We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical property.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Grand Boulevard, P.O. Box 639, Point Clear, AL 36564   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Clear
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Beach, CA.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Magical property.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Near perfect stay. EVERYONE at the resort is incredibly hospitable. The grounds are impecable. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Endless options to pass your day, or just relax on the grounds. Has one of the best pool areas we've ever seen. The surrounding area is an absolute gem. Only quibbles were very minor (A/C controls looked like they were 30 years old... but worked fine, and the TV was the old-style... at this level of property you'd kind-of expect a flat screen). Overall it was amazing and the minor complaints were blown away by all of the positives.

  • Liked — The grounds were AMAZING, pleasantly surprised to find free parking.
  • Disliked — No flat-screen TV, double beds (room was huge and could easily have had Queens).
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    157
    61
    28
    21
See reviews for
196
238
14
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sweet Home, AL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

This hotel was GRAND indeed! The location of the hotel was so relaxing. We booked an inside room, but were delighted to find that we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite that was right on the point. We were visiting during Memorial Day weekend, so we really felt blessed to be upgraded to such a wonderful room and view. Our suite had water views from every window and the layout of the rooms were perfect with a separate bedroom and sitting room. (featuring a loveseat/sleeper, which was very comfortable for our 13 yo. son.) The BR had a king size bed with a very comfy mattress, and a down comforter. It even featured a large closet , which is very rare in hotels these days. The bathroom was small, but had all the amenities we could want.

All the staff were so nice from the gatekeeper to the maids! It was much better than home with so many activities to enjoy. Our son thought the pool was wonderful until we explored the grounds and found so much more to do. We loved riding the catamarans. (Can you believe they were FREE for an hour each day?) We paid $20 to have one of the guides give us a sailing lesson and it was money well spent. You could also make use of the kayaks for an hour for free. They have croquet, horseshoes, ping pong tables, a putting green (eqpt. provided free), card games, and bikes (Free rental for one hour a day, then $10 an hour afterwards), and they'll even provide you with fishing gear and a free bucket of bait, too. Take your tennis and golf equipment to enjoy the courts or the greens. (they will rent equipment, too.)

Be sure to look at the daily recreational schedule that is delivered outside your door each morning. You can take a horticultural tour of the grounds, a tour of the chef's garden, a bike ride to the Civil War Cemetary, play UNO with other guests, and have an opportunity to parade around the grounds with the crew that fires the cannon each day at 4pm to commemorate war veterans. Although, you'll find it very hard to leave the comfort of the swings or your lounge chair on the beach.

Yes, it will be very difficult to leave the hotel grounds....but you won't want to miss visiting the lovely town of Fairhope, either.

When you get to Fairhope, stop by the visitor center for a brochure/map of the shops and businesses in Fairhope, pick up the local restaurant menus, and visit their clean restrooms. Sign the visitor book, and they will mark your hometown on their wall map. If you're visiting on Thursday, don't mis the downtown market!

Guy Fieri (host of Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives on the Food Network) recommends eating lunch at Panini Pete's in the French Quarter and so do we. The prices were good, the food was plentiful, and tasty, too. When they suggest cookies or beignets...go ahead and try them, you can always walk off the (very delicious) calories while you visit the wonderful shops of Fairhope.

Families with kids will love Papa's Pizza (can you believe we paid $14.99 for an extra large 16in. 3 topping pizza!) It's not a fancy place, but it was very interesting, quite clean, and the pizza was delicious!

Buck's Diner was a quiet and refreshing place for dinner. They offered a meat and 2 veggies plate that was good. We loved their fried green beans appetizer, too. It was a little more expensive for dinner, but my husband says that the macaroni and cheese made it all worthwhile. Their sign says open 'til...but when we called, they said they're usually "open 'til" 9 or 10pm.

As for the shops, we found it difficult to leave the comfort and convenience of the Page and Palette book store. You could find wonderful snacks in their cafe/coffee shop, as well. If you're here during the week, watch for their art classes.

This hotel was SO RELAXING that we didn't even need the spa. We really could have stayed longer. There was so much to do that we couldn't fit it all in to our 3 day stay. We we will definitely visit again very soon.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING! So many activities (mostly FREE!), so little time!
  • Disliked — smallish bathroom...with dark shower, but it was very clean and well furnished!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We had a great stay on a recent mid-week visit to the Grand Hotel. We liked the fact that the hotel wasn't full . The town of Fairhope was similarly uncrowded. Our room was in the Spa building. We enjoyed the marina view from our balcony. We took our own bikes because we rode a lot. The room rate includes one hour per day bike rental (after that it's $10/hour). There's a nice sidewalk to Fairhope, a very pretty town with flowers blooming everywhere. The rose garden and fountain in front of the municipal pier were fabulous. The hotel's own grounds are lush and manicured. April is a nice time to visit, before the south Alabama heat and humidity sets in. We did not use the spa or eat at the resort. The pool was beautiful and having an adults only area is a good idea. One last note- the Wash House Restaurant ( a nearby place) was a disappointment.

  • Liked — The grounds and views.
  • Disliked — Ok- the pillows on the bed were too small.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

We are a family of four - 10 year old and 16 year old kids. We had a great time. For a little more we rented a marina view room. The room was spacious and clean and the grounds beautiful. My wife and daughter used the spa and report that the services were pretty good -- although my wife indicated that the massage was not up to her NYC standard. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We especially liked to rent bikes. You can ride into Fairhope, a nice artsy town about three miles from the hotel. We also took a family horseback ride arranged by the concierge that was a lot of fun. The outdoor pool is great for kids, and the gym was well equipped for that morning workout. The science museum in Mobile was a nice family activity. Sunsets on Mobile Bay are truly majestic.

If you are driving at night take 98 to route 44 and make a right, then make a left on scenic 98, the entrance is a few yards up. We took scenic 98 at night soon after exiting highway 10 and got really lost.

Hotel restaurants were ok, but the consistency was not great and it will cost you. I liked the buffet breakfast ($19 per person). My wife was a fan of the bread pudding at dinner. Room service is, as always, expensive and inconsistent. I think it is worth a short drive to try some of the local restaurants – we liked Sandy’s sandwich shop in Fairhope.

Beware, June through August get pretty hot and humid in the gulf.

  • Liked — The room and grounds
  • Disliked — Room service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Review of Marriott’s Grand Hotel and Spa (Point Clear Alabama)

With the choice of any where to go!

I read many reviews about this hotel that were favorable.
So off we went for weeks stay….which is usually to long for me at a Resort Hotel….
Upon arrival we noticed an abundance of help waiting to assist with anything we needed….
Everyone was dressed proper, spoke English, well groomed.
That may sound surprising but after traveling for a few years I’ve noticed many Hotels becoming very laxed in attire.
During check-in I asked about upgrade, but none available.
Also my room was not ready despite requesting early check-in
3:00-3:30 pm….
Off we went to Bucky’s Birdcage Lounge. Lunch was very good as was the continuing service. About one hour later the room was ready.
The Spa Building.
The room is comfortable with a king bed and great bedding, pillows etc. The bath room is large enough for soaking tub and stand alone shower. Of course all the shampoo, shower gel, and lotion, is supplied.
The view was over the fountain and garden area. My choice would have been Marina view….
House keeping was good; they never got in the way.
The first night we dined at the Grand Dining Room. The food was good. The presentation was better. (You must understand we are from the New Orleans area and food is everywhere) but it was Good.
The morning buffet goes on forever…

Getting back to our room, I smelled smoke (cigarette) in the hall way….I didn’t make an issue at this time…
The following morning we had full breakfast in room….It was on time and correct. Also it was good.
Leaving the room that morning across the hall on the floor was a drinking glass with many cigarette butts and still smoking! sitting there!
Off I went to the front desk. My approach was simply.
My name is_______.
My room is_______.
My issue is_______.
Your choice is. Move me or move the smoker!!!! Now!!!
They immediately verified the issue and assured me of the Marriott No Smoking policy..
They sent someone of authority to fine $250.00 and remove the smoker…
Very well done…..
I never spoke of the issue again….This is a great policy.

My wife and I spent the next 5 days using the spa for many treatments…
Resort spa reviews are hard to find, but after several visits to this facility here goes.
For a 20,000 sq.ft. spa. I think most of it is the pool. The sauna and steam rooms are smaller than other resorts I’ve visited. The showers are just showers (no high pressure jets or rain shower heads)
The retail shop in the spa could be larger.
The workout room has new equipment.

We have traveled Europe, Canada, Central and South Americas as well as many other locations. (For what ever that’s worth.)
On occasion you will find someone and something special….
This place has a few that SHINE!
Claudia Tirado , massage therapist, this woman has a gift.
She performs a treatment called Ashiatsu - Asian barefoot massage.
This program will send you to another world…..
For myself I’ve had hundreds of programs world wide and none compare to the work done by Claudia. This is a must do! This is a must do! This is a must do!!!!
Someone else in the Spa was Al Agee he is the assistant for the men visiting the spa. He has been with the Hotel for over 45years!
He can tell you, WHAT IT WAS LIKE! And WHAT IT IS LIKE TODAY…. Working at the Hotel (Its different but not in a bad way) Stories about special people and special times.
Everyone everywhere on the grounds were very helpful.

I did get to play golf. Marriott is currently building a new clubhouse. When completed I am sure it will also be one of the best along the gulf coast. (The course was OK) the Bermuda grass was very tight.


As with most Marriott Resorts many employees have name tags and home locations….
Regardless where you are from , the GRAND HOTEL RESORT AND SPA, is truly a Marriott to visit regardless where you call home.
WELL DONE!!!!
WITH RESPECT
M. Russo III

  • Liked — quality
  • Disliked — at this time I can't find any! Ok the TV needs updating....
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

This was a fantastic getaway! The hotel was beautiful, our room was spacious, newly decorated with lovely linens and appointments. Everything was done to make our stay enjoyable. The staff was friendly, helpful and made an effort to be courteous and attentive. The grounds were beautiful and well kept and of course the sunsets were breathtaking. We had dinner in the Grand Dining Room and the food was delicious with a beautiful presentation. We would go back to this lovely hotel without hesitation.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel in a fantastic setting
  • Disliked — We couldn't find anything negative about this hotel.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

My husband, our 16 and 12 year old sons, and my parents spent a few days at the Grand the week after Easter. As always, the experience was magical. The beautiful gardens were in full bloom, the sunsets over the bay were spectacular, and everyone found something fun to occupy the days. Rooms were great, and the food was well above average.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Address: One Grand Boulevard, P.O. Box 639, Point Clear, AL 36564
Location: United States > Alabama > Point Clear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Clear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a stunning AAA Four Diamond beach resort in Point Clear, Alabama, the exquisite Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, one of the most stunning hotels the Gulf Coast has to offer. This resort boasts two challenging golf courses as part of the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, a luxurious 20,000-square-foot European-style spa, 10 tennis courts, a fabulous array of exceptional dining options, and a sizeable marina for sailboats, yachts and fishing boats. Overlooking scenic Mobile Bay, we are a proud member of Historic Hotels of America and boast 37,000 square feet of elegant meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club Point Clear
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marriott Point Clear
Point Clear Marriott
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Point Clear, Alabama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.