We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malolo vs Castaway !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malolo Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Malolo Island Resort to your Saves list
Malolo Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Malolo vs Castaway !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We recently spent 6 nights on Malolo. What a beautiful resort. Very rustic, real sand between the toes stuff. But very nice. We have also been to Castaway Island twice before so we were keen to try somewhere new. We have a 12, 11 and 5 year old.

Bures: The bures at Malolo are just lovely. We had Bure nbr 3 (Family bure) which was enormous. 2 bathrooms, 2 queen beds and 3 singles. A great lounge/living area and a lovely verandah with an outdoor lounge setting with table. It was great! The bathrooms are not modern by any means, but are clean and adequate. Only a shower (no shower screen) with a handheld shower head....no bath! Compared to the rest of the bure the bathroom would be the let down....but still satisfactory. Four Air Cons and plenty of fans. The bures are all light and bright....painted in white with white timber venetians.
The Bures at Castaway are much more traditional. They are clean and comfortable but no where near as spacious. They are alot darker...not alot of light.

Food: We found the food on Malolo to be a little hit and miss. Some nights great others just OK. We had some wonderful buffets at Malolo. We found this the same on Castaway. The breakfast and lunch buffets were better on Castaway.

Activities: Kayaks, paddle boards, snorkelling, parasailing etc all about the same. However, we wanted to go for a long walk on Malolo. Not really possible. They had some rain and so the track up the mountain was impossible. You felt a little more hemmed in on Malolo. Castaway offer walking tracks all over the island.

Pools: Both islands have an adult and a kids pool. Malolo ones are just ok. The new kids one at Castaway is attached to a great cafe which was handy.


Kids club: Was good on Malolo although really only geared to the younger ones. Our 5 year old wanted to be there 24/7 but our older ones were VERY bored. Not much for them to do. They preferred to hang with us. More on offer at Castaway for all ages. Staff at Castaway get very involved with kids of all ages. Beach games, bon fires, frog hunts etc!!!

We preferred the lagoon at Castaway....it was better for swimming and snorkelling. Malolo is more exposed, not as protected as the lagoon side at Castaway.

Our personal preference: We prefer Castaway. It is a larger resort but there is more to do for all of us. Bures are the let down on Castaway.

The fijians are the most wonderful race. They are the most genuine, loving and happy people!!! You will feel you are part of their family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    113
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
287
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I booked this resort over the week of new year's this year and stayed with my fiance for five nights. It was extremely relaxing but plenty of activities, sun and other guests to keep us entertained. Five nights was probably enough time to spend though.
The new years party was lots of fun (evidenced by the fact that I lost a day of the holiday spending most of it in bed on new year's day!)
Though we were travelling as a couple and we were on a "family friendly" island, there was an adults only restaurant and the resort certainly wasn't teeming with children and they were in the kid's club for most of the day anyway.
Food at the beach bar was great - better than the other two restaurants in my opinion (though the pasta night was awesome too). Great cocktails as well.
Rooms were beautiful (but no TV - we brought our laptop along to watch movies at night :p)
Definitely worth getting off the mainland and spending a few days on the Mamanucas. We had amazing weather while it was raining on the mainland.
Pretty pricey compared to SE Asia but if you are after a relaxing tropical island this is it.
We were a bit disappointed with the reception staff though as we left our hats on the ferry and asked reception to chase it up and gave them our room number, however they never got back to us - on our return ferry trip we asked the cabin lady if our hats were still there and she said she had given them to the resort (and they never let us know about it!!) so that was strange. Drinks and table service at the beach bar also took a while, but we were in Fiji so weren't in a hurry!!

Room Tip: all rooms are great - they are all pretty much on the waterfront. If you want a bit more of a peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at Malolo in April 2012 with our 4 yr old daughter. After 8 days on an island I am usually ready to leave but not at Malolo - I could have stayed another week easily.

The resort is small and well laid out. The Bure's are all laid out along the beach front and most have a view of the ocean. Some are clustered together but don't look out onto each other. The rooms are spotlessly clean, air-conditioned and very comfortable. There is no TV or phone and the although there is WiFi at the shop and Beach bar, it is slow.

