We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wash House Restaurant

Wash House Restaurant
17111 Scenic Highway 98, Point Clear, AL 36532
(251) 928-4838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here for dinner the night I proposed to my gf. We were staying at the Grand down the road (2 min away) and saw the good reviews on this place. We both got excellent seafood dishes with salads and beers + tip for exactly $100. Well worth it though for a special occasion. Entrees were about $27-$32 if I recall correctly. The setting inside was rustic but romantic. We were one of only three tables in the restaurant but felt comfortable and the server did a great job. Recommend going here if you don't mind spending a little extra or for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    26
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
D'Iberville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary at the Wash House and the food was perfect-from the pumpkin soup and lamb meatballs to the short ribs that fell off the bone to the apple cinnamon cheesecake with caramel sauce -what can I say except delicious !! The only thing better was the service -everyone there treats you like royalty and especially David ! He can even help you when you are sitting there trying to make a difficult choice between the chocolate pecan pie/lime infused bread pudding or cheesecake! We had a wonderful evening in a beautiful setting!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I have always loved the Wash House, but the last few times we've gone, I was very disappointed. The atmosphere and service are excellent, but the food is below average. Even worse, the prices are very high. I would not recommend this restaurant, until they improve their food quality.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The place is a little out of the way for me but I would return in a heartbeat. Some will find it pricey. However, the selections, quality and preparation of the food makes this place ideal for a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Positively memorable meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This restaurant was a delightful surprise. Although it looks modest on the outside, the food was so superb as to be memorable. A friend familiar with the area suggested we go here, and it was so remarkable we returned a second time before we left (we were in Point Clear for 5 days). The seafood was delicious, with delicate sauces that accented the flavor. The desserts were all to-die-for! I can't recommend the Wash House enough!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wash House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wash House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wash House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.