We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25400 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Orange Beach
Orange Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Comfortable beds. Extremely small balcony, good view. Good breakfast. Loved the pool deck facing the beach area. Location of this hotel is awesome! CVS, Subway, Groceries, many more places within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    85
    48
    27
    27
See reviews for
68
76
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta ga
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel was very nice and so were the employees. The front desk employee offered to upgrade our room from the 2 double beds at the back of the hotel to a king size bed at the front of the hotel with a small balcony (no furniture but a good view of the ocean). Check in was smooth and quick.

Hotel provided towels on the first floor for the beach/pool area.

Hotel had a free breakfast with waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, milk, sausage and pastries but we did not eat. It looked very good though compared to many continental breakfasts offered.

Room temperature: Easily controlled


Room size: The room was small but not like being in a box. We could move around without falling over each other. The room was very clean, as well as the bathroom.

Wifi: They offer free wi-fi, however, it is not on the standard of your mid-size box hotels (Hampton Inn). It was very difficult to get a connection, keep the connection. The connection is not secured.

Pool Area: The pool area was very clean especially considering there were a few soccer teams staying in the hotel. Plenty of lounge chairs available. The pool is small, but adequate especially since the ocean is at your backdoor. It is literally a step off the pool area.

Ocean Area: The hotel does not provide chairs or umbrellas (those on the beach are for the condos next door). Bring your own chairs, umbrellas and large beach towels, if you are going to be at the beach all day. Also suggest a cooler for your favorite beverages.


Con: Don't get a room near the elevator because you will hear it especially during a busy time. We were there during a soccer tournament.

We would go back, and suggest it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the oceanview that have an actual balcony with chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel was very nice and so were the employees. This is the first hotel at the beach I have ever stayed at that provided towels for the beach/pool area. The breakfast that was provided was better than any I have ever had a hotel free breakfast bar and the lady that worked it Betty was excellent. She was constantly stocking the waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, milk, sausage and pastrys and cleaning. The only issues I did have was housekeeping but not terribly bad just some missed tasks. I would recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked 6 nights here based on experience with other Choice Hotels. Well, what a surprise! The website says pictures are from before the remodel--wow. I would hate to have seen it before! The lobby is tiny with a narrow hallway to the back that was packed with hollering adults and kids. The elevator was HOT and miserable. Then we got to the top floor. Hallway carpet was FILTHY, and it was dark and narrow. As others have said, the room was TINY! The only remodel we could see was new bedding (duvet-type) and new, colored paint. Oh, and perhaps a new sink/vanity. The tape and bed in the ceiling texture was cracking and falling down. There was mold in the ceiling corner. Oh, and did I mention how hot it was in the room although the a/c was turned all the way to cold?! We made a quick decision and went down the road to the Island House Hotel. They were very willing to accommodate us--and for only a slightly higher room rate. Believe me, it was WORTH IT! We came back to Sleep Inn and told the desk clerk we weren't staying. Fortunately she backed it out of the system and din't charge us or boy, the fight would have been on. No way would we pay for such a dump when we didn't stay there! Don't even waste your time considering this place--it's an embarrassment to the Choice Hotels chain.

Room Tip: Don't even consider this place--it's awful! And most rooms DON'T face the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A couple girls and I decided to come to the beach for a few days. We arrived here and the staff was pretty friendly. No complaints there. We got one of the carts to load our stuff. Boy was it a small one. It didn't even hold 1/2 our stuff. You would think those things would be bigger. We get up to our room and get in and it was pretty nice. Saying it was SMALL was an understatement. lol That room, you barely had room to turn around. I was sadly disappointed there was only 1 chair and it was the chair at the desk. WOW! The room was clean, although the carpet felt VERY sticky. Good think I brought my house shoe flip flops because I would have kept my regular flip flops on the whole time. We had bought some sandwich meat and drinks to put in the fridge. After coming in from the beach we found that our fridge wasn't cooling. After trying to figure out the problem, we found that it wasn't even plugged in. That was crazy. Overall, the Hotel was ok. We had beach front so it wasn't a long walk to and from the beach. The elevators had NO A/C which was a bummer. I would recommend this hotel to others. We had a pretty nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on an Wed./Thur. nights and couldn't have been more pleased. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful. The General Manager was very cordial and checked us in quickly. From the breakfast area, lobby, and rooms are very modern. The breakfast itself had many different items to choose from. If you are looking for a hotel on the beach, I would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel experience was horrible. The room was TINY. When I say tiny, I mean unusually very small for a hotel room. The pictures on the website were very misleading. The bathroom light was out. The hallways and lobby smelled nasty and was very hot. The staff were anything but friendly. The breakfast was average. The elevator was down for most of our stay. The cost was unreal for what we got. The only positve thing I can say is that the location was good. One morning while walking to the stairway we saw the maids sitting in the floor in the main hallway folding linens-I mean what the heck? Terrible experince. Will never stay at Sleep Inn again!

Room Tip: don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort

Address: 25400 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Hotel Orange Beach
Sleep Inn Orange Beach Alabama
Orange Beach Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.