We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Elm St., Oxford, AL 36203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Oxford
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

It's obvious attention to detail is not practiced at this hotel. It's the small things that have ghe largest impact:

1. Guest Laundry: It was dirty and quite frankly, I was afraid to wash my clothes. A good wipe down of the machine would have been nice. I ended up washing my clothes somewhere else.

2. Vending: In the same dirty space as the laundry, very pitiful looking as well. No choices of snacks and the soda machine was either out of order or out of the sodas I liked.

3. Outside Lighting: Change the lights! It seemed 2/3 of the lights were burn out. It was dark at night in the outdoor corridors because so many lights were out.

4. Outside Trash cans: They were overflowing. Change them!

I stayed here for about a week because the nicer properties were booked up. I know why.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
7
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

I found this exterior entrance hotel to be very dirty and would not stay there again. The parking lot was trashy, Old dirty maid carts in breezeways, trash dumpster in plain view, outside lights broken and not working. Tub was so dirty that I put a towel in to stand while taking a shower.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, AL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

I had a very pleasant experience at this motel. The room was very clean, and the staff was very friendly and even recommended a great restaurant (Top o' the River).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

While travellng with my wife from Memphis back to Atlanta, we stopped at this Comfort Inn overnight. We had not booked in advance.
The room was excellent, a large double bed, On Suite, TV, Kitchenette, Wi-Fi internet, Tea and Coffee facilities. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. The Girl on check-in was very pleasant and helpful. All this and a light breakfast for $65 (about £48)
Excellent value.
Roger Fenna-Manchester, England.

  • Liked — The Clean room and Staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

This particular Comfort Inn had an OK room, but the tub had a rectangular mold stain from the tub mat. The bathroom light didn't work. Also, when I went down to the front desk, the lobby stunk bad like it was moldy. I approached the front desk clerk on it and she said the carpet probably needed cleaning. I was thinking "ewwww" and we're supposed to eat here in the morning??? Then she said it was probably the wastewater treatment plant across the street. Double "ewwwww"!!!! We decided to eat at IHOP, which was awesome. By the way, the Comfort Inn at Geneva, IL smelled great. Too bad they are so dirty in the south!

  • Liked — Room was comfortable
  • Disliked — The poor bathroom facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

I stayed at this Comfort Inn while on the way to the NCAA Basketball Tournament in Birmingham. This motel was about 15-miles east of the Talladega Superspeedway and about 55-miles east of downtown Birmingham. This Comfort Inn still features outside access to the room rather than access from interior hallways. My check in was quick and without any problems. The front desk staff was polite and very knowledgeable about the area and was able to provide directions to nearby restaurants. My room was located on the second floor and there is no elevator. The room was clean and quite comfortable. This motel offers wireless high speed Internet that worked very well. The nearby sewage treatment plant was rather ripe when I arrived but once inside my room I never notice the odor. This was my second stay at this motel, previously stayed here in 2003 and found that this motel had not changed much. Both stays were nice and if traveling through the area I will most likely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The near by Sewage Treatment Plant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALABAMA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

the hotel is close to walmart and several places to eat , very close to the quintard mall....the cleaning staff was very friendly and the room we got was good ...it was clean and smelled clean...that can not be said for the sewage treatment plant across the road. if you are looking for a pool for the hot weather, theirs is very small and could use a lot of work.

  • Liked — close to the mall
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 138 Elm St., Oxford, AL 36203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Oxford
Oxford Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.