We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express the last two Thanksgivings with two younger children. Being transplanted Yankees - being able to be on or around a beach in November is a novel trip. My kids absolutely love this place - especially the pool. I enjoy the pool area - hot tub is decent, and the beach access is easy. The beach is wide, sandy, and very nice.

We have had no issues with the room - it's not luxury, but is nice and comfortable. When we have gone, the hotel was not very full, so we had the run of the place for the most part. Breakfast was convenient and just ok...not a ton of variety or flavor honestly, but it is plentiful and easy.

Location is very good - quiet stretch of the beach area but short rides to the hubbub of Gulf Shores and Orange Beach business/shopping district.

Overall we love this place and have made it a regular trip - looking forward to another trip this Fall!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Chris W,

It is so great to hear that you have made our hotel your place to stay in the area and that you and your family have such a great time with us. Our staff will be so happy to hear of your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Christina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    128
    67
    32
    17
See reviews for
172
136
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were pleased with our stay here. The room was very clean, the breakfast was great with a wide variety (be prepared for a line though and limited places to sit), and the staff was excellent. The breakfast staff were constantly restocking food and the front desk even called our room to make sure we had everything we need. The WiFi is not the best, but I've read that they are in the process of fixing it. The only cons I have is our room was next to the linen and at about 8:30 in the morning the cleaning staff would be talking pretty loudly outside our door. Other than that, this hotel is very good and I was very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Alabama_Fan1816,

Thank you so much for your candid review about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. I will make sure to celebrate with the staff your feedback. I will also make sure to address with the staff that we need to be more mindful of the guest rooms around the linen closets so we are not disturbing our guests. We hope to see you again soon

Christina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I arrived really late to the hotel after a very long drive and was really quite put out to find out that the car park cannot handle all the cars that need to park there. I was circling for ages to find a space and nearly had to fight another car for the one i finally got. I'm not sure if this is because non guests park there and aren't removed or if there just isn't enough space. Either way, it's annoying not to be able to just take the car out and pop back expecting a space. I had a similar experience the nxt evening when i came back from my day out. As the hotel is on a dual carriage way, you have to take it out to get anywhere and this was very inconvenient.

The hotel was a bit dark and tired and when I arrived three receptionists ignored me for a good minute or two. When I was looked after though, they were very efficient and quick and I was upstairs and in my room quickly.

The room was fine, standard for the brand, it is more expensive, but that is Orange Beach and for what it was and where it was, right on the beach, it was reasonably priced. The pool is small and was full early morning but the beach is gorgeous, you have to pay for sun loungers tho and no beach service from the hotel.

There is a small hatch, known as the pool bar, where you can buy beer and snacks, there is also a little shop for chips and chocolate tho it all closes pretty early - 7pm.

The breakfast area is fine, but cramped and when I went i had to wait for a table, with people spilling out into the reception area to eat. The hotel was full and i'm sure this is probably not the case out of season.

The staff were friendly tho and it was an enjoyable experience and for the money, good value on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Travellingbluebell,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with candid feedback about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had issues with the parking and that the Guest Service Agents were not attentive at first and not welcoming. Please be assured that I have personally coached our staff in ensuring every guest has a parking pass and that the parking lot is for our guests only. We strive to ensure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel and it is because of candid feedback such as yours that we can improve our service to our guests. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to provide you with a great memorable experience.

Christina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bluff, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great stay with a full breakfast . Very clean . Beautiful view and good location . I would highly recommend to family friends and couples ! Staff was super friendly . Pool was very clean , had beach access and beach showers with a bar and hammocks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi JessicaD,

Great stay is what we love to hear from all of guests after their stay with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and the beach. We hope you come back to see us again soon.

Christina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon and was very impressed with this hotel. The location is wonderful and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful (even signed a card from all the staff and gave us a little honeymoon gift). The pool is one of the best I've seen at a Holiday Inn property. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Sperry8302,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your honeymoon and we are so happy to hear that you had a great time. We will make sure to celebrate your great comments about your stay with us and celebrate a job well done. We hope you come back to see us again soon.

Christina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I read several very negative reviews on this hotel and almost cancelled my reservation. Glad I didn't! The room was very clean, bedding was extremely comfortable, pillows were nice! Room had a fridge, microwave and the usual small coffee pot. The hotel was very busy but the elevator waits were not too long. There was a nice breakfast area and the breakfast was very good. The selections offered would please anyone's cravings. The pool area was nice and a pool bar was open for several hours during the day. Leaving the pool area, you were directly on the beach! Beach access was wonderful! Chair and umbrella service was available. Rentals ran $25 for 2 lounge chairs and umbrella for the day. There were a few negative items...the air would have been more comfortable at a lower temp in the hotel. The hallways were warm. Also, the ice makers were obviously not large enough to handle the guests at full capacity. The staff were very nice and attentive. The location of the hotel was great. Would stay here again. The positives outweigh the few negatives!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Darlene W,

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to create a great memorable experience despite the reviews you had read. We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay despite a few bumps in the road. Please be assured that we are working very hard on a solution to the inside temperature of the hotel and the ice machine issue. Thank you again for letting us know how your stay was and we hope you come back again soon to see us.

Christina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We first came because of a free points stay and have been going back for 8 years! This weekend was no exception! The staff is outstanding, the rooms always clean and no matter where you stay the view is breath-taking!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi tjinAlabama,

You cant' get any better than being the favorite hotel on the beach. That is so amazing to hear and that you have been coming back for 8 years. We are so happy and excited that you shared such an amazing feedback with us. Our staff will be very happy to hear of another great year that you had with us. We can't wait to see you again soon.

Christina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach

Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Holiday Inn Express beachfront hotel in Orange Beach, Alabama, everything’s as pretty as a postcard. In our little corner of the world, the sand feels soft as sugar, and the water calls your name with every wave. Jumping into the Gulf of Mexico is like sipping a cool glass of lemonade, only sweeter. When you visit us, you’ll feel like you’ve found a long lost friend. Find out for yourself what the locals have already discovered … that every day can feel like paradise on the Gulf Coast of Alabama. Steps from our door, you’ll find as much or as little recreation as you desire. So whether you choose to lie in the sun or make a splash in our beachfront pool, our hotel is the perfect place to lose an afternoon (or five). We’re close to popular local attractions in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, Alabama, including the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville USA, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Our Southern hospitality will make you feel right at home. So come on down and see us, y’all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.