We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Huntsville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We went to Orange Beach for Thanksgiving vacation and so I could run the Kaiser Realty Half Marathon. What a nice experience! Very friendly staff, beautiful location and close to a number of things.

We had a beach front room with a great view of the ocean. The room had a balcony with plastic patio furniture for sitting and eating. Nice touch. The continental breakfast each morning was plentiful. The beach was beautiful and clean and I even went for a swim in the ocean then took a dip to warm up in the hotel's hot tub.

There are nice restaurants within walking distance to the hotel including Bubba's Seafood House (great seafood-shrimp and crab). Within driving distance on Perdido Beach Blvd. try Cafe Grazie. You can also try Cosmo's on Canal Road.

Just a short drive to the "wharf" there are some great restaurants and shopping. Try Villaggio Grille and Ginny Lane Bar and Grill.

Golfing at Gulf State Park was nice - $50 per person with cart rental.

Would go back! Holiday Inn Express in Orange Beach is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We love it when our guests enjoy their stay with us and take full advantage of the area around us. We will most definitely pass on your compliments to our staff and look forward to the opportunity to be of service again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    116
    58
    30
    15
See reviews for
153
123
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were only in the area for one night, but I am glad that we chose this hotel. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. The small balcony had furnture to allow for sitting and relaxing with a veiw of the beach and water. There is a nice heated pool and hot tub, which we did not use on this trip, but it will be nice to remember in the future. Also there is a nice walkway out to the beach.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not notice any issues with the elevators at all.

We look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: I think most rooms have at least a view of the beach and water from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thats great. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Next time you visit, plan to come during one of our annual festivals like the National Annual Shrimp Festival or the Hangout Music Festival. These are a blast! Lots of fun things to do, and where there is fun there is great seafood to follow!!! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We usually rent a condo when we go to Orange Beach, but we could not stay the required 3 night minimum, so we booked a room here. We stayed here the weekend after Labor Day. It was a very pleasant surprise. Room was a nice size with a very small balcony with a glimpse of the Gulf. Just after checking-in we had a problem with an overflowing toilet, but maintenance was there in less than 5 minutes. The room more than met our needs for a two night stay. Pool area was small, but nice, but too many smokers. We spent our day on the beach.

I must agree with the others on the noise level, but it is a problem with many hotels. I just don't think that others (both guests and staff) realize that other people can hear them. There was also a long wait for elevators.

The hotel was at 100% occupancy on our first night, so the breakfast area was a nightmare that first morning. There was nowhere to sit and when a table was available it was filthy. There was a very limited amount of food (due to not restocking) and the two workers could not keep up. There should have been at least 3-4 workers with this type of crowd - just one to keep up with the tables. The second morning was completely different - lots of room with clean tables & a good food selection.

I love Orange Beach and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay even though you experienced some issues. Your comments are very helpful and appreciated - I will definitely share your concerns with our management team to see how we can improve the quality of our guest's experiences. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale, Mississippi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My family stayed here at the end of September 2011 for three days. We had a great time and the hotel was perfect for our needs.
The Good: Location-The hotel is right on the beach (Convienent fresh water shower on boardwalk leading to hotel,) and near several restaurants. Rooms had balconies. Friendly staff that seemed to know what they were doing. Fantastic pool area that kids loved. Kids also loved the pancake machine during breakfast.
The Bad: Breakfast-Tables were limited and food items were snatched up like quickly (I solved table problem by eating on balcony.) Elevators-Sllooooowwww.... Read three paperbacks waiting for it to show and another two to go from the third floor to the first. Take the stairs whenever handy. Internet-I couldn't get internet the whole time I was there.
The Ugly: Parking-Parking can be a tad tight and the hotel guests "creative" parking don't help. I drive a Ford Excursion and didn't have a problem so you shouldn't either. Big problem was seeing numerous guest taking two spaces and one guy with a camper taking up an entire section. If you stay here please be conciderate to other guest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the southern side to get the best view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am happy to hear our hotel was perfect for your family's needs. We really appreciate getting feedback regarding our guests stay - Good, bad and ugly feedback. I will share your review with our management staff to see how we can better our guest's experience here at the Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach. We hope you will come back to visit us again - Call us direct so we can make sure you get a great view - Ask for Suzanne or Mistianne in the sales department. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here during my wife's graduation ceremony for 3 nights.
Pros:
Easy Access to roads, shopping, and food. all within walking distance
On the beach.
Lots of parking
Front desk staff was cheerful and helpful
Rooms were comfortable, neither small nor large.
Cons: :
Noisy, we were close to the elevator and the cleaning staff would stand in front of our room and talk for at least an hour every morning
Breakfast, there was the normal HIE hot breakfast except for the meat dish. Normally there is bacon or sausage, neither was available. It felt like the hotel was trying to save a little money by cutting corners.
It was a good stay, nice location and nice hotel. The service was good but not up to normal HIE standard. But, if you going to the gulf coast, you will not be disappointed in the hotel.

Room Tip: Room number above 17 face the ocean, all other has a view of the ocean but not a direct view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIOB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for your honest review. Please know that it’s with the great feedback, such as yours, that we work to improve. You can feel confident that I will share your kind words of encouragement with my Front Desk Team and have already taken action to STOP the noisy discussion that occurred in front of your room. My name is Jason Nicholson, I’m the General Manager. Please feel free to call me anytime to secure the best room in the best location for your needs. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville va
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

staff most accomodating for an early check in and late check out...was using priority club points which may have helped but staff from front desk to housekeeping and maintenance were all very helpful and friendly...room was nice and typical holiday inn size etc...adequate small balcony for my rooom which was on side of hotel since that was one assigned for those using points... still could see the gulf ok...breakfast was helpful but room was very crowded with so many families there...good family location! would stay here again if in area definitely..

Room Tip: had room on west side of hotel but still had ok view of the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope everyone had a great time and we look forward to the opportunity to be of service agian very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Checked in with no problem, the rooms are nice, with coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave. Has a small balcony to sit on. Nice swimming pool and hot tub, on the beach. Free breakfasts are wonderful! We are having a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you so much! We are so glad to hear you are enjoying your stay here with us. This time of year is perfect for a weekend family get-a-way. We look forward to seeing you guys again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach

Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Inn Express, On the Beach in Orange Beach Alabama every day feels like paradise. You'll find miles of white sand beach and the emerald blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico steps from our door. Our beachfront location offers private beach access for swimming and lounging. We also offer a beachfront pool with hot tub and and pool bar.We're centrally located near attractions such as restaurants, deep sea fishing, parasailing, wave running, shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall, concerts at the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Amenities include beachfront outdoor heated pools & hot tub; seasonal poolside tiki bar; free breakfast; private beachfront balconies; free wifi; free parking; HDTVs; 24 hour business center; 24 hour fitness center; 920 square foot meeting room; sundries shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.