We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live the Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naigani Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Naigani Island Resort to your Saves list
Naigani Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Naigani Island, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melton, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Live the Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Naigani Island Resort is a like a breath of fresh air for a weary traveller. Just to let you know that getting there is part of the adventure. It is a cab or bus ride to the dock from which you catch your boat over to the island. We landed at the island and there was no dock but had to wade to shore, what a hoot. From that moment on it was like we were on our own patch of paradise. The rooms are basic clean and airy. The staff and people of the island are some of the best and friendliest we have ever encountered worldwide. There is so much variety of coral not that far from the shoreline that if you are into snorkling you will be in your element. Kyaking is free and loads of fun. Some people have mentioned the bugs but really I am a magnet for mozzies and was not that bothered with them if I put on some repellent. Met some of the best people there as well. If you are looking to be pampered all day and have activities planned for you then this is not the Ritz, but there are plenty of activities you can enjoy placed on the notice board every day. If you want to unwind and sit by the pool and have drinks served to you then this is the place for you. If you can imagine so many different shades of blue in water colour as you see around the island you are lucky for myself this alone was a treat. Thanks to Epee and the staff who made us feel so much like part of the family. The meals all have a healthy/vegetarian option as well as being very tasty. Each night there is singing in the bar by a local group which make dining an enjoyable experience. We loved this place and hope that if you like to just relax and enjoy a unique island experience this place is for you.

Room Tip: Go back the second time and you will get a discount or upgrade as you are considered family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

A little out of the way but well worth the effort to get there. The staff here are absolutely wonderful. go that extra mile to make your visit memorable. We stayed for 2 weeks at the end of July, beginning of August. If you want to be on the go and be entertained 24/7 this isn't the place for you, if you want to relax and enjoy the real Fiji then you can't go past Naigani. The diving (when you can get all the gear and the dive master in the same place at the same time) is wonderful, so many dive sites to see, even a shore dive is great. Not really a place for kids, not a lot for them to do. The village tour was the best we have ever done, very informative. I can't say enough about the friendly staff. We celebrated a friends 30th wedding anniversary and my 50th birthday, both were lovely and a lot of fun. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff.

Room Tip: rooms are very basic and could do with a little refurb but are cleaned daily
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This place was really nice, we had a group of 8 adults & 1 child.
We really enjoyed our stay.

Only downer was that they rely on generators & turn off between 2-5pm!!!, the primetime
for icey cold drinks & cocktails other than that a nice place to stay.

If your in a group, chip in some cash & hire a taxi van from Nadi and u get to see lots of Fiji. Its about a 4.5hr trip!.

Take some fishing gear, no guarante u will fish but we got yellowfin tuna, mahimahi, blue fin trevally.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our rooms, showers were good, bed was ok!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed on Naigani in September 2010 for 7 nights. It was absolutely beautiful.

The setting is beatuful. The accom is basic but very clean and comfortable. The staff are some of the most beautiful people you could ever meet and treat you like you are family or long lost friends. There is no pomp and ceremony at this resort, everyone relaxes and has a good time. It only holds a certain amount of guests at a time so you never feel overcrowded. (On our last night there were only 4 couples - which made for a very pleasant atmosphere eating dinner on the verandah at one big table). The food is good and plentiful but if you are thinking of a lot of choices for each meal you will be disappointed. Your meals for the day are chosen after breakfast from a blackboard then you don't have to worry about it again. The meals, on most nights, are in the old plantation house but sometimes they have bbq nights out by the pool. They have meal packages which seem pretty reasonable.

Scuba diving and snorkelling is great, some of the best I have seen in Fiji (I have been about 14 times) and the activities staff are very knowledgeable.

There aren't activities every hour on the hour like other resorts but there is enough to do and it is the perfect place to relax under the palm trees and read a book. I know I came back totally relaxed!!!!!

We will be going back next month (July 2011) for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and will be taking friends with us. Can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Going back for our 5th stay at Naigani and taking 3 of our friends with us in March. If you want 5 star accom. stay on the mainland, if you want 5 star staff and locals this is the place to go. Diving is great, the fishing with Toka is excellent. If bugs worry you take your own bud spray ! The meal package is great value. It may take a bit of travel to get there
but it is well worth the trouble. We were there during cyclone Tomas, the Staff were fantasic and made all the necessary arrangements for our safety. The Island has
very good mob phone coverage. We have been going to Fiji since 1987 and Naigani seems to meet all of our needs and wants. Sat night is lovo night my Fav.....YUM...remember the real Fiji is on Fiji time so...... slow........down.... have a great stay at Naigani

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Is a nice place. The beach is very tidal and not white and long. The breakfast is included, but spare buffet. There is a mealplan for 55,-pp ,but also spare. They even charge you extra for rice and when you ask for some bread, its often “finished”. Well we have got a good rate, so its repealing the cons. The beachvolleyball is behind in the grass -no sand- with the mozzies.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Beautiful island, great snorkelling. Amazing place to visit if you want to relax as that is all you can do here. We arrived on the same day as the mosquito sprayers, so had no troubles with the mosquitoes at all. The trails are overgrown, but worthwhile on a nice day to go exploring.
If you don't need a resort that has non-stop entertainment or overpriced food - come here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naigani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naigani Island Resort

Address: Naigani Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lomaiviti Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Naigani Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naigani Island Resort is located on the north east of Fiji's main island of Viti Levu Sixteen boutique plantation style bures accommodating up to 60 guests. In a beautiful tropical garden with turquoise lagoons, palm fringes white sandy beaches, and a virgin tropical rainforest filled with rare species of flora and fauna. Naigani Island Resort is an unspoilt, pristine dive destination that will restore body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Naigani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naigani Island Hotel Lomaiviti Islands
Naigani Island Resort Fiji/Lomaiviti Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naigani Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.