We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively memorable meal!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wash House Restaurant

Wash House Restaurant
17111 Scenic Highway 98, Point Clear, AL 36532
(251) 928-4838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Positively memorable meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This restaurant was a delightful surprise. Although it looks modest on the outside, the food was so superb as to be memorable. A friend familiar with the area suggested we go here, and it was so remarkable we returned a second time before we left (we were in Point Clear for 5 days). The seafood was delicious, with delicate sauces that accented the flavor. The desserts were all to-die-for! I can't recommend the Wash House enough!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    26
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Robert does a fantastic job creating a cozy atmosphere, paired with well trained wait staff. I challenge anyone to best the over all quality of this food. This is the place I dine on every special occasion.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very good food! Staff was very friendly and courteous! The restaurant is rustic, but very nice! They had some of the best gumbo that I have ever eaten!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great meal close to Grand Hotel, Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Food was delicious, service great, atmosphere excellent. Reservations are strongly recommened. Went with a group of 3 other couples and all had a wonderful time and great meal. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

After researching reviews on tripadvisor.com, my husband and I chose the Wash House. We had a wonderful experience. The staff was great and the meal was incredible. The house salad was one of the best we have had and our waiter, Josh, was fantastic! Love Love Loved it.....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wash House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wash House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wash House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.