We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge at Gorhams Bluff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on Gorham's Bluff

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pisgah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge on Gorham's Bluff
Save
You added Lodge on Gorham's Bluff to your Saves list
101 Gorham Drive, Pisgah, AL 35765   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pisgah B&B and Inns
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lodge at Gorhams Bluff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a girls' weekend out. We had the only room with two beds (so plan ahead). The lodge is out in the middle of nowhere on a bluff overlooking the Tennessee River. Spectacular view from the balconies. Ours had two rockers and a table. Enjoyed sitting each evening and watching fishermen on river. Room has a rock fireplace for winter and is quite large with very large windows and lots of natural light. Has two very comfortable chairs by fireplace where you can totally enjoy being lazy. Downstairs is a beautiful sitting areas and the small but elegant dining area. (You can have all three meals here if you elect to do so.) Areas around the lodge has many upscale country houses , as this is suppose to be a property for weekend second homes. However there were few people around so felt a bit isolated. There is a nice pool here just across the way. Food was good and there is a chef. Coffee is brought upstairs and placed on a buffet at 7am and you can walk down the hall and get a cup to bring to your room. Now, about the flip side: first there is no elevator or anyone to help with luggage so you must wag your own stuff up to the second floor. My friend could not so I carried both. There is no TV in the room or phones. That's fine with me but not for everyone. At night, the lighting in our room was not good. My friend could not read by the light and I could barely do so. The draperies are lovely but do not block the moring light so if you require a dark room for sleeping this will not work. Bathroom has jacuzzi tub and shower combo which is fine but only body wash is offered, no bar soap, and I don't like the slippery, slimy feel of that. (I know, small but at a highly rated place like this I would expect a choice.) Staff is nice and they always spoke to us but their trainning level for this type of lodge was, in our opinion, below par. The server was a very young person who removed the dirty dishes by stacking them up on each other at our table. She twice forgot to bring silverware for our soup or oatmeal. Filet was wonderful. Strawberry shorcake was some kind of breadlike offering with ice cream. Not my idea of strawberry shortcake.So did we like it and who should go? Yes we liked it. For what we wanted it was fine. (We wanted a unique place to day trip from and one where we could retun about 5pm and relax and enjoy the surroundings.) Dont come if no TV or phone is a problem. Ditto things to do, day or night. You will have to drive about one hour to Chatanooga or Huntsville, which for us during the day was fine. Dont bring kids. No room service but there is a guests pantry where you can walk downstairs and get free drinks, ice cream and packages snacks. Other than the pool and walking, there is nothing to do but relax. This is a hidden away place that is very private and quiet. Unplugg and contemplate or, day trip. Just depends on your needs I guess. It is in Pisgah, AL. If you do go here, go to Scottsborrow to the Unclaimed Luggage Store. It's a lot of fun for a few hours.

Room Tip: appears that all the rooms overlook the river and have balconies but you might be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
59
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 39th anniversary here this weekend. This lodge is one if those timeless places. It is not old but it is made to look like it is and the whole place is so inviting and comfortable. We would have checked out the trails had it not been 103 degrees but it was nice and cool inside.
The lodge rooms are furnished with reclaimed furniture that adds a nice homey touch and each room has a private balcony overlooking the river. Paintings and books abound at this place and the staff makes you feel so welcome.
The food is out of sight and us worth the trip for sure even if it is a little pricey. We met the chef after breakfast and he sent us home with tomatoes from his garden even!
We will definitely be back in cooler weather maybe fall to enjoy the foliage and the fireplaces.
This is one place that is defintely worth finding, seeing, staying, dining, and enjoying.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff is not easy to find, but it is well worth the trip. The directions on their website were clear and accurate and they had signs posted on the roads as we got closer. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. (Our only complaint was low wattage bulbs in the lamps.) We enjoyed great meals and the views from our room over the Tennessee River were awesome. We were sorry when it was time to go and hope to return soon