The resort itself is very laid-back. Don't bother packing shoes - you won't need them here! The restaurants are very reasonably priced and the range of food is good. Food quality is pretty good although more fresh fruit wouldn't go a miss. Drinks are very cheap during happy hour at the beach bar. We didn't take the all-inclusive package and ended up spending about half what we would have spent for the package.

The staff at the resort take the place to a whole new level not seen on the mainland. They are without exception always smiling and being a small resort get to know you by name which makes it all the more personal. The Kids Club was still being renovated while we were there but our daughter loved spending time with the Club staff. Always off exploring the beach or making something. The kids club is open late which meant that we could enjoy happy hour at the Beach Bar while all the kids played games on the beach while being supervised.

The activities are endless: Scuba diving, sailing, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkelling off the beach. If you've stayed at Denarau, you won't recognise the water here - crystal clear, 26c and teeming with fish and coral. Apart from Scuba and jet-skis, all the water activities are free. There are 2 nice pools at the resort but we hardly used them preferring the ocean.

There is nothing to fault at Malolo. For a relaxed family holiday with amazing water, lots of activities and the friendliest staff, you can't go past Malolo. We're already planning our holiday for next year.

Room Tip: The resort doesn't take room requests before arrival. If you can get it, Bure 31 has the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in November, 2011. They were amazing from the start - Air Pacific mucked us around a little and we arrived in Nadi 12 hours late and ended up missing the last transfers for the night and were told to stay on the main land. We didn't want to do this and when we contact the resort to see what our options were, they arranged a speed boat transfer for us immediately. They welcomed us off the boat with a welcome drink. Our room (deluxe ocean view) was amazing. Right on the water, clean, private, spacious and fantastic view, especially at sunset! Every day they would come and give us a list of activities for the next day. We took part in most of them as the staff there are amazing and so much fun. There is also waterspouts, kayaking, paddle boating, wind surfing, all free of use. My top tip is to take the kayaks out to a little beach island that is about 250 metres from the island. Great to sit out there alone and look at the surrounding islands, absolute serenity! Everyone is so friendly. Food was great, including themed and BBQ nights where buffets were served. I'd recommend the meal plans. We had this and it just made things so much easier, we never had to worry, just turn up when we were hungry! We never noticed the children around the resort as they are off all day with the kids club doing various activities. There were plenty of hammocks lining the beaches to relax in every night and snorkelling was fantastic, especially under the pier right in front of the beach bar! Huge schools of fish arrive here. There were two weddings while we were there which were beautiful but separate so that we were no disturbed by them. Cannot fault this place at it! It was a true paradise and I am already planning my return! Please do not hesitate to book!

Room Tip: stay in room 27 - one of the closest to the water, far from all the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We just returned from 5 nights on Malolo and had an amazing time. I had requested a quieter room, but unfortunately there weren't any available, and we were in the room closest to the beach bar. However, after the initial shock, it was a great place to be, not too noisy at all. Infact sitting outside listening to the music and activity was great, so if you end up in one of the closest rooms, they are still great. The room itself was one of the best that I have stayed in. There is plenty of room for a family of 4, and lots of little touches like hooks to hang towels and togs that make it so much easier. My two girls enjoyed the kids club, and it was nice and casual and they came and went as much as they liked. I also liked that they played games on the beach in the evening, and you could watch from the beach bar. The cocktails are really fantastic also - especially the coco-mojito which is amazing. The one thing that I found disappointing, and thus didn't give 5 stars, was the overall quality of the food. In general it was very hit and miss. We only had breakfast twice and things had run out and were very slow to be replaced (20mins for the pancakes!). Also we had a fairly average dinner at the beach bar (steak) but the pizza was quite nice, and the beach barbeque buffet on the Wednesday was really pretty bad. However, in saying that, the lovo feast was very nice. My recommendation is that if you don't want to have a huge breakfast, take cereal with you and sit out watching the ocean - we did this the rest of the time and enjoyed it greatly. You can buy milk from the little shop on Malolo. The Wednesday night buffet is a bit harder to avoid as that is the only option, unless you order from the beach bar lunch menu before 4pm!

