We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wash House Restaurant

Wash House Restaurant
17111 Scenic Highway 98, Point Clear, AL 36532
(251) 928-4838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5 star place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I made reservation for the wash house for 8:00pm but decided to change to 7:00pm which I did. When we arrived they still had us down for 8:00pm but everything was taken care and it was a busy night!!! The place is small but very pretty. We had wine,steak and desert !!!! Everything was unbelievable. The food great and so was the service for a busy evening!! Will be there this December 2012.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    26
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elegantly Relaxed and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Located in a quiet unpretentious setting amid tall trees, almost difficult to find - but not; a beautiful dining room; impeccable service. The best of old southern charm, welcoming and comfortable. White tablecloths, good china and heavy beaded flatware. And, oh, the food! The subtle flavors and textures of bay shrimp stacked with crisp fried green tomatoes perfectly complimented by fresh mozzarella and a tomato cream sauce; the deep smoky aroma of a meaty seafood gumbo with a dark roux base; you get the idea, and I haven't even described the entrees. Although elegant, the restaurant is not fussy; some guests were dressed for business, others more casually (Point Clear is, after all, a resort/retirement area). The Wash House is one of the best restaurants in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Some think this is the best place in the Fairhope area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

certainly not the inn and restaurant in Fairhope is far and away better but this is good very very good and worth a trip to find

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I had my first experience at the Wash House last week, I hope it won't be the last. The hostess, a nice blond lady, seated us and made us very welcomed. The drink menu had several original drinks. I ordered a French 75, and will have one again. The wine list was extensive and even had a Sancerre, unusual for the US. I ordered the trigger fish and found it outstanding. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCalla, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

expensive, but good. two entrees, gumbo and water. 84.00

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wash House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wash House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wash House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.