We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papageno Resort Fiji

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kadavu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papageno Resort Fiji
Save
You added Papageno Resort Fiji to your Saves list
Kadavu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Graz, Austria
1 review
“Paradise for relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

After more than 2 weeks in Papageno Resort we have to make this review for all the people who want to relax and forget about the rest of the world.

Also the way to this paradise is an experience.
We flew from Nadi to Kadavu in a 8 passanger seat airplane in about 45 min. On the airport in Kadavu we were welcomed by a smiling and friendly man who took as by boat (30 to 40 min) to the resort.
At the resort all the staff stood on the beach and sung a fijian song for us.

We were welcomed very friendly and were directly brought to our Bure (Bure No. 1, the one which is nearest to the sea), where two fresh coconuts with straws waited for us.
The bure is spacious and lovely furnished. There is a fan on the ceiling, which we didn't use (although it had about 30-32 C), so in my mind an AC isn't missing. The Bure has a veranda, wich is, like the whole Bure, shielded by fly screens (the Mosquitos outside of the Bures can be very thirsty :) )

The highlights in the resort are the quietness, the nature and of course the excellent food (organic). All the meals are served in the "mainhouse". You will be called for dining with the Lali (Fijian drum) so you never need a watch in the resort.
Breakfast starts with a plate of fresh local fruits, cereals, homemade jam and bread and plenty of other tasty things. You will never get hungry, because after the lunch (salat and main course) you have teatime with homemade cake. For dinner you get local fish or meat with plenty of side dishes.
If you get thirsty, there is a fridge in the mainhouse, where you can take some lemon juice (homemade) or water, or make it like we did, take your water out of the tap (realy good fresh water).
What to do in the resort?
Stroll in the lovely garden, or walk (at low tide) up to an hour on the lonely beach (but don't forget to take the dogs along). By the way, the house dogs are very friendly.
Make a kayak tour around a small island, into the mangroves, or just out to the reef.
Play pool, dart or take a walk to the waterfall.
We will recoment the tour to the great waterfall and the manta ray tour - it was amazing.
We also see dolphins on the way to a snorkeling trip.
Just enjoy the quiet nature.

Swimming is limited on the resort beach at low tide.

We want to point out also the managment. They are always professional, helpful and friendly.

Don't forget to bring:
flashlight
insect repellent
bathing shoes
books and time to enjoy the paradise

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Had a wonderful week at Papageno's. It is located on a beautiful beach, with lovely landscaping. We stayed in Bure #1 closest to the beach and it was fun listening to the waves. Simple but nice accomidations. Queen bed and private bath. Food was fantastic! and always plenty to eat. Staff was very accomidating. We hope we have the opportunity to go there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed there for our honeymoon and found it to be a tropical paradise. The bure was beautiful, right on the beach, the food was impeccable, and the staff was phenomenal. I can not say enough great things!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This place is amazing.
The bures are supor clean and lovely.... and spacey!
Elisabeth and Lydia and all the staff take great care of you and feed you 4 times a day with the most delicious, organic food you can imagine!
Found my new passion for fishing here (Tuna and mackarel, and see dolphins or pilot whales if you're lucky!).... but kayaking, diving and snorkling, or hanging out in the hammock/ sun longer are equally great here. This place is superb- and I can't wait to go back again sooon!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We were all the family at this resort last december, it is really a trip because first you get to Nadi where the int. airport is and then you connect with a small plane that can leave easy with some delay to Kadavu Island, beatiful views from the plane.
There there is a very small hut as airport and you are welcome, local people help with the luggage and you take a boat to the resort, at the island there is only a very small rout and everything is connected by boat, maybe like us in this trip or during their way to pick you up they catch the dinner fish, great, suddenly you arrive and discover paradise.
People is great, take your time to know the gardens and where they plant almost all vegetables that are served, and to talke with the people, Sonyo and Lydia are amazing.
Excellent for diving or if not take some time with your snorkel, you can be there forever but watch out for sunburn, and maybe go to see the Mantas.
Yes, I know there are mosquitos, so is nature.
When we leave the locals at the resort song for us and we almost cry, I have some t-shirts from the resort and everytime I use them really think in that place, Paradise on earth.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

My wife and I spent two wonderful weeks in Ocean Bure #1. The staff was extremely friendly and the resort was exactly what they represented on their web site. The food was very fresh, much of it was just caught or picked fresh from their huge garden. You can just lay around on the beautiful beach, hike, swim, go kayaking, snorkeling diving or visit a local village. It was unlike anywhere we ever went. There is no air conditioning anywhere on the island because of the power. The resort uses a large solar array to charge batteries and runs their generator when the power load requires. The power is on all night every and the ceiling fan provides excellent cooling. The ocean bures also get a nice breeze from the ocean most of the time. I would recommend this resort to any adventurer who enjoys getting away from the usual places and can handle the more natural environment.

There are no roads, TV, or phones to disturb you there. We had fun wading in from the boats that bring visitors from the tiny airport.

I also took lost of great clown fish photos on my dives.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We stayed at Papageno Resort to celebrate a family member's milestone birthday. During our stay we snorkeled, kayaked, hiked, and even became certified divers! Our bure was on the beach and we woke up to the sounds of the local birds. The food was excellant and very fresh. I loved that the vegetables came straight out of their own garden. The staff at the resort was very friendly and accomodating.
This resort is truly unique and gave me and my family a great travel experience. I hope to visit it again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papageno Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papageno Resort Fiji

Address: Kadavu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papageno has 24 hour power. Large solar system keeps the resort very quiet. Eco friendly. We grow most of our vegetables and fruits in our organic garden. PADI dive center is available on site. Large sandy beach in front and side of the resort.Hiking trails on the Property. Great for Bird watching.Free use of snorkel equipment and kayaks. Day trips to the astrolabe reef for diving and Manta snorkel trips are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papageno Resort Fiji Hotel Kadavu Island
Papageno Hotel Fiji
Papageno Resort Fiji Kadavu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papageno Resort Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.