Overall it was an amazing place to stay, the staff were great, and my kids did love swimming in the pool as well as in the ocean.

Room Tip: Take some cereal if you want to have a lighter breakfast, and stock up on water and snacks on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you are looking for a nice relaxing family holiday then this could well be the place for you.

The staff are excellent all around the result, special mention to Freddie and Tima in the kids club, you know that your children liked it when upon leaving the tears start to flow.

The water off the resort is good for snorkeling, but would suggest you stay away from the pools as they are heavily clorinated and the water is very warm, not exactly refreshing. Either way the ocean is so nice there is not much reason to use them unless you have very small kids.

Although it would cost quite a bit of money the pools seem wasted where they are especiall the adults pool, it just seems out of the way and i never saw anyone in it, if it was closer to the beach or on the edge of sand then i think with the swim up bar it would be a winner.

Pros:

All the food was very good for a 4 star resort, some of the dishes were excellent.
Drinks were all well priced.
Beach is nice and plenty of activities to keep you busy.
Bures are as new and keep very clean, you dont really need to pay for an ocean front room as they all face the ocean and are a stones throw from the waters edge.
The spa is very quaint but also very good - check it out.

Cons:

A place to dry your clothes, with the bures facing west it is hard expecially on a rainy day to get anything dry - its very minor but a dryer for the guests would help.
All the orders taken for food or drinks or activities are all hand written, they do not have any electronic method to take your order -so - have a good look at the bill before you head off. It should be noted that ours was 100% correct but a paper system could lead to errors being made.

All in all we would go back to Malolo in a heart beat, it is place you could go and pretty much guarantee that you will have enjoy your holiday, can't ask for more than that.

Room Tip: All rooms facde the ocean, some are 10 metres from the sand others are 15 metres from the sand, cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I didn't know what to expect, since we were travelling a week after the devastating floods. On our arrival at Nadi airport, the heavens opened and there was a torrent of rain, thunder and lightening like I have never experienced. Needless to say we were nervous about our decision to come to Fiji. But once we arrived on Malolo it was a completely different story. Sunshine, tanned and relaxed holiday makers, amazing friendly staff. Alena, Ace, Amare, Freddy,Maika..awesome. It was like entering the twilight zone. We spent the next 5 days marvelling at the coral and tropical fish right outside our door in the pristine waters. Soaking up glorious sunsets from the beach bar. Burning off our excess calorie intake with free non motorised activities and beach volley ball and blowing our money in the crab racing. I could go on and on.The food was ok and always plentiful, but don't expect chain resort abundance and a variety. Some items were abit hit and miss, but always fresh and served with a smile. The omelettes at breakfast are a crowd pleaser. The accommodation is relaxed and beachy and spacious. Housekeeping is exceptional and I am v fussy. Yes there are mossies and bugs and things that go bump in the night, but you have to expect that when you are visiting a tropical island. The hotel provide Aeroguard all through the resort as well as twice daily smoking. I packed some mossie coils and burned them on our bure deck and had not one bug in the bure..ever! Our 2 boys, 11 and 13, had the opportunity to scuba dive and this was done with safety and professionalism. All the rec equipment was in good condition and managed very well. The snorkelling was truly beautiful and since the waters around Malolo are considered a National Reserve the coral and under sea creatures are in abundance. we even saw a massive octopus literally 20 metres off shore. If you choose Malolo and attend the shell village tour, be prepared and take some items for the children in the village. Books, pencils, maps of the world even some clothes would be very beneficial. Antiseptic creams would also be most appreciated by the villagers. We chose Malolo based on the fact that the resort is small and intimate and we were not disappointed. We never had to deal with pool/beach chair rage or jockeying for best position at the bar. We would go back in a Fijian minute. If you are going to Malolo I am jealous, but in a good way :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the Northern end of the resort are away from beach bar, pools and jetty, so quiet and priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malolo Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.