We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer stay.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Summer stay.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Property is nice, well kept. Check in was a nightmare. We arrived and was told it would be about 3 hours before our room was ready so we gave them our phone number to call when it was ready. Ran out of things to do so came and sat in the lobby and watched family after family after family check in while we waited and waited and waited. Phone call never came and we were not notified our room was ready even after we told them we would just be waiting in the lobby. Staff at front desk have a huge "I don't give a darn attitude." After we finally went BACK to the front desk and were told our room was ready we went to room and then went to the beach. The beach bartender Billy was extremely nice and friendly. So this calmed our ruffled feathers quite a bit, giving us a little better feel about things. The next a.m. in the breakfast area we needed some help and this very nice black girl, I didn't get her name but she had long pretty kinda wavy/curly hair helped us. Even though breakfast was officially over and she didn't have to she went to great lengths and trouble to help us with a problem we were having. Really wish I had her name because you really appreciate the ones that go above and beyond when you are treated the way we were by the front desk staff. Not sure if I'd come back though.....watching all those families go in ahead of us while we waited for hours was very irritating.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid review about your recent stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We have addressed the issues with our front desk staff and management staff . It is because of comments such as yours that tell us how we can improve our service to our guests. Again, I apologize that you did not have a great experience and I hope you give us another chance in the future to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    124
    63
    31
    17
See reviews for
162
134
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned home from a 4 night stay with my family of 4. We have 2 small kids and this hotel was more than enough room for us. We had a gulf view king bed. Has sink area with microwave and small fridge. Bathroom was more than spacious! Staff were excellent. everyone was so nice and accomadating. Grounds kept exceptionally clean. My kids loved the pool with the walk in area. Not overcrowded at all. The poolside bar was a plus. Snacks for the kids and drinks for us. The bartender, Billy, was awesome! He always had popsicles for the kids and was our favortite staff at the hotel! Will definitely be returning to this place. We were so sad to leave

Room Tip: Gulf view room is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at our hotel. We will pass along your kinds words about your recent stay with us to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Originally booked this location in June of 2012 for my 3 kids and me. Fell in love with this place then and booked again for this year. Just returned home yesterday from Orange Beach and have to say that I am just as impressed! The room was more than accommodating for the 4 of us which includes a fridge, microwave, and coffeepot. Plenty of cabinet space to store snacks and what not. Balcony had a breath taking view of the Gulf. The pool, which is basically 2 pools, is great. Along with the hot tub. Upgraded this year to a Gulf view room and loved it. Property is right on the beach! Just walk thru the pool area and you are there. Great poolside snack shop and bar with very decent prices. The free breakfast in the mornings is wonderful, including eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast, English muffins, yogurt, cereal, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, and other things. Truly a full breakfast! Located right next to souvenir shops and across the street from great restaurants and family fun arcades, minigolf, gocarts, and much much more. The hotel staff is very friendly and very accommodating as well. Only complaint is that it's not closer to home (Kansas City) for us. We will for sure be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are so very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us. We will definitely share with our staff your kinds words about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just know what you are getting here. This is an older, dated hotel that's best feature is that it is directly on the beach. Hotel has an odor about it and rooms are small and dated and most don't face or have a view of the Gulf. Pools and spa are ok although not large but they do face the gulf. AC is loud and vent needed cleaning. Hotel was full so breakfast was crowded and ice machines couldn't keep up. Breakfast marginal and not worth much.

We won't be staying here again. Rooms are resort priced but this is no resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid review about your recent stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We have addressed the issues with our line level staff and management staff as well. It is because of comments such as yours that tell us how we can improve our service to our guests. Again, I apologize that you did not have a great experience and I hope you give us another chance in the future to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived on vacation one day early and called to see if there was a room available for the evening. Much to our delight, they had a room and gave us a discount! The room was roomy and clean. It included a couch, desk, nice TV, coffee maker with coffee, micro & fridge. The bed was ultra comfortable. It stayed nice and cool all through the night. A full breakfast was served the next AM. Best of all? It's right ON THE BEACH! There are shops, restaurants in walking distance. NOTE: There's also two pools and a gift shop. If we didn't like to cook while we stay in Florida, we would stay HERE all of the time.

Room Tip: You'll probably have to pay premium, but try to get a room on the Gulf Front! Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid review about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved our stay. The staff was very friendly. The pool area is awesome!
Two pools & a hot tub right on the beach. You can't get any closer to the beach than here.
Michael helped us find things to do in the area making sure we enjoyed every moment we spent here. He is an asset to this property. We WILL be sure to come back next year!

Room Tip: Book a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so happy that you had such a great time with us. It is also nice to hear that our staff was very helpful in answering all your questions. We can't wait to have you stay with us again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I had this hotel for 4 nights around July 4th weekend. We arrived at about 2:45 pm, hoping for an early check in to no avail. That's okay it was our risk, but being told that we are guaranteed check in by 4pm we dealt with it. Long story short, we didn't get the room until almost 4:30. That is the only complaint I have. The rest of the stay was excellent. The staff top to bottom were accommodating including mgt, front desk, beach dude, bar, housekeeping. I'm not fond of condos, so having my hotel on the beach is a major plus. Rooms were great as well. Weather was not good but there were other activities to do. If you go to the outlet mall I would recommend taking the toll road. it does cost $3.50 but the time savings can be up to an hour on rainy days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday weekend with us and were able to also enjoy the surrounding area and attraction. We will defiantly make sure to pass the good word around to the staff. They work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy the time they are here with us and it is always good to hear that they did a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach

Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Inn Express, On the Beach in Orange Beach Alabama every day feels like paradise. You'll find miles of white sand beach and the emerald blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico steps from our door. Our beachfront location offers private beach access for swimming and lounging. We also offer a beachfront pool with hot tub and and pool bar.We're centrally located near attractions such as restaurants, deep sea fishing, parasailing, wave running, shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall, concerts at the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Amenities include beachfront outdoor heated pools & hot tub; seasonal poolside tiki bar; free breakfast; private beachfront balconies; free wifi; free parking; HDTVs; 24 hour business center; 24 hour fitness center; 920 square foot meeting room; sundries shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.