We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in Ladonia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 13th. Street Barbecue

13th. Street Barbecue
1310 7th Ave, Phenix City, AL
334-291-1833
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Phenix City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Ladonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We buy our BBQ pork by the pound here at least 2x a month and have always enjoyed it. It comes with bread and plenty of sauce. I like the sauces, although I prefer the mild the best. I have tried the cole slaw and baked beans and the brownies. Good southern fare.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not good enough to be ranked #1”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We had been meaning to visit this restaurant on previous trips. We finally made time this trip and were very disappointed. We usually steer clear of counter order restaurants but gave it a go anyways. Food was bland and the sauces were poor at best. Portions tiny for the money. Will not repeat this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not my flavor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

While the place was busy, it wasn't my style. The ribs were small with little meat. The pork was dry. The chopped beef had bits of bone and cartlidge in it.

I'll try Mike and Ed's next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great BBQ. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Great BBQ cooked perfectly. I have eaten here for almost 15 years now and the signature pork chop sandwich with hot is awesome and my favorite. The 'with' is with slaw and hot sauce.

Or you can get a plate with chopped sized bites or sliced with bread to sop up the sauce.

Or another favorite is the Q tater with inside meat and it comes with a sprinkling of cheese, wow tasty.

If you want to try good BBQ in a modest setting with the local population, Enjoy the original 13th Street BBQ!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pork chop sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I love the pork chop sandwich, it is one-of-a-kind and something you don't find very many places. Another favorite is the giant barbecue tater that is a baked potato topped with pork barbecue. Accommodations are meager, but the food is excellent and it is a great value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 13th. Street Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to 13th. Street Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 13th. Street Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.