We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to the Holiday Inn standard.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Birmingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Cahaba Valley Road, Pelham, AL 35124-1363   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Pelham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to the Holiday Inn standard.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here, July 28, and were not impressed. We are Priority Club members and try to at Holiday Inns when we travel. This one does meet the standards I have come to expect. Upon arrival they were 5 individuals sitting by the front doors with a stack of about 18 empty beer cans and they remained there late into the night. Not exactly what I want to walk my two young kids by every time we walk in and out. The hotel was clean but seems to be completely outdated. A massive renovation needs to be done. No other Holiday Inn I've been to had this old feeling to it. The pool was extremely cold and my kids were not able to swim. The rooms were stuffy and just had the feel of an old musty motel. The two pros to the hotel were the staff, who were polite, and the breakfast, which was nice. I can honestly say, my standards are not too high to stay in a place like this, I've stayed in worse, but this is a Holiday Inn and needs to resemble one. We stayed at two other Holiday Inns on this trip and the prices were comparable, but that was it. We will be traveling through the area again but will choose a different place next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
9
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph MO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Had to stay here last minute, staff was courteous, friendly and helpful, room was clean. Breakfast staff was great, lots of selections that we're fresh and good! We really enjoyed and would stay again!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed on July 14 2012 overnight with the family on the way to Destin. Check in was fast and easy, the front desk girl was polite. Our room was just a normal hotel room nothing out of the ordinary there. It was clean and it looked as though all the carpets had just been steam cleaned. The bathroom was large but was lacking an exhaust vent for some reason. The shower head was actually nice, large range and pretty powerful. The beds where comfortable but you noticed that slight roll to the middle, which means its about time to replace them. The hotel had free wifi which was actually slower then my service from AT&T on my iPad. A pool that looked decent but was crowded so we did not use, but the exercise room was a horrible joke. I usually work out 4-5 times a week, not here though. They had 2 treadmills and one exercise bike. The one treadmill was not working and the one that did sounded like it was going to fall apart. The equipment looked like it was from when the hotel opened. Free breakfast in the morning which is the normal cheap hotel food nothing great. Fake eggs,waffles,cereal,muffins, cinnamon rolls,biquits, gravy, bacon,yogurt and milk, juice and coffee. Other then the exercise room my only real complaint would be the lack of drapes in the room. We stayed on the ground floor and the drapes do not close, there is only a white sheer. So at night the huge parking lot lights, which look like something from a baseball stadium shine through the sheer. The room was pretty much lit up all night, that made it hard to fall asleep. Although easy to make it to the bathroom at night since no other lights are needed. For a normal hotel it was average, I would stay again if I was passing through and wanted some place familiar. If they setup a better exercise room and fixed the stadium esque lights by giving closable drapes it would be a better hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Pros:
Close to several restaurants, inexpensive, friendly staff

Cons:
Awful workout room, less than clean rooms

Have stayed here twice (five nights total) for business. Forget going for a run in their workout room. The treadmill refused to move any faster than walking speed. During my trip it was raining and it started raining inside my room. The window was letting in so much water that the carpet was soaked and puddles were forming.

At least the staff members I dealt with were friendly, the breakfast was included and the rooms were quiet. It could have been worse. That said, I will be staying elsewhere on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear GoGetemTiger,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I'm pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel as well as our friendly staff. I deeply apologize that our workout facilities and your room accommodations fell short of your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fletcher
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This property is in an great location with many types of eateries within 1/4 mile. The rooms are very nice and it is right beside the concert venue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this Holiday Inn two years ago in May. Loved it then. So this year we stayed once again!! Clean. Staff very helpful and kind. Room and beds excellent. Breakfast was great. Will stay again on return trips to Birmingham, AL. Easy access to everything.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Whatever happened to Holiday Inn? Has the chain decided to be a bottom-feeder when it comes to its Express offerings? If you aim for the bottom, you will surely achieve that goal. On check-in (about 5:30 p.m.) there was no-one to be seen. A couple of minutes later the girl who I passed outside on the portico came in and stepped behind the desk. Apparently she was going to finish her cigarette first and check me in second. Shabby! When I came downstairs to go to dinner about 1/2 hour later, the same girl was outside on the portico smoking - again. Reception unstaffed again. Really shabby!
On check-out this morning the night girl was ensconced in the guest lounge watching TV with what I assumed was another employee. She seemed genuinely miffed that I disturbed her viewing pleasure to surrender my card keys. She was in there over an hour as I was in what they laughingly term their business computer terminal for that amount of time and she did not move. Their business center is a PC along the wall in their lobby.
As hotels are upping their profiles and their offerings, Holiday Inn seems headed in the opposite direction.
Clean room, nice bed and TV. Free wi-fi. Bathroom was very dated with very low-end cabinets. Very much like a rental apartment. Good shower though.
Probably my last stay at a Holiday Inn Express. Sad to say.....

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Keith F,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations and the service you received from our staff was unacceptable. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27707023
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham

Address: 260 Cahaba Valley Road, Pelham, AL 35124-1363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Pelham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Pelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Pelham/Riverchase. Our goal is to meet and exceed your expectations with Southern Hospitality and clean, well-kept facilities. Start your day with a complimentary Express Start Breakfast, including our Famous Cinnamon Rolls and Smart Roast Coffee. The hotel features 81 well appointed, non smoking interior guest rooms, High Speed Wireless Internet, 1400 square feet of flexible meeting space, fitness room, coin laundry and indoor heated swimming pool. If that s not enough we also offer a complimentary workout at the deluxe Power House Gym.Here in Pelham/Riverchase we sit at the foot of beautiful Oak Mountain State Park, which has a golf course, fishing, and petting zoo. The hotel is also adjacent to the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater which features today s hottest entertainers. We are also located near the exclusive Balantree Golf Course.After a long day you can relax at one of our local restaurants which include O Charleys, Applebee s, and 2 Pesos. We are also within walking distance of many favorite fast food restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Hotel Pelham
Holiday Inn Pelham
Holiday Inn Express Pelham
Pelham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.