We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tacky Jack's Tavern & Grill

Tacky Jack's Tavern & Grill
27206 Safe Harbor Dr, Orange Beach, AL 36561-5502
251-981-4144
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 113 restaurants in Orange Beach
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Columbia City IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I went for lunch and when we got there we were told they don't have a lunch menu "during the tourist season". We got a shrimp po-boy and a hamburger with a water and sweet tea and our bill was over $25.00. The french fries were extremely salty. Probably wouldn't go back. We got the most inexpensive items on the menu and they were just average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    84
    125
    73
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I had the fish tacos - very good. The service was excellent and we will definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate here after a great boat tour. The menu had a lot of variety and fun seafood selections. My husband had a flaky fish poboy, I had a crawfish salad, and the kids had burgers. Everybody was happy. The outdoor seating had a great view of the bayou and the wait staff was friendly. I'd recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
“Not worth a 1 hour wait PLUS another hour for food to be served!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were excited to try out Tack Jacks for ambiance alone. The coronarita was a fun spring break drink. We willingly put our name on the list for a 60 minute wait and headed to the bar. We were seated not a second before our 60 minute wait. Which again...we were all right with. We had a party of 8 - 4 adults and 4 kids that had to sit seperately. The server took our drink order and then went to the kids where she didn't even wait to hear one of them say yes "i'll have coke" before she ran off. We finally ordered and waiting another 50 minutes for shrimp plates. Checked on us 1x and said you are next to get your order - 25 minutes later....we finally got our food. Apparently the only thing they serve timely is nachos. NEVER AGAIN...and will share our experience with anyone who mentions going there. So disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute, Off the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We love this kind of place. On the bay, local, good food, great for the family, good seafood. My kids liked going here for happy hour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacky Jack's Tavern & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tacky Jack's Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacky Jack's Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.