We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip to Naigani” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naigani Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Naigani Island Resort to your Saves list
Naigani Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Naigani Island, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Day trip to Naigani”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We arranged a day trip to Naigani Island Resort from our hotel (Novotel) in Suva - cost FJ$165.00 each. It was a great day. It had been raining in Suva for a few days, but was happily sunny away from the main island. We arranged this trip through the hotel's tour desk, and although the taxi ride to the departure point took 90 minutes (twice the time told us at the tour desk), the boat ride a further 30 minutes - our few hours on Naigani were great. This is an older resort (just expect the basics and no more). We were taken by open boat (5 minutes) to a lovely isolated beach for snorkeling - not Fiji's finest, but a great experience for we amateurs. We were then served an excellent lunch, before the return trip to Suva.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you want to watch TV, go to the spa, use the kids club and have buffet with 20 different options every day, this is NOT the place for you. If however you want to take a step back in time to a place that is serene and naturally very beautiful you will be very happy with Naigani.

You make your own fun here, sure there are options, diving, snorkelling, dolphin trips, village church on Sunday. But generally it is like staying at a distant cousin's place where you all gather for meals and then disburse to the activity of your choice, no one will entertain you, that is your job. We have a 4 yr old and we love it! The rooms while stuck in the 80's are spacious with a sitting area and most have views of the water. The meals are from one kitchen and you order your lunch and dinner after breakfast. Given that this is an island and fuel is expensive, this is an excellent strategy to minimise wastage and while not gourmet, it is plentiful particularly after snorkelling or kayaking your day away.

If you book Naigani, bring some snacks in between meals especially if you have hungry young children. Maybe break out the cards or board games and just chill. After a couple of nights away, you'll feel recharged and ready to take on the world again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here as an RCI resort but it is available as a regular hotel rental as well. For all the details of the good and bad you can read some of the previous reviews, but in our opinion even the "bad" things were part of what made this resort so darn charming, maybe they were even the most important part of the charm. This place is down-to-earth and unassuming in the most perfect sense of these terms. We just loved everything about it.

If you want big, fancy, and slick do not come here, but if you want to experience the authentic, wonderful, charming Fiji, then this is the place for you. It is so totally non-commercialized that the one little store here has not even been open once in the nine days we have been here. The twenty or so cabins (as I think of them) are quite large and have lots of trees and flowers all around them.

Be aware that even if you are in a timeshare unit there are no kitchens- only small refrigerators and a hot water pot, and there are no other places to eat on this island. Luckily the food you can order at the old plantation house that serves as the bar, restaurant, and meeting place is quite good- and very authentic as well. They will gladly accommodate any special diet requests, as well as anything else that you may need.

For example, my wife has a machine that she uses during the night for her sleep apnea, which concerned us since the only power for the whole island comes from a generator that is shut down for 4 hours each night. No problem for this can-do place, they simply ran about a hundred feet of extension cords to our unit so she could have power from the one back up battery each night. Wow!! The resort may be "humble", but the service is definitely five star all the way.

I could go on and on about the countless things that sets this place apart from other resorts, but just know that if you come here you will never forget it. We travel almost full time and this was one of the friendliest, hospitable, and enchanting places we have ever been. It did take us a couple of days to figure out what this place was really about, but once we did every moment here was a real treasure. You could say that this is a small resort with the heart of a giant.

Even though relaxing is the name of the game here, I should encourage you to take three of the side trips offered. Once each week they go across the channel to Figi's original Capital, Levuka, which is like going back in time about a hundred and fifty years to an old British colonial town. Make sure you visit the South Pacific's oldest hotel, the Royal Hotel, and look at all there old pictures.

Next, make sure you take the short trip to Picnic Beach as the snorkeling is even better there than out in front of the resort (which is quite good in itself). No matter what they tell you, do not kayak there on your own unless you are an Olympic rower. Let them pack you a lunch and take you there in there speed boat.

Last, make sure you go to the local village at least once as this is where most of the staff live, and they enjoy showing your their home, although they act like the resort is their home as well. After a few days there, you will most likely feel the same way. A couple that was there with us said that they were here 25 years ago and everything was exactly the same; that fact might better illustrate the appeal of this place than anything I can say.

Room Tip: Every room is different while at the same time they are quite similar. They are all charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A great resort with good mid-range bures (bungalows) of different sizes. Clean, spacious and relaxed place. Very nice beach with bungalows. Each bure has a small separate garden, which gives the place a nice feel of having your own house there, and some privacy. Friendly staff and OK food. There is a nice pool there with a water slide. It is possible to both do snorkeling and kajaking around the island. There is also a small hike up to the top of the island.

The only real let-down was that the dive shop was quite poorly organized as we informed them in advance that we wanted to dive when we came there, but it turned out that they did not have enough weight belts, so we ended up waiting for more than an hour trying to find out what happened, waiting. The common toilets did not work.

Very good place for a surprisingly low cost!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Let me say the bad stuff first and then leave my opinions on a good note! As this was our first destination for our honeymoon, it took sooooooo long to get there- 2 flights, a taxi and then 2 boats!!
What a beautiful island but such basic things could have made our holiday so much better.
I didn't like the fact that you had to eat what they provided and at a certain time like you were on school camp! I didn't like the fact that you couldn't order snacks during the day and if so then the kitchen had to know in the morning and sometimes what you wanted wasn't available!
There wasn't any locks on the doors to the Bure and when asked, they couldn't find the actual keys. I didn't like the fact that there were no tvs in the rooms, for a resort that offers no dinner/nigh-time entertainment, you either had to go to sleep or read a book. Dont get me wrong, there was a tv room near the kitchen but its big enough for 3 people!
MAKE SURE you take a lot of snacks / food / drinks, pretty much as if your camping, there is no access to a shop or light snacks and if you want to buy lunch which we had to, you will pay a bit much for not much!
The cleanliness of our room was NOT great and the bathroom & showers were not up to standard at all, we still had peoples hair on the shower walls and in the drains when we got there.
The linen on the bed was not good and the general up-keeping of the rooms is just very poor.
The pool was not cleaned for a few days after they discovered they had run out of chlorine, i think for a resort, they need to be better managed.
The lighting on the island e.g.. walking from the eating areas to your Bure was very poor and limited and a bit scary.
My husband and I were very disappointed in the breakfast- no bacon/eggs and the toaster didn't work AND the loaf of bread was still half frozen anyways!
The pool bar was never open and no staff was ever there for you to get drinks from them.

On a good note! We really did relax and the island is truly beautiful. The staff especially Whyse was so lovely, helpful and friendly. This resort has the potential to be incredible and if the management and owners put a bit of $$ into it then it can be a gold-mine. This resort just wasn't our type of resort but I encourage people to visit if you like holidaying basic and away from civilization.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOUGHTON
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I LOVED going to Naigani and will go back some time in the future. Naigani is a resort located just off the main island of Viti Levu. Naigani is a small island that has just a small Fijian village and the resort. There are no roads or cars. It is truly a piece of paradise! You really can get away at this resort although they do have essentials like free wireless Internet!

We really went there for scuba diving and that is what we did. They have some great bommies within just a few minutes boat ride from the resort. The bommies have so many fish and marine life. Of course my buddy and I had our underwater cameras ready to go and had fun taking photos on the dives. The schedule there was pretty relaxed. We typically did 2 dives a day. We loved the great visibility and the abundant marine life on the bommies and pinnacles. We took a lot of nice colorful photos and I especially liked the vibrant colors of the soft corals. When we weren’t out diving, we enjoyed snorkeling from the shore. There is some absolutely beautiful coral just out from the resort.

The food at the resort was wonderful and that was a good thing because there really weren’t any other options. In the morning, you chose what you wanted for lunch and dinner off of a menu board. The food was all home-made and tasted really good. The only complaint was that they give you too much.

You can read other reviews about the rooms. I don't spend much time in the room when I'm on vacation so I don't care about how fancy it is. Our room was cleaned every day.

The people that work at the resort were really wonderful to us. We enjoyed their friendship and I almost felt like family at the end of the week.

It was a great week of diving and taking photos. It will be fun to go back to Naigani.

Room Tip: A couple units did have A/C available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Naigani Island has numerous attractions - including an excellent beach. There is hiking to be done for the hikers, snorkeling for the snorkelers, and diving for divers. Tide pools for the macro-biologists, plants, flowers, palm trees for the botanists. And beach chairs and hammocks for the relaxers. The resort needs a refreshening - it might qualify as a backpacker resort now, although even the local price is too high for that. The pool was full, but not being filtered. The small water slide no longer functioned. The food is average at best. Breakfast is perhaps the weakest meal - even if it is usually the easiest. The staff is super - with Fijian friendliness shinning through.

But it is a quiet place. Just a handful of folks were there when we were. Our girls were able to run about relatively care-free. Beach hammocks are between trees in front of most cabins. Kayaks were plentiful. We were not bothered with the electricity being off between 2pm-5pm and again from late at night until about 5am. That is fine and understandable, although during air conditioner season, it might not be so "fine". Never mind though because there is no airconditioning in any of the cabins, or restaurant.

This place has super potential. But it is not clear there is a business case to be made for renovating the place. The prices would have to go up much more, and it is not clear it could survive that level of exclusivity.

Overall, it is a beautiful setting - a fabulous setting. But the resort, especially its food, seems to have fallen on hard times. Next time we go, we will probably bring a tent, and our own food and camping stove.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more recently build "bures" or cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naigani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naigani Island Resort

Address: Naigani Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lomaiviti Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Naigani Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naigani Island Resort is located on the north east of Fiji's main island of Viti Levu Sixteen boutique plantation style bures accommodating up to 60 guests. In a beautiful tropical garden with turquoise lagoons, palm fringes white sandy beaches, and a virgin tropical rainforest filled with rare species of flora and fauna. Naigani Island Resort is an unspoilt, pristine dive destination that will restore body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Naigani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naigani Island Hotel Lomaiviti Islands
Naigani Island Resort Fiji/Lomaiviti Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naigani Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.