt like we were leaving from staying with friends. The staff sung to us and it was definitely tough to leave.

All in all we absolutely loved our time at the Tropica, even though the review may have a few requests. I would definitely recommend this resort to friends and would love to go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

OK, so I am not one to write reviews. This is actually the second review I have ever written but felt compelled to give these guys a good word.

I had never been to Fiji before, and like you, my girlfriend and I were trying to find a good place to stay and i found myself scouring reviews on sites like these. I found it to be a nerve wracking process since half the reviews of any place are praising it and half are complaining, so I had extreme anxiety in making a decision.

Ultimately, after sifting through many reviews we decided to stay at the Tropica and it was a great decision.

We were actually the first people to ever check into the resort. Like, ever. Did we know this? Of course not? Would we have booked it knowing that? Hell no.

But our stay could not have gone any better and it was one hands down the best vacation I've ever been to. First, the Tropica is an adults only resort. When looking at the places online, I first thought, "why does it matter if kids were allowed? How bad could that be?" Well lemme tell ya, bad. We went to a few other resorts on one of the island hopping trips and there are kids running around screaming everywhere. It sucks. This doesn't happen at the Tropica. All you get is an infinity pool that overlooks the ocean, amazing views all day long and a staff you'll end up being friends with by the end of the trip.

The owners took it upon themselves to make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. The first night, our light was flickering and the owner Rob personally made sure it was fixed. It might sound trivial but not many places have the owner walking the grounds to make sure the guests are happy. We are a pretty low maintenance couple but it went a long way in fixing a problem that was ultimately very minor.

Now, here's where it gets even better. In Fiji, you are essentially stuck at your resort, for better or for worse for the duration of your trip, so you better make ure the place you are eating three meals a day at for a week straight has good food. The Tropica's food was delcious, genuine five star quality with portions that actually leave you satisfied. I'm a guy, I like to eat a lot and never cared for small, dainty portions. Tropica serves it up right. We even caught a fish one day on the deep sea fishing trip they offer (very fun, by the way) and the Executive Chef Kevin took it from the boat and cooked it for us that day for lunch when we got back. Doesn't get any fresher than that.

I could go on and on with stories about how genuine and fun the staff of the Tropica are, but just take my word for it you will not find a place that has a better staff that you'll enjoy getting to know. When we visited the Castaway, they were nice, but you could tell they weren't that into it. At the Tropica, it seems like each person that works there takes pride in making you feel welcome. Hopefully Sunny, Pita, Mongi and the rest of the staff are still there because they and the Tropica are first class all the way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropica Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropica Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropica Island Resort is Fiji's newest resort having just opened 1st May, 2013. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade, the resort has been transformed into a stunning 4 star, adults only boutique resort, blending Fijian and contemporary architecture with beautifully landscaped open spaces, dotted with fish ponds and water features. This is a resort centered around two key themes: Celebration and Rejuvenation. Our 'Director of Celebration' will assist you and your friends/family to design experiences you will never forget, from weddings on the beach, birthday parties poolside or intimate dinners under the jetty Bure. And when you're not celebrating, you may choose to rejuvenate with a spa treatment, relax in a hammock (or island swing) or enjoy your favourite book in our lounge. Guests will experience stunning sunsets, local and international cuisine, a diverse range of motorised and non-motorised activities and most memorably, will be charmed by the warm and friendly Fijian hospitality. The upgrade has seen the addition of a stunning 25 metre horizon pool, 12 fully refurbished Beachfront Bures and 4 Beachfront Suites (with outdoor river-rock showers, air-conditioning and ceiling fans). The renovation has also seen the addition of a stunning new Beach Bar built on the water, an open air restaurant with bar, activities bure and tranquil spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tropica Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort Walu Beach Hotel Malolo Island
Resort Walu Beach
Hotel Walu Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropica Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.