We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Island House Hotel to your Saves list
The Island House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26650 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was convenient for our overnight stay.. There was no fridge or microwave in the room. Buffet breakfast was rather pricey. Bedding was very clean and bed comfortable. Bathroom clean as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    83
    31
    16
    14
See reviews for
60
57
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for my son's baseball tournament. The hotel was in a good location but my family and I will not be staying here ever again. The first turn off was how the hotel immediately charged me for my room. I feel like their service lacks because they have already collected their money. The second problem i had was my television remote batteries were out and they sent security to replace them, which would not have been a bad thing had he not come completely in the room and I was already dressed for bed. The third thing was how housekeeping did not thoroughly clean the rooms. The bathtub was full of sand everyday. The worst part of our stay was the day we left. We realized my son's $200 headphones were missing. He did not use the headphones the entire trip and they never left the hotel room. We called the hotel to report the missing item and it took them three days to contact me back. They swore no one took them but housekeeping were the only ones who had access to my room and our things. I asked to speak to a manager and I am still waiting on the call. Stealing must happen regularly at this hotel because they felt the need to put up a sign on the back of the door saying they are not responsible for lost or stolen items. If you visit this hotel please keep your valuables in the safe!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at The Island House. They have a great front desk staff and rooms are always nice and overlook the ocean, however, this time there was a huge stain on our bedcovers - not quite sure what it was...The hotel is within walking distance to a few restaurants and Zeke's Marina and the beach is never too crowded since the hotel is not extremely large. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay on one of the upper floors so you view of the ocean will not be obstructed by the palm trees lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd time back! I love it there. It makes me feel like I'm at the beach. I'm extremely cautious with hotels! I always read a review, and that's why I'm giving this place a 5! Thank you to the nice Bell Hop, he even offered to fill out cooler up with ice! We checked out and went to the beach our last day, and that's when he offered to take our cooler inside for us for ice! He was so nice. We love the beach area because unlike the Condo's it is not overcrowded. Everyone had space! We had our own sand chair so we were right in the edge if the water. The Island House is walking distance from The Shrimp Basket. We went there 3 out of 4 nights. We love it there and hope to go back before Winter!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Island House Hotel in July and had an awesome vacation. Front desk staff, bell hop, housekeeping, restuarant staff, absolutely everyone, was super friendly and helpful in every way. Holly, a waitress in the restuarant, even took the time to remember our grandkids names and made them feel special every time we saw her. The hotel, and our room, was clean and we were even offered extra towels by housekeeping one rainy afternoon. Even our balcony was clean! Our beds and pillows were super comfortable and the hotel has in-room safes. This is a family friendly hotel but also good for couples. The bartender makes some wonderfully delicious adult fruity drinks which are great for sipping by the pool. We loved this place and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been going to the Island House for at least 15 years! It is a great size(not too big - not too small) with every room having an ocean front view! It is very family oriented but also romantic for couples.The staff is amazing! And don't forget to have breakfast in the lovely restaurant! We wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else on the Alabama Coast!

Room Tip: If you can get an upper floor, the view is simply amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Island House is a great hotel for the price. Located directly on the beach, it has the lowest price of any surrounding hotels. All of the rooms have an ocean view. We stayed on an upper view and had a beautiful unobstructed view. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The bed could have been a bit more comfortable, but I have slept on much worse. The hotel employees are very friendly and very helpful. I would happily stay here again. My only wish is that the on-site restaurant would stay open longer. It closes at 4pm and it would be very nice if it was open for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.