We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix on the Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenix on the Bay
Save
You added Phoenix on the Bay to your Saves list
27580 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
“Great Getaway!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The experience from calling to book our trip to checking out was very positive. We rented a one bedroom 1 1/2 bath - Unit 1121. We had young and old with us and all enjoyed. The lazy river and the slide were the selling points for us. My 78 year old mother even got in the lazy river and enjoyed every minute of it. This is a great spot for families because of the gated children's pool and splash pad. This was our first experience with renting a condo and with Brett/Robinson Vacations. It was such a positive one that we have already started looking at our calendars to plan our next getaway. When we asked my mother if she wanted to go to a different condo, she stated "NO - I loved exactly where we where!"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loxley, Alabama, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My family and two other couples rented a 3 bedroom 3 bath condo at the Phoenix on the Bay for my daughters 5th birthday. This was her present from us. Our experience started when we called Brett Robinson Vacations to book the condo. The lady on the phone was so friendly and so helpful. She told me about a special we could not refuse. Then we checked in and had the sweetest people at the front desk. They were so helpful and willing to do whatever to make our experience the best. This place has a waterslide, a wonderful lazy river, 3 pools and a kiddie pool, a mini golf, a wonderful tennis court and fitness area. I would recomend this to everyone. The only reason I can not give it a 5 was our condo was not all clean. Our floor was dirty and so was our bathtub. But I dont complain just not in my nature we just cleaned it and went on our way. When I finally told them at the front desk they were ready to send someone to clean it and appologized over and over. So if you rent these and for some reason they are not clean just tell the front desk and they will make it right. My friends and family had so much fun we will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Rented a 3br/3bath condo on the third floor. The property was clean, staff were friendly. Loved the balcony with views over the pools, etc. Kids really liked the water slide, lazy river, and golf area.

Did not appreciated having to pay for parking or for additional towels. There were not a lot of people there the weekend we were there, but noise carried from the pool area up to room. I would imagine that with a crowd, it might get a little loud.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We rented a 3b/3b condo (#1428) at Phoenix on the Bay, from Brett/Robinson Vacations and loved it! My kids had a blast in the indoor and outdoor pools, especially in the pool with the water slide! They also had an awesome time down by the beautiful pier area. We had some rainy days and some days with sunshine, but regardless of how the weather was the kids still found things to do. The condo was spacious and had a HUGE flat screen TV in the den that everone loved! We would definitely stay in this unit again and at Phoenix on the Bay!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was really a great stay.. We had #1423 -2b/2b condo and would stay in this one again. Super nice and had everything except hair dryer lol..The check in was the worst first it wasn't clean yet so we have to wait and then we got here and go up to our condo and someone else is in it. So we go back down to the front and they figure out they gave us the wrong room keys. Other than that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We rented a condo at Phoenix on the Bay via Brett/Robinson Vacations. The folks at the service desk were very extremely friendly and helpful. They answered all of our questions and were happy to do so.
The condo was a 2 Bdrm/2 Bath located on the 3rd floor above the water slide. I was impressed as to how spacious it was. We did discover a small leak around the light in the master bath shower coming from the floor above us. We called the front desk and reported it and someone from maintenance was there within 20 min. The problem was corrected very quickly.
The water slide, pools (indoor and outdoor), and the lazy river ride were all great. It was so convenient to come in from being out and about all day, change into our bathing suits, and then walk down to the pools, slide, and the lazy river. Of course, the lazy river was the best. It was so nice to float around mindlessly for hours. (There are signs that state no glass bottles are allowed in the pool areas but I wish that they would also ban all alcoholic beverages as well. Many people were drinking while floating on the lazy river. However, everyone was friendly and nice and we did not see anyone that was drinking causing any problems.)
Although the condo was on the bay and not on the beach, the public beaches were only a few minutes away. In addition, the condo was coveniently located 30 min. from Pensacola and 10 min. from Gulf Shores.
I would definitely recommend Phoenix on the Bay to others.

Room Tip: If you stay in Room 12 on any of the floors, it is conveniently located to parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our 4th or 5th stay and had a great time as has become the norm. 2 yr old grandson had a fantastic time he must have thought everyone there knew him by name as everyone was so friendly. No one there that we saw or talked to had any problem with the group that stayed in one spot in the Lazy river and drank and conversed with all who floated by they too were family people with small children and every one had a great time. Already made reservations for next Labor Day hope the weather is as great as it was this year.

Room Tip: Have stayed in a 1, 2 and 3 bedroom unit all were very nice. Higher floors have less noise but noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix on the Bay

Address: 27580 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful Back Bay/Terry Cove, this property is a hidden gem. Conveniently located with a 10min car drive of the beach and shopping. Great restaurants are within biking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenix On The Bay Hotel Orange Beach
Phoenix Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.