We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   240 Vaughn Lane, Pell City, AL 35125   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pell City
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for a while for business. There are not a lot of options in Pell City, it's basically either Holiday Inn or one of the two neighbours.
The rooms are large and similar to any other holiday inn express room. Take a room on the third floor because they are a bit larger. During my second stay I had a room on ground floor and I could hear the people above me walking around clearly.
Breakfast is self service, very limited choice and the same every day, so that became boring pretty quickly. It is also served on disposable styrofoam plates and plastic cutlery which I really hate...
They don't serve dinner. For either breakfast or dinner you can go to Cracker Barrel next door but the only place in Pell City I would recommend for dinner would be the Tavern (closed on sunday and monday).
The service in the hotel is very good with very helpful and friendly staff.
Rooms are equiped with a fridge and microwave.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be noisy. 3rd floor rooms are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
7
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here due to its central location between clients. The hotel backs up to the interstate but the noise was not a problem. The room was a decent size. The WiFi was very slow. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, even in suggesting a good dinner location one or two exits down the road.

Room Tip: Stay on the front side to avoid interstate noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stay here during work week every once in a while . People here are friendly and the hotel is clean. Plenty of places to eat near by with a Walmart across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

It was a nice unit.Located near Walmart and some nice eating places. We headed to Izod Indy race and this was very close and cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years. The first thing you notice about this hotel is how clean it is when you walk through the front door. It smells nice and lemony fresh, and the front desk attendants are always smiling. Check in is very quick and easy, and the rooms are always clean and fresh. They're a little small, but if you're travelling alone, it's no problem really. Until recently, I've had no issues at all with this hotel. However, the past couple of times I've stayed there, I've had two complaints. First, the beds have recently begun to sag and get very lumpy. Also, the mattress pads they use are not "fitted", so they tend to bunch up during the night, making it very uncomfortable to sleep on them. I haven't had a very good night's sleep there in awhile, I kept trying to tell myself that it couldn't be the same with all the beds in the hotel, but unfortunately, it seems that it just might be the case. The other issue I've had is with the temperature control. It is pretty much impossible to get the room at the right temperature. It seems to take forever to get it cooled off, and then you wake up during the night with icicles hanging off your nose. I've tried everything I know, and I've even called down to the front desk, but it's just very hard to control the thermostat.

One other thing I've noticed... the cost of the room at this hotel is the same as a 4 star hotel in Birmingham. That just seems a little high, but maybe that's just me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Jennifer T,

I'm happy that you decided to stay with us, and I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. I am sorry you were not happy with the bed. you comments on the bed and the AC will be shared with the appropriate departments. We always welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thanks again,

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Nice middle of the road hotel just off of I-20 - stayed two nights while visiting family in PC. Comfy beds, wifi included (important) and nice, clean lobby and breakfast area. Delish cookies in the lobby each pm. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We always stay in HIE when we come to Pell City to visit family. Recently we had a hiccup in our stay, but the front desk staff got in contact with the manager and she was on the phone calling us at 10pm to make sure all was okay (we had just got in, so she didn't wake us or anything). The rooms are comfy and cozy. We used a crib during the stay,and it was safe(non drop side/appropriate mattress and sheet combo) for infants for parents like me worried about SIDS. They always have a smile on their faces here, and are willing to help. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pell City
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pell City
Hampton Inn Pell City
#1 of 5 in Pell City
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Pell City
Comfort Suites Pell City
#2 of 5 in Pell City
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Talladega
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside/Pell City
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Leeds
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lincoln
Comfort Inn Lincoln
#1 of 3 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City

Address: 240 Vaughn Lane, Pell City, AL 35125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Pell City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pell City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rev up your engines and gas up your boats because the newest addition to Pell City, AL is the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, conveniently located at Exit 158 on I-20 only minutes from Talladega Super Speedway and Scenic Logan Martin Lake. You can also feel The Power of Dreams at Honda Manufacturing located minutes away. This hotel is located midway between Anniston/Oxford and Birmingham, yet a small drive east to Atlanta and Chattanooga. All of our rooms and guest areas feature free high speed Internet access. In the morning enjoy our deluxe complimentary breakfast buffet that also offers hot items. After a long day of work or traveling on the road our facility also offers a business center to check e-mails or print presentations, a fitness center to work out any stress, an outdoor pool with whirlpool to just unwind and oversized suites and guest laundry. If you love golf, you ll love Pell City. Pine Harbor and the Pell City Golf Course are two attractive courses for your golfing pleasure. This beautifully appointed hotel is perfect for both the business and leisure traveler. BUSINESS:Honda, Talladega Speedway, Harley Davidson Testing, Adesa Car Auction HOSPITALS: St. Clair Regional, UAB Medical Center UNIVERSITIES:UAB, Jacksonville State University, Jefferson State Pell City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pell City
Pell City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pell City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.