We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayou boy makes out good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louisiana Pantry - CLOSED

Louisiana Pantry
4851 Wharf Pkwy, Ste D-100, Orange Beach, AL 36561
(251) 923-2448
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bayou boy makes out good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a quick lunch while tooling around orange beach. We Had been told of Chef Tom Wolfe's amazing talent. The atmosphere was chic but not off-putting. They had sugar tree ale from GA on top. Very yummy. Service was delightful. Food AWESOME. Mani special was fresh and light. Fried oysters on a bed of spicy rocket (arugula).. sublime. Oysters cooked to perfection with riddles of goat cheese And caramelized onions throughout. The topper? Holy mother of all desserts???? His mother's fried butter cake sticks with raspberry coulis And ice cream. No words people..no words. Well worth the $63 we spent. Young chef...worlds of talent!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    7
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pace, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Too Bad..So Sad..look at your glass of water!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a Saturday at 12:45. Wanting to try a different place at The Wharf. Only one other table of people which appeared to be finished. We were seated 1/3 of the way back from the windows overlooking the canal. Ok. We can watch football...all TVs on games that that no one in Alabama would be watching. Ok we can ask them to change the channel. But everyone disappeared...bartender, 2 servers, and hostess... 10 mins. Finally a server. "May we have a wine list and water"...back eventually with a wine list that was folded up in her order book...OK. She brings water leaves the container in case we need more! Things are looking up! Takes our orders for wine and app. Now almost 20 minutes..she is still the only staff we have seen since being seated...pick up my water glass...it had thick amount white flakes of ???? Floating around...(no lemons to cause the muck either)...Checked my husbands...not quite the amt of white flakes..BUT a hair..just hanging out... No way I could eat here now...sorry. Too many great options in Gulf Shores/ Orange Beach area to settle for this.
Can't say its terrible. Didn't put anything in our mouths. So gave it a poor.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Louisiana Pantry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had dinner with my parents last night at the Pantry and we had a great meal. The restaurant was fairly empty but that was expected for a Wednesday night out of season. Our meal was very good. We had oysters and Corn Crab Chowder for apps. I had a perfectly cooked filet with mash and a shallot reduction for the entree. My parents had the veal with orzo and the Wahoo special. I would go back for the wahoo and the steak and the crab chowder. For dessert we split the Ellie's lemon bars. Again, very good homemade dessert. Our waitress was funny and talked with us for a while. I am surprised at all of the mediocre and negative reviews as our experience was wonderful. The restaurant is modern and has indoor/outdoor seating. We didn't find it to be too expensive, just on par with other restaurants that serve that type of cuisine. With a bottle of wine, apps, entrees and dessert for three people the bill was $130. Not too bad at all! I will definitely go back and hope for the same.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never made it in the door, too bad menu looked good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went there to eat dinner with family before the light show. The menu and special for the night peeked our interest and seemed very good/original which is what we look for in a restaurant. The place was very nice on the inside and have nice views of the marina. There was really no customers in the restaurant. From what we could see, maybe small tables with people and then 15 open tables. We were told that we needed to make a reservation and that it would be for an hour out from the time we were standing there. Very disappointed since there were 3 tables occupied!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“a must try in orange beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This restaurant should be rated much higher then it is. I was greeted very nicely at the door to be seated. Our server was very prompt and friendly, always made sure our glasses were full, and made sure everything was good with our food. The food was amazing. Everyone must try the butter bars. And the filet was the best filet i have ever had. We will definitely be returning. The fish tacos for an appetizer are a must. People need to come and try this restaurant. You wont regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana Pantry also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisiana Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