We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Island House Hotel to your Saves list
The Island House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26650 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is located right on the beach, every room has a balcony. If you plan on staying a while I would suggest paying the extra $50/night for those rooms that have a refrigerator. The room itself is very clean and tidy. The staff was friendly but a little dry. The pool was nice with plenty sitting area. We will be returning maybe in the off season when the prices go down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the room was clean. The Island House Hotel hopes to see you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    83
    31
    16
    14
See reviews for
60
57
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

To me the value is what separates this hotel from the others. ~$200 per night for a guaranteed ocean view. (We searched about 7-10 other hotels). We loved sitting on the balcony. The pool was a nice break for the kids who could get sick of hacking up salt water. The service was great. The breakfast buffet was good. Their omelets (not included in the buffet) were fantastic. The hotel is situated pretty well in Orange Beach.
The parts they could improve on, the AC was annoying. We set it at 60 degrees and it still felt warm. The shower faucet was strange. Maybe it was broken? I don't know. The ice machines were hit and miss at best.
Other notes: If you want a fridge, you have to pay $20 per night. A lounge chair on the beach costs the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you had a wonderful time. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed the private balconies and we look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We loved this hotel. How can you not when every room faces the ocean?! The decor was "upscale beachy" and very clean. The pool was spotless and from our balcony we could see them cleaning it every morning. For the price, this gem was a steal. They still use actual keys to open up your room, but we found that kind of charming in a day where everything is technologically advanced!

Now for the cons...They really need mini-fridges in the rooms, past reviews state the same thing. It became a comedy of errors as you witnessed and partook in the traveling up & down of the elevators with others in search of ice from the machines (which were usually empty) on different floors.

Their restaurant was quaint, but had an odd vibe. Staff didn't seem thrilled...food was fair...seemed outdated and didn't match the rest of the hotel vibe. We heard they had remodeled their pool area, so maybe the restaurant is next? The bar was hidden and usually closed. At first, this seemed annoying, but ya know, for a family hotel, I kinda liked that there weren't a bunch of drunks in bathing suits parading around!! This hotel comes across quite classy!

The front desk staff was very pleasant but not very knowledgeable. Asked one female where we could grab a burger right on the beach and she didn't know. Huh??!! (we found it ourselves, Bahama Bob's was AWESOME, the Hangout had cool scenery--overrated food. Both overlook the ocean) We asked a gentleman how to get to a certain Dolphin Cruise (we showed him the flyer) and he didn't know. Front desk should be able to point tourists into those traps!! ;o)
Housekeeping was odd....they would completely change your sheets daily and take out the trash, replace towels..but wouldn't take away coffee mugs or other restaurant stuff left behind! So the room never looked 100% cleaned up. But to their defense....wow...never a trace of sand when we'd get back in! We had little kids and sand always ended up in our room!

Overall, we would totally stay here again despite the little quirks. We loved our time and the views can't be beat! Also, books and children's books in the lobby were such a cute touch. It was a great first-impression to visiting Orange Beach.

We miss it already.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your staying with us at The Island House Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Island House Hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

1. When we checked in the lady behind the counter was weather a thick leather choker.

2. Our first morning eating breakfast in the hotel restaurant, Barbara Walters, the hotel manager was conducting a business meeting at the table next to us. I had to listen to her complain about staffing issues my entire breakfast and talk business - exactly what I was trying to get away from.

3. Pieces of concrete are falling from the underside of balconies and metal rebar is exposed and visible while swimming in the pool.

4. Employees take their smoke breaks in front of the building where guests enter and exit.

5. A nail was sticking out of the boardwalk and hiding in a shadow. I offered to pull it up if someone gave me pliers. The lobby attendant told me she couldn't do that, instead she filled out a form and said building maintenance would handle it. I expressed my concern that a person would definitely stub their foot on it before then, and she said with gusto "I filled out a form, they'll handle it" and looked at me as if to say "go away now!".

6. All of the drink machines in the hotel were empty, but before going to a gas station I asked the lobby attendant if that was my only option, he said "if they're empty, they're empty". As I turned to walk away, he opened his soft drink can. Maybe he could have waited until I was gone?


Here's the thing, someone is going to write a comment below this comment and say something along the lines of "this is not typical, we do not operate this way, we're sorry for your experience". But every time I gave The Island House an opportunity to provide good customer service while I was standing right in front of them, they had no interest. So the comment below is pointless - they do not care about your experience. They took my money and wanted me to go away. I had simple requests and expectations from a hotel as listed above, and my requests and expectations do not align with this hotel.

Good luck everybody else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Island House Hotel. At the Island House Hotel we pride ourselves in 100% Customer Service and I am sorry that it was not to our standards. We are always upgrading and approving our building and our customer service team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I am a little disappointed with the room not having a microwave. I paid extra for a bigger room that came with a refrigerator, but still no microwave. We had a good stay and restaurant had good food with good service. The beach was clean and pool was too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Island House Hotel. I do apologize that you thought you had a microwave in your room. The only rooms at The Island House Hotel that have microwaves are the Penthouses. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

stayed here a few days for great time at the beach. clean rooms, right on beach although it is a wide beach to cross,all rooms face beach and nice pool. very pleasant stay. this was our 2nd stay at this hotel and would stay again. ate breakfast buffet in restaurant one morning. food tasted just fair but it is convenient. would have ranked 5 stars if rooms had microwave and refrig and if free breakfast was offered.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us last week. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our second year to stay at the Island House. We were not dissapointed. The hotel, pool, and grounds are kept clean and neat. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel restuarant several mornings. The restuarant food was always good and the restaurant staff friendly. All of the rooms face the beach and have patios with chairs...it was relaxing sitting on the patio watching the waves and dolphins every day. This is a hotel that makes you feel like family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Island House Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.