We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on beach at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Beach Service Deal
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Orange Beach
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on beach at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just stayed here for 2 nights to visit other family members that were visiting the area. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are a great size with a love sofa in them. The rooms have a mini fridge and microwave which was great. They do provide a breakfast that is OK, not anything special, but good for a quick bite in the morning. I think our experience might have been different had other guests not arrive while we were eating in the pajamas. I think maybe the hotel should have a dress code for the eating area. Really people.... Anyway, check in was very easy and the hotel staff were very friendly. We didn't get to use the pool area but hopefully next time we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the candid review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. The pool and beach are a great place to relax and catch some sun. You should check it out in October, it's still warm outside but with less of a crowd! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    107
    53
    22
    14
See reviews for
139
115
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleburne, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here during spring break. Great location, fantastic beach, good amenities , helpful staff. This orange beach location was fantastic. Will stay here again. Great bang for my hard earned buck!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your AWESOME comments about our hotel and your stay. Your comments will be celebrated with the staff at the hotel. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights during spring break. We had a gulf front room which was well worth the extra money! The pool was heated and was enjoyed by all. The hotel was well maintained, had free parking and was easy to find. We picked this hotel primarily because of its size; we were looking for a smaller hotel that was on the beach...this hotel met those needs. Our room was visited daily by housekeeping and there were always plenty of pool towels when we asked. There is an onsite laundry room and excercise room. There is a pool side bar available as well. A free breakfast was included daily; I do suggest you go to breakfast earlier rather than later. This helps to beat the crowd and insure fully stocked items. My only suggested improvement is to make the housekeeping staff aware of the number of guests staying in each room. We had four guests and every day we were only left three sets of towels; this meant I had to go to the front desk everyday to get one additional set of towels.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a gulf front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing and honest review. We are so very glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation here with us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridianville, Alabama, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I went to Orange Beach, AL to celebrate our 10th anniversary, which was during the week of spring break...for every child in America apparently :-) We chose Holiday Inn Express because A) we are Priority Club members and B) we are smokers and they have smoking rooms. The room was your typical Holiday Inn room. Room was clean, microwave, fridge, coffee pot, TV, remote, alarm clock - all worked fine. We even had a balcony that we could see the beach from - side view.

However, being the smokers that we are: there were no ashtrays in our room when we arrived so my husband called the front desk and they were very nice saying that they would get us one soon. It took until 4p-ish the next day to get an ashtray and it was one from the souvenir shop next door. It struck us as odd that a hotel that offers smoking rooms would have to go BUY an ashtray for us. But we got one. I was tempted to keep it but figured the next guest might need it.

Housekeeping left much to be desired. They would come very late or we'd have to find a housekeeper to ask for our room to be cleaned. We didn't get new coffee pods and stirrer packets and the coffee pot wasn't cleaned during our stay. We ran out of tissue and it wasn't refilled. They aren't show stopper issues but did bug me a bit.

Overall, our vacation was nice and the hotel was decent.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 302 - smoking and literally right around the corner from the elevator. Keep the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us an honest review. We apologize for any inconveniences experienced during your stay. I will take this review back to our staff as a learning opportunity to better our customer service skills. The next time you are in town, please look me up or email. Mboler@innisfree.com, I will make sure you and your family have a wonderful time! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, La
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for several days in early March, before the rates changed for summer. There are pros and cons regarding its location. The biggest pro is that its right on the beach! The con is that its a small motel sandwiched in between a high rise condo and a garish looking souvenir shop. The beach is lined with nonstop condos, which for us really detracted from the natural beauty. The busy four lane highway in front runs through Orange Beach and Gulfshores and I can imagine that in the summer when a lot of the condos are full, it would be a real hazard to cross. If your looking for a more relaxed, natural beach experience, I would keep going a little further east to Pensacola Beach.
If you can get past the touristy, high rise nature of this area, this hotel has a lot of positives. It was clean and well run and staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was above average. Rooms were standard but did have a micro and fridge. A nice balcony overlooked the heated swimming pool and further beyond, you could see and hear the ocean. A seafood restaurant is right across the street (walk fast to avoid the traffic!) and it proved to be better than we expected. The rates for the room were quite reasonable, especially if you go before or after the peak season. If we went back to Orange Beach (not likely) we'd probably stay here again

Room Tip: If at all possible, get a room with a balcony overlooking the gulf. Worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the candid review. Should you come back to the Orange Beach area, we would love to have you here with us. Thank you again and safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay during Spring Break week. Had wanted a condo, but found they all have 3 night minimums. We were impressed with all aspects of the hotel. Staff are incredibly friendly, and do an excellent job of keeping the guest areas (lobby, hallways, pool area) impeccably clean. Loved that there is a laundry room for guests. It was nice to be able to pack fewer items knowing we could just wash them as we needed to.
The pool area is very nice. Two adjoining pools (one that is zero entry for little kids), and a hot tub. Best part was that the pools really were warm. Some hotels may advertise a heated pool, but these pools were actually heated and quite comfortable in mid-March! The location on the beach is fantastic! Just outside the pool area is the beautiful white powdery beach. We loved that our room overlooked the pool and gulf - it's worth the little bit of an extra charge to have the view.
So glad we stayed here, and will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am so happy and pleased to hear you had a great experience at our hotel. Your awesome comments will be passed down and celebrated with our staff. Thank you gain for your awesome comments and we look forward to hopefully seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is a little difficult to find. It is the shortest building amid rows of high rise condos. There is a bright pink souvenir shop next door, which worked as a landmark. Checking in was a breeze. The staff were very accommodating. Our room was small for two adults and two teenagers, we were literally on top of each other. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean. The bathroom was basic was clean and plenty of towels at hand. The front desk told us that beach/pool towels are available at the front desk in the mornings, but we have had to ask for towels in the afternoons a few times and there were always towels at hand. Breakfast was good - sausage/bacon, biscuits, gravy, cereals, pancakes breads and lots of juice and coffee. and it did not run out on the guests. The beach is literally a few steps away from the hotel, which had it's own access to the beach. It was windy when we came down and the hot tub got plenty of use from us. The hotel is close on restaurants and other amusement along Hwy. 59. It is also conveniently close to a Walmart, CVS and Rite Aid for quick emergency pick ups. There is a bike lane that runs on Perdido Blvd. Unfortunately, we did not see the bike rental shop until we were driving home.

Room Tip: The higher the better; if within the budget, get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the candid review. We appreciate your kind words along with your honesty. Bike riding along the beach is a great outdoor adventure and we hate to hear that you were not able to experience that. The next time you come visit us, look me up! I have great recommendations for fun things to do and amazing restaurants for lunch and dinner. Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity to be of service again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach

Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Inn Express, On the Beach in Orange Beach Alabama every day feels like paradise. You'll find miles of white sand beach and the emerald blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico steps from our door. Our beachfront location offers private beach access for swimming and lounging. We also offer a beachfront pool with hot tub and and pool bar.We're centrally located near attractions such as restaurants, deep sea fishing, parasailing, wave running, shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall, concerts at the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Amenities include beachfront outdoor heated pools & hot tub; seasonal poolside tiki bar; free breakfast; private beachfront balconies; free wifi; free parking; HDTVs; 24 hour business center; 24 hour fitness center; 920 square foot meeting room; sundries shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.