We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe

Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe
136 West Main Street, Prattville, AL 36067-3034
+1 334-361-1020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 92 restaurants in Prattville
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Description: Our food is hot, fresh, and ready to be served. Come as you are and enjoy authentic Cajun cuisine in our friendly, family atmosphere - where you're only "one bite away from the bayou!"Dine in or take-out - the choice is yours. We have a newly refurbished Private Dining Area for parties up to 30 people - call for availability and reservations. We are located in the heart of historic downtown Prattville, Alabama. We are only 20 minutes from Montgomery and conveniently located in central Alabama.
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
“Best Food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This food goes beyond good, After 24 hours, I am still licking my lips. The service was excellent, beyond reproach. I am a fan for life, I intend to bring my friends to share this experience. Why go to New Orleans, when you have Uncle Mick's. A truly exceptional eating experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UncleMicksCajun, Manager at Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Wow, Tripp!!

Thanks for this amazing review! We shared it on our Facebook page so all our friends and fan could see it too.

We take pride in delivering great food, AND excellent service to our valued customers, so thank you for acknowledging that.

We look forward to seeing you (and your friends) again real soon! Don't forget that we have a Private Dining Room at the back of our restaurant - newly refurbished. Give me a call if you want to reserve it. (334) 361-1020


Uncle Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    70
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great place with nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I was in Prattville for business and found Uncle Mick's on TA. The food was really good and the people couldn't have been nicer. I would tell you what to order, but I don't have to as they give you a small sample of the food and let you order what you like. Try before you buy....

It is worth the trip and Prattville Downtown is very nice and has some neat places. It was my first time to Prattville and hopefully not my last.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UncleMicksCajun, Manager at Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks so much, Marty, for leaving a review for Uncle Mick's Cajun. We appreciate you taking the time.

More importantly, thank you for visiting our restaurant - we're glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and in Downtown Prattville, and hope to see you again real soon!!


Uncle Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Cajun Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had lunch here and were very pleased with the food. The owner was super nice and let us sample any of the dishes that we wanted to try before we decided on our meal. Try the Crab Au Gratin and Shrimp a la' Creme. The price was very reasonable and the portions generous. Don't pass up the Carmel Cake or Buttermilk pie, both are delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UncleMicksCajun, Owner at Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Lori

Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review on here TripAdvisor!

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch, and experience, at Uncle Mick's and hope to see y'all again real soon! :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic food, atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We had the best experience for our "date night" at uncle mick's. We were warmly greeted when we walked in and allowed to sample most of the menu before choosing our delicious meals. The food was out of this world amazing and there was a great variety of options. On top of that we were told about the cozy room in back with the blues music playing that perfectly complimented our date night mood. This is a great treasure in downtown Prattville.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UncleMicksCajun, Owner at Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there Studcouple

We're so pleased that we helped make your 'date night' so enjoyable.
It was an honor to serve you on such a special occasion and we're glad you enjoyed our cosy Private Party room with the accompanying music.

We hope you'll celebrate more of your special occasions at Uncle Mick's :)

It makes everything we do worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cajun Cafeteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Uncle Mick’s serves authentic Cajun food cafeteria-style. The cook/chef/owner is on hand to dish out samples of the fare to make sure newcomers order to their liking. The three of us tasted several entrees before deciding on crab meat au gratin, shrimp a la crème, and red beans and rice. The best was the red beans and rice – as good as any you’d get in New Orleans. The dirty rice side was very good, and the shrimp a la crème was excellent. The portions are generous, though some are a bit heavy on the rice. The only disappointment was dessert. Though it sounded tasty, it was pressed so tightly with saran wrap that we passed on it. The décor is interesting and the staff is very friendly. The location in downtown Prattville is quaint and we enjoyed an evening stroll along the river after dinner at Uncle Mick’s.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UncleMicksCajun, Owner at Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you, Diane, for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We appreciate that very much!

Shrimp a la Crème is a firm favorite at Uncle Mick's for those who like a less spicy meal, and some prefer to have the Red Beans without the rice, if they get rice with their other entree. What a great compliment to say that that they are "as good as any you'd get in New Orleans." Thank you!

I hope you visit us again soon, and when you do, please ask me personally for a piece of cake without the wrap - I can't send you away without trying our delicious dessert!

Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Mick's Cajun Market & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.