We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend getaway.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25400 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Berry, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Girls weekend getaway.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A couple girls and I decided to come to the beach for a few days. We arrived here and the staff was pretty friendly. No complaints there. We got one of the carts to load our stuff. Boy was it a small one. It didn't even hold 1/2 our stuff. You would think those things would be bigger. We get up to our room and get in and it was pretty nice. Saying it was SMALL was an understatement. lol That room, you barely had room to turn around. I was sadly disappointed there was only 1 chair and it was the chair at the desk. WOW! The room was clean, although the carpet felt VERY sticky. Good think I brought my house shoe flip flops because I would have kept my regular flip flops on the whole time. We had bought some sandwich meat and drinks to put in the fridge. After coming in from the beach we found that our fridge wasn't cooling. After trying to figure out the problem, we found that it wasn't even plugged in. That was crazy. Overall, the Hotel was ok. We had beach front so it wasn't a long walk to and from the beach. The elevators had NO A/C which was a bummer. I would recommend this hotel to others. We had a pretty nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    94
    51
    27
    30
See reviews for
76
82
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on an Wed./Thur. nights and couldn't have been more pleased. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful. The General Manager was very cordial and checked us in quickly. From the breakfast area, lobby, and rooms are very modern. The breakfast itself had many different items to choose from. If you are looking for a hotel on the beach, I would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel experience was horrible. The room was TINY. When I say tiny, I mean unusually very small for a hotel room. The pictures on the website were very misleading. The bathroom light was out. The hallways and lobby smelled nasty and was very hot. The staff were anything but friendly. The breakfast was average. The elevator was down for most of our stay. The cost was unreal for what we got. The only positve thing I can say is that the location was good. One morning while walking to the stairway we saw the maids sitting in the floor in the main hallway folding linens-I mean what the heck? Terrible experince. Will never stay at Sleep Inn again!

Room Tip: don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the two nights we spent at this beachfront hotel. The location is stellar; retail stores are conveniently across the street, and the beach is right out the back door. And what a beach it is! This was our first time to try out the Gulf Coast's sugar sand beaches, and we had a blast. We rented an umbrella and chairs (think it cost $20-25 for the day) and had the most relaxing time. We bought a couple of swim masks at the nearby Walgreens and spent hours checking out all the fish that would swim around us. When we were ready for a break, we just rinsed off and headed to our room.

Others have complained about the lack of a fridge and a bathtub. We had a cooler with us so we didn't miss the fridge, and the shower, although compact, was perfect for cleaning up after a day in the sand. And speaking of sand, this beachfront hotel didn't have the gritty carpets we've seen at other hotels so close to a beach.

Our only complaint would be the room size. Like most Sleep Inns, this one has really compact rooms: double beds (not queens), pocket door to the bathroom, not much space for suitcases. For our family (two parents and two teenagers), it was a little cramped, but because of the beach and other attractions, we didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

We plan to return to Orange Beach, and when we do, we hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: We did not have a gulf front room, but we were thrilled with the view from our balcony on the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

All I can say is that the sheets were clean and the a/c worked fine. But the entire hotel property looked like it needed a renovation 20 years ago. Dingy walls, filthy looking carpet, scars all over the walls/doors, cheap/worn out old furniture, small/thin towels, fire extinguishers missing, etc. It was $80 cheaper than any hotel in the area, but still way overpriced at $189. I was alone on business travel but my wife would never have stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. Check in wasn't until 3:00 but the nice woman at the front desk said we could use the bathrooms in the lobby and hang out on the beach or at the pool until our room was ready. It was way overpriced, but every hotel on the beach is outrageous during the summer. The balcony was small, like others have said, but it was perfect for two.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aid, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is not the Ritz Carlton, but Sleep Inn's are not supposed to be. The room was clean, the breakfast was good, the pool was fine, beds were acceptable, but the location was EXCELLENT.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted and check in was quick and flawless. We had a first floor Gulf Front room which had a large outdoor patio with four chairs. The bathroom was extremely small and the door would not lock, but it served it's purpose. If you want a safe place to sleep and shower at the beach with a free breakfast, the Sleep Inn is a good choice. It is not fancy, but it is adequate. The location more than makes up for the shortcomings of the building. Don't expect Sheraton, or Hilton, but don't expect it to be horrible either.

Room Tip: Get a Beachfront room. The view is worth the extra money. First floor beachfront rooms have a MUCH...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort

Address: 25400 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Hotel Orange Beach
Sleep Inn Orange Beach Alabama
Orange Beach Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.