We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for stopping for the night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Birmingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Cahaba Valley Road, Pelham, AL 35124-1363   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Pelham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel for stopping for the night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My 4 year old and I stayed here while we were on our way back to Fairhope. It was close to the interstate and surrounded by restaurants. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. My daughter's only complaint was that it didn't have a refrigerator. I was happy that the wifi worked so she could watch a show on my kindle before bed, since there wasn't any cartoons on tv. The lady helping at the breakfast area did an awesome job, she kept everything full and fresh, and cleaned the tables promptly, plus she was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
10
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I should've known by the almost-vacant parking lot that this place wasn't worth anything. That, or the $65 (too good to be true) price for 2 double beds. We walked into our room and saw a cleaning rag left on the desk. GROSS. My husband swiped it off to the floor. The room was fine. Nothing to write home about, but nothing more. After returning home that night, we couldn't get into our room our key card wasn't working. I went downstairs, and had to WAIT for the person on duty got done smoking her cigarette! Only when her boyfriend walked through the door and said "pshhhhh (to get my attention), she's coming" did I know that this was in fact the person on duty. (WTH??) After trying to go to sleep that night, and being awakened to people stomping above us from midnight for an hour, I decided that it was a crummy place. The walls were thin, and people had no respect for others at that hour of the night.

After a horrible night's sleep, my husband went downstairs to get coffee, and had to WAIT IN LINE FOR THE STAFF TO GET THEIR COFFEE! This is unacceptable!

However, I will say that the breakfast buffet was better than I imagined.

Overall, I would've been more disappointed had I paid $90 for a king bed, but wouldn't stay here again. I would've stayed in Hoover, near the Galleria, as I originally wanted. There's something to be said about paying for comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a nice Holiday inn express. It was clean, and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was decent. You can't beat the location if you are going to a concert at Oak Mountain Ampitheater. It was very noisy in the halls after the concert, but that was not the hotel's fault. They did have a bit of security in that guests were asked to wear armbands so that could make sure that people belonged there. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave. There were plently of restaurants nearby. I'd definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here as a last minute change of plans. Very nice Lobby and breakfast areas. Rooms look a little dated but has been modernized enough for us. One night stay was perfect. There are plenty of choices for dinner in the immediate area. The hotel has quick access to the interstate and Big Truck parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here, July 28, and were not impressed. We are Priority Club members and try to at Holiday Inns when we travel. This one does meet the standards I have come to expect. Upon arrival they were 5 individuals sitting by the front doors with a stack of about 18 empty beer cans and they remained there late into the night. Not exactly what I want to walk my two young kids by every time we walk in and out. The hotel was clean but seems to be completely outdated. A massive renovation needs to be done. No other Holiday Inn I've been to had this old feeling to it. The pool was extremely cold and my kids were not able to swim. The rooms were stuffy and just had the feel of an old musty motel. The two pros to the hotel were the staff, who were polite, and the breakfast, which was nice. I can honestly say, my standards are not too high to stay in a place like this, I've stayed in worse, but this is a Holiday Inn and needs to resemble one. We stayed at two other Holiday Inns on this trip and the prices were comparable, but that was it. We will be traveling through the area again but will choose a different place next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph MO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Had to stay here last minute, staff was courteous, friendly and helpful, room was clean. Breakfast staff was great, lots of selections that we're fresh and good! We really enjoyed and would stay again!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed on July 14 2012 overnight with the family on the way to Destin. Check in was fast and easy, the front desk girl was polite. Our room was just a normal hotel room nothing out of the ordinary there. It was clean and it looked as though all the carpets had just been steam cleaned. The bathroom was large but was lacking an exhaust vent for some reason. The shower head was actually nice, large range and pretty powerful. The beds where comfortable but you noticed that slight roll to the middle, which means its about time to replace them. The hotel had free wifi which was actually slower then my service from AT&T on my iPad. A pool that looked decent but was crowded so we did not use, but the exercise room was a horrible joke. I usually work out 4-5 times a week, not here though. They had 2 treadmills and one exercise bike. The one treadmill was not working and the one that did sounded like it was going to fall apart. The equipment looked like it was from when the hotel opened. Free breakfast in the morning which is the normal cheap hotel food nothing great. Fake eggs,waffles,cereal,muffins, cinnamon rolls,biquits, gravy, bacon,yogurt and milk, juice and coffee. Other then the exercise room my only real complaint would be the lack of drapes in the room. We stayed on the ground floor and the drapes do not close, there is only a white sheer. So at night the huge parking lot lights, which look like something from a baseball stadium shine through the sheer. The room was pretty much lit up all night, that made it hard to fall asleep. Although easy to make it to the bathroom at night since no other lights are needed. For a normal hotel it was average, I would stay again if I was passing through and wanted some place familiar. If they setup a better exercise room and fixed the stadium esque lights by giving closable drapes it would be a better hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham

Address: 260 Cahaba Valley Road, Pelham, AL 35124-1363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Pelham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Pelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Pelham/Riverchase. Our goal is to meet and exceed your expectations with Southern Hospitality and clean, well-kept facilities. Start your day with a complimentary Express Start Breakfast, including our Famous Cinnamon Rolls and Smart Roast Coffee. The hotel features 81 well appointed, non smoking interior guest rooms, High Speed Wireless Internet, 1400 square feet of flexible meeting space, fitness room, coin laundry and indoor heated swimming pool. If that s not enough we also offer a complimentary workout at the deluxe Power House Gym.Here in Pelham/Riverchase we sit at the foot of beautiful Oak Mountain State Park, which has a golf course, fishing, and petting zoo. The hotel is also adjacent to the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater which features today s hottest entertainers. We are also located near the exclusive Balantree Golf Course.After a long day you can relax at one of our local restaurants which include O Charleys, Applebee s, and 2 Pesos. We are also within walking distance of many favorite fast food restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Hotel Pelham
Holiday Inn Pelham
Holiday Inn Express Pelham
Pelham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.