We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flippers

Flippers
5749 Bay LA Launch Ave, Orange Beach, AL 36561-4138
(251) 981-3547
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 119 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Next to Dolphin Express and some other dolphin seeing cruise boats. The seafood was very, very fresh....Excellent.
MISSISSIPPI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived early for dinner and only one other table was occupied. The waitress did not give her name. The appetizer of fried portabella mushrooms was tasty. The entrees of scallops, paneed grouper, fried shrimp and steamed shrimp were average to slightly above average. The waitress was either new or not that good of a waitress. The location is really good. The free homemade ice cream was delicious. The restaurant would do alot better with a well trained wait staff. It was also annoying to see all the wait staff sitting at one table near the door, Our waitress would come to our table then go sit back down with the other employees. When we left, 2 other waitress were outside sitting on a tailgate of a truck, smoking. As others have commented, food was better than the service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    52
    20
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

No_photo_small
August 19, 2012
Edit
Good food, poor service
by RachelK (1 review)
First time trying Flippers. I had heard good reviews on food but not on the service. Pretty much dead on review from three separate couples. At first glance I thought I had found a new favorite spot......not so much. Beautiful view of the bay, while sitting in uncomfortable plastic chairs. I looked at the menu and it looked good. Decent start. Waitress came up and wasn't the friendliest. I could have understood if it was busy but we were there early and it wasn't busy. We waited for our drinks for about ten minutes. She may have been the bartender too so maybe that's why it took a while. We finally ordered our food and when it came it was well presented and good but our salt and was stuck together and the waitress didn't come back to give us a new one. We finally grabbed one from another table. The bugs got a bit much and we decided to skip dessert. To bad they didn't offer spray because we would have stayed for dessert if we weren't being eaten alive. All in all the food was good and the service wasn't. Plenty of places in the area that have the combination of great food, service, atmosphere. Flippers isn't one of them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Flipper's is adjacent to the Dolphin Tour Boats. We took the late Dolphin tour and decided to eat at Flipper's after the cruise. We were told we would have a 20 minute wait. We ended up waiting 50+ minutes. One of our group inquired as to why others who had arrived after us were seated and they were told someone had already been seated under our name. The food was good and the table service was adequate but we didn't get any refills. The price of the meals was average. This place needs a different way of seating people. There was no plausible explanation given as to why we were not seated in a timely manner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best and most affordable seafood on our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We came across Flippers while looking for affordable seafood restaurants in the area. We will definitely be going back here on our next trip! The location is great. It's out of the way, yet still on water. Sit out on the deck to enjoy watching the boats in the marina. The sweet tea was delicious and every meal we ordered was delicious as well! The food was all very fresh and very well seasoned. The price was unbeatable! We paid more for po boys and fries at a place on the beach earlier in the day! Their homemade ice cream is a nice treat at the end of the meal. It's definitely homemade and a must have. We recomended this place to friends and will be planning on eating here again on our upcoming trip back to the coast.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best seafood of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Excellent seafood and great atmosphere as it is located on a marina. There is a small outside bar on one end that had a band playing a mixture of good sing-a-long music. The bar seemed to be filled with locals, which are always the best! We took our children and they had a great time as well. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flippers also viewed

 

Been to Flippers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flippers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.