We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mexico Tipico Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mexico Tipico Mexican Restaurant
1870 E Main St, Prattville, AL 36066-5500
334-365-8677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 98 Restaurants in Prattville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Marbury, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

So I've eaten At Mexico Tipico several times, and each time, the food was pretty good, but mostly a "meh, I've had better". The salsa was delicious, as was the cheese dip. The guacamole dip was bland, but still tasty. I understand that each restaurant has their own way of preparing dishes, and that some places might produce more bland dishes than others. That's fine. What I don't particularly like is that the times I ordered an entree with refried beans, the beans always seemed thin, and I would occasionally find a mostly cooked but still firm half bean in it. The staff and waiters were friendly, but even on slow days they seemed to take forever in coming back to check on us. Another meh.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I love love what I ordered. Even the refried beans were better than I have EVER tasted. Just beans? Not hardly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

After being at the Fountain City Arts Festival in Prattville, we headed home. Decided to stop & patronize a local mexican restraunt. We stopped at Mexico Tipico. FANTABULOUS! They are located in a grocery store strip mall. First, the selection is Huge. So it is hard to decide what to get. My cousin & I had the same thing. I think mostly cause we wanted to eat it all & just be a little selfish & not share. haha. I am sorry that I can not remember the exact name of our selection but was a huge platter with 2 pablano peppers floured, battered, & fried...stuffed with meat & cheese & covered w the same. With a generous side portion of spanish rice & refried beans. Really really good. If I have the chance to go back, I would be afraid to try anything else because this dish was utterly mouth wateringly spectacular. Yes its spicy. Its a stuffed pepper! Huge by the way. Service was super friendly, & so fast. Go. Try. Eat.Smile.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good food at a great price!! We love to eat at Mexico Tipico. My picky kids even enjoy it. Try a jumbo margarita.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Long time favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We lived in the Montgomery/Prattville/Millbrook area for many years and this place was a favorite of ours. Now whenever we find ourselves the area we try to eat here. The food is still great and the service quick and wonderful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The best Mexican restaurant. My grandaughters and I like it. The staff is friendly and the food is very good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Tipico Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mexico Tipico Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexico Tipico Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.