We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nice like most HI Express hotels!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Birmingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Cahaba Valley Road, Pelham, AL 35124-1363   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Pelham
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Not nice like most HI Express hotels!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

No refrigerator, microwave, luggage rack in the room. Only 3 washcloths were provided to the four towels for 2 guests. The shower had a scum ring around it, toilet rim had hardened feces that looked to have been there quite sometime. Only one lamp in the entire room worked. When I reached to the bedside my hand stuck to something sticky not from our visit. The beds were hard and not comfortable. I have stayed at I HI Expresses across the US and they are usually very nice. This one needs to change it's name if they can't do any better than this. Also, the elevator sounds like it us about to take off for flight and the room smelled dank and musty. As a rewards member I was extremely disappointed. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear LadyTraveler79,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Club Member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations specifically with the cleanliness of the rooms and the condition of the room amenities as well as elevator service. We take great pride in keeping our amenities at tip top shape for our weary travelers. Kindly be assured that this matter will be looked into definitely be acted upon. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
10
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is showing a lot of wear and tear. The halls were nice and wide. The room was large and fairly clean. The popcorn ceiling in the bathroom is falling in and the bathroom set up is just weird. The dresser was small and we had to place our suitcases on the floor which is a major irritation to me. The breakfast was typical hotel fair, poor quality and too many sugar soaked carbs. The room had a nasty old ceiling fan that was covered in dust. The door had to be slammed shut with your shoulder to get it to close and lock. It's probably okay for the concert crowd attending shows nearby but the business crowd probably would want to go on into Birmingham around Hwy 150 or Hwy 280.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear RollTideRoll423,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the condition of our property fell below your expectations. We also apologize our breakfast selections was less than satisfactory. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked this room without first checking TripAdvisor. We were passing through the area and needed a place to stay, and I booked Holiday Inn Express just based on previous experiences with the brand.

Like many of the other reviews, I did not find any real problem with the hotel. It was well located just off I-65, easy to find, several restaurants and other services nearby. Check-in was easy. The hotel looks nice from the outside.

If this hotel were branded as a Days Inn, or something similar, I'd give it a really good review. For a Holiday Inn Express, I thought this hotel was showing its age relative to others I've visited. We also found the bed to be less than comfortable - pretty hard, actually - and I found this to be in direct contrast with how Holiday Inn Express markets itself (comfortable beds and a good night's sleep).

Breakfast was good, and honestly we were mostly satisfied with the stay, but the level of comfort was lacking for what I expected from the Holiday Inn Express brand.

The

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear KBrew74,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel from the highway. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied enough with the condition of our property and you found your bed to be uncomfortable. We assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is my second stay and second review of this hotel. We stayed June 30 2013 passing through again going to Florida. We got in right away when we arrived early with no issues. The lady at the front desk was polite and the service was fast same as last year. The room was of average cleanliness nothing great but wasn't nasty. The gym if you can call it a gym is still a joke, it only had the same three very old pieces of equipment. The pool was only ok also it's kinda small and is very humid and has a moldy smell in the room. The elevator was kinda of a worry this year though, it had a very heavy hydraulic fluid smell in it. There was a few drops of oil on the upper right side of the doorway, and stuttered when going up. Overall the hotel is nothing great but for an over night stay its ok. The staff is nice and you get the free breakfast in the morning, which is typical cheap hotel food but it works.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear FFM9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First off, I'm a little surprised by the negative reviews of this hotel. I'm pretty picky about hotels, and thought this was a nice property. It's not perfect, but the staff makes up for it.

We stayed here for one night on our way through Birmingham, and it is conveniently located right off 65.

The "great": The front desk staff (wish I remembered her name!) was amazing. Very polite, checked us in very quickly and with a smile, and was genuinely kind. The amazing part is that we asked if she knew of any local parks our kids could play in for the afternoon, and she not only told us about a great park, but wrote down directions for us to make sure we'd get there. This might not sound like a big deal, but I'm used to receiving this level of service only in much more expensive hotels. On a completely unrelated note, the free breakfast at this hotel is also above expectations -- warm cinnamon rolls, pancakes, biscuits, bagels, scrambled eggs, etc. The staff keeping the breakfast stocked and the dining room clean did a nice job keeping everything stocked and clean.

The "good enough": The hotel itself isn't as new and fresh as other Holiday Inn properties we've stayed in recently, but the room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the tv worked. That pretty much covers my list of requirements for a moderately-priced hotel for the night. There is also an indoor pool that was clean and a hit with my son.

The "meh": Those hair dryers that stow in on the wall in hotel bathrooms are junk, and have only one setting: 3rd degree burn. That's about the only real shrug I can think of about the room or the property. Oh, and the rooms have typical hotel window a/c units that can be a bit loud if you set them to freeze the place.

Conclusion: For around $90-$100 all-in, this was more than adequate for my family. We would stay there again if we happen to be passing through Birmingham.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

While not completely horrible, this hotel is sub-subpar compared to neighboring hotels in the area. The bathroom was not the cleanest, the hallway smelled like an automotive garage ( from the elevator maintenance that was occurring ) and the ONE elevator the hotel has was out of order when I arrived. It made a horrible noise so I took the stairs every time.

Only stayed here because the client I was visiting set up the reservation and other neighboring hotels were full.

Surprised this hotel has the Holiday Inn Brand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Travel2010Guy,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. I want to assure you that the issues you have raised about the undesirable smell in the hallway has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel itself is pretty shopworn, and we had to move rooms twice because the fold-out sofa for the kids was filthy and torn. The bathroom in the second room was dirty. The front desk clerk was very apologetic and friendly about moving us to a new room. We slept well, and breakfast was on par for what I expect from a HIE.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear ChrisK6884,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the room conditions. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham

Address: 260 Cahaba Valley Road, Pelham, AL 35124-1363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Pelham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Pelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Pelham/Riverchase. Our goal is to meet and exceed your expectations with Southern Hospitality and clean, well-kept facilities. Start your day with a complimentary Express Start Breakfast, including our Famous Cinnamon Rolls and Smart Roast Coffee. The hotel features 81 well appointed, non smoking interior guest rooms, High Speed Wireless Internet, 1400 square feet of flexible meeting space, fitness room, coin laundry and indoor heated swimming pool. If that s not enough we also offer a complimentary workout at the deluxe Power House Gym.Here in Pelham/Riverchase we sit at the foot of beautiful Oak Mountain State Park, which has a golf course, fishing, and petting zoo. The hotel is also adjacent to the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater which features today s hottest entertainers. We are also located near the exclusive Balantree Golf Course.After a long day you can relax at one of our local restaurants which include O Charleys, Applebee s, and 2 Pesos. We are also within walking distance of many favorite fast food restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Hotel Pelham
Holiday Inn Pelham
Holiday Inn Express Pelham
Pelham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.