We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay once we got in our condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix on the Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenix on the Bay
Save Saved
You added Phoenix on the Bay to your Saves list
27580 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great stay once we got in our condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was really a great stay.. We had #1423 -2b/2b condo and would stay in this one again. Super nice and had everything except hair dryer lol..The check in was the worst first it wasn't clean yet so we have to wait and then we got here and go up to our condo and someone else is in it. So we go back down to the front and they figure out they gave us the wrong room keys. Other than that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We rented a condo at Phoenix on the Bay via Brett/Robinson Vacations. The folks at the service desk were very extremely friendly and helpful. They answered all of our questions and were happy to do so.
The condo was a 2 Bdrm/2 Bath located on the 3rd floor above the water slide. I was impressed as to how spacious it was. We did discover a small leak around the light in the master bath shower coming from the floor above us. We called the front desk and reported it and someone from maintenance was there within 20 min. The problem was corrected very quickly.
The water slide, pools (indoor and outdoor), and the lazy river ride were all great. It was so convenient to come in from being out and about all day, change into our bathing suits, and then walk down to the pools, slide, and the lazy river. Of course, the lazy river was the best. It was so nice to float around mindlessly for hours. (There are signs that state no glass bottles are allowed in the pool areas but I wish that they would also ban all alcoholic beverages as well. Many people were drinking while floating on the lazy river. However, everyone was friendly and nice and we did not see anyone that was drinking causing any problems.)
Although the condo was on the bay and not on the beach, the public beaches were only a few minutes away. In addition, the condo was coveniently located 30 min. from Pensacola and 10 min. from Gulf Shores.
I would definitely recommend Phoenix on the Bay to others.

Room Tip: If you stay in Room 12 on any of the floors, it is conveniently located to parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our 4th or 5th stay and had a great time as has become the norm. 2 yr old grandson had a fantastic time he must have thought everyone there knew him by name as everyone was so friendly. No one there that we saw or talked to had any problem with the group that stayed in one spot in the Lazy river and drank and conversed with all who floated by they too were family people with small children and every one had a great time. Already made reservations for next Labor Day hope the weather is as great as it was this year.

Room Tip: Have stayed in a 1, 2 and 3 bedroom unit all were very nice. Higher floors have less noise but noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed our fifth stay at POB this year;however, it was cut short three days due to Tropical Storm Isaac. Brett Robinson Vacations worked with us and gave us a refund for our remaining days. While we would have loved to stay our entire time, we enjoyed the four nights and five days we were there. The only negative I can give for POB is the weekend crowds make the lazy river really full. I don't mind that so much as their loud music. It's unfortunate that some people believe everyone wants to listen to their music which isn't always age appropriate for the little ones. By Sunday, they had left and we were back to the POB we love. We will continue to make this our annual vacation spot. It is our home away from home.

Room Tip: We love to stay on the Eastern side of the complex (units 23-31 on each floor). The view walking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just stayed 5 days at Phoenix on the Bay in August. We rented from Brett/Robinson Vacations and booking and check-in were easy. In fact check-in/out is done right on the property. Yes it is on the bay and not gulf front but is has plenty of fun stuff to do and driving to any attractions is not far. The lazy river, kiddie pool and water slide were a hit with the family. The river is pretty swift compared to others in the area I have stayed at and it was fun. There is also an indoor pool and fountains to make a wish at. You can fish off the docks and grill there too. We had a 2/2 unit on the 4th floor looking out onto the bay. You can see the bridge and just beyond the gulf. The rain kept the pool area closed at times but at least the security here wants to keep you safe. The unit was right next to the elevator but we never heard any noise in fact the place was pretty quiet except around the pool area. I will definitely be looking at this place again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

First time here. Loved it. Two children had a blast in lazy river, water slide, kiddie pool. Also fished off docks, indoor pool, grills. Location is excellent for eating out-close to several great seafood restaurants...Harbour grille-delicious, Flippers, Tacky jacks, diamond jims-great steaks. Beach close by. Room was not well cleaned, but very nice service came to reclean quickly. Helpful front desk. Thanks Brett Robinson for a great time!!!
Amy Snyder

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've been coming to Phoenix on the Bay with my family since it first opened many years ago. It was such a great place to bring the kids. This will sadly be our last year. For the past several years it has been taken over by rowdy, obnoxious, drinking-all-day-long, large groups of partyers. They hang in one spot on the lazy river usually with their music playing so loudly that you can hear it in the entire complex. It's hard to get around them while your trying to float in the lazy river and they throw their empties all in the bushes and side of the pool. Just a side note: I never see them get out to go to the bathrooms after all that drinking. YUK!! You cannot even enjoy sitting on your balcony to watch the view because their offensive and not family friendly music and yelling is so loud it's impossible. Security is a joke. They act scared of these people and refuse to do much of anything. It's just ridiculous that these types of people ruin vacations of others who paid the same to stay there and have a good time. I wanted a vacation to get away and relax, not to have a nonstop party atmostphere.

Another issue we encountered: last year when we brought our waverunners with us we were told by security that we should have made reservations for a parking spot for our trailer. So this year when we made reservations in advance I requested a reservation for parking a trailer. We were told on the phone that they don't accept reservations and that it's a "first come first served" parking situation. I was a little ticked about that but we decided that we would be there as soon as check out time for our arrival day was to ensure that we'd have a spot and be the first ones there. We did and were told there were no spots. For the next several days there were no spots and they could not tell us if there would be any openings. Didn't make sense that they wouldn't have a record of who was checking out with trailers. The truth finally came out that there were not going to be any openings because the owners had them all and renters were just out of luck. They don't advertise this bit of information for fear of losing money obviously. We would have definitely gone somewhere else had we known ahead of time. We also had our trailer hitch stolen in the parking garage during our stay.

This place has definitely gone down hill and it's a shame. We used to enjoy this place so much. Never again though will we stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix on the Bay

Address: 27580 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful Back Bay/Terry Cove, this property is a hidden gem. Conveniently located with a 10min car drive of the beach and shopping. Great restaurants are within biking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenix On The Bay Hotel Orange Beach
Phoenix Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.