We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wash House Restaurant

Wash House Restaurant
17111 Scenic Highway 98, Point Clear, AL 36532
(251) 928-4838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The food is very nice. It is a bit fancy so you might wear your dockers and put real shoes on but worth it. Staff is great and dinner was very good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    23
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Whatever you do, DO NOT leave Point Clear without tasting the
absolutely delicious Key Lime Bread Pudding which may sound terrible but is wonderful as is all the food here. Great service,
quirky decorating adds a layer of charm. Excellent drinks as well.
A must when in the area

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Good Food, Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

After several referrals we were excited to try the wash house. Our waiter handed us the menus and returned several minutes later and wanted to know what we wanted. We both ordered fish. My red fish was undercooked and I sent it back. It was returned cooked to the correct temp. We asked for wine pairing suggestions and got very canned, uninterested answers. Mistakes happen in the kitchen and I'm understanding of that. However I expect more from the staff when paying $30 per plate. Good food, but don't expect fine dining service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere, great food and nice service . We didn't know what to expect going to the Wash House but were we ever presently surprised at how nice and wonderful the food was. I highly recommend this for a good evening out with husband or wife or date.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chateaubriand and margarita! Bread and gumbo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

On scenic US 98 there is a small restaurant. Enter into the old kitchen at the rear of the house. Seated at a table in the elegant surroundings, you should order the gumbo to get started, a margarita to "wet your whistle" and the Chateaubriand. After you order, the waiter will bring to you a plate of the best soft bread loaf with a mild yeasty flavor. It is followed almost immediately by the margarita and the gumbo. The margarita is a one of a kind- a glorious fruity drink that make you want to exceed your limit. Do not! As you ponder your good luck, the waiter returns with the Chateaubriand. It is a large cut of Prime meat, cooked to perfection and served with asparagus and potatos, Aahh.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wash House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wash House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wash House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.