Room Tip: We stayed in the Woods Suite, a corner room with 2 queen bed, two armchairs and a hassock in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Needing a much needed weekend of quiet and relaxation, my husband and were pleased to find Gorham’s Bluff – a beautiful lodge sitting atop Sand Mountain outside the sleepy little town of Pisgah, AL. What a find this place was! With a spectacular view of the Tennessee River, the lodge itself houses 6 suites but if you need more privacy, there are 10 cottages around the property that you can rent. My husband and I stayed in one of the cottages. It had all the amenities of home and then some. It had a quaint living room with kitchen and full bath downstairs. The upstairs was a king bed room with full bath. The furnishings were luxurious. The whole place was impeccably clean and it was truly hard to leave at the end of our short weekend getaway. The lodge’s restaurant should be a destination itself, but we were delightfully surprised at how it compares to some 5 star restaurants we have eaten at in much larger cities. I am surprised that the executive chef Keith Izydore is tucked away in this little countryside lodge restaurant. Culinary talents such as his are usually enjoyed by big city restaurant diners.
We would recommend this secluded lodge for anyone wanting to get away from it all and relax. Definitely eat at the restaurant. You will not be sorry. Be sure to watch the sunset behind the lodge – breathtaking!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Tennessee River, you might want to stay in one of the Lodge's suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at Gorham's Bluff and really enjoyed it. At first we worried there wasn't much to do, and then we were thrilled there wasn't much to do. We sat on the bluff and looked at the river, we rode bikes along the bluff, we had a picnic on the bluff and we walked along the bluff. The breakfast, boxed lunch, and dinners were outstanding. The other guests were very friendly. There were tons of books to read, and we went swimming twice. It is a 2.5 hour easy drive from Atlanta, and we highly recommend it for a get-away-from-it-all trip.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the third floor are hugh, but don't have porches. The four on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I have been to Gorham's Bluff many times, and I can't wait until the next time we can get back there. Ever since our first awe-inspiring glimpse of the view of the Tennessee River valley off the bluff, we have been in love with this magical place where time seems to stand still as your worries fade away. We have stayed in the lodge and rented cottages. Both alternatives are charming. We have come to prefer the cottages where we can spread out and sit outside on our own private porch and relax, read, soak up the sun, or just watch the world go by at a lazy pace.
Meals at Gorham's Bluff are an event. It is not an overstatement to say that the food is easily the best food I have ever had. Breakfast and dinner are served in a small dining room by attentive staff in a comfortable atmosphere. The boxed lunches are fabulous.
At Gorham's Bluff you set your own pace. If you want to be active, hiking, biking, and swimming are just outside your door. If you want to sit and relax, you have a fabulous view in every direction.
Finally, we love the staff at Gorham's Bluff. They are attentive and cordial and very attuned to their guests' needs and preferences. On one of our visits they overheard me mention that I preferred a certain table in the dining room. Now every time we go, that table is reserved for us! They always do their best to make each visit unforgettable. The combination of unmatched natural beauty, well-appointed accommodations, and friendly staff make Gorham's Bluff our go to destination for long weekends. It's the best kept secret in Alabama!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We enjoyed a night and day. They had a mid-week special for $94 if you also take the American Plan meal package (4 course dinner, breakfast and box lunch). We really like the rooms, for a bed and breakfast it was not decorated in foo-foo Victorian. They have antiques but clean and simple. The building was built as a bed and breakfast so it is not cobbled together, squeezing a bath out of a closet, etc.
The building is on a huge cliff with a nice view of the Tennessee river far below. Most rooms have a big outdoor balcony to sit and drink your coffee.
The really outstanding part of the visit is the food. You must come famished. For dinner, I had rainbow trout. I seldom order trout because most chefs do a lousy job of de-boning them. This trout had nary a bone and was wonderfully seasoned. My wife had a huge piece of pork that she said was wonderful.
Breakfast and the box lunch were also fantastic and more than we could finish. We took half the box lunch home to eat tomorrow.
There are also cabins available but we didn't look at them. They would be nice for families. They discourage children in the lodge.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, think about getting a second floor room if you are not a little athletic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on Gorham's Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Gorham's Bluff

Address: 101 Gorham Drive, Pisgah, AL 35765
Location: United States > Alabama > Pisgah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pisgah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lodge On Gorham`s Bluff Hotel Pisgah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on Gorham's Bluff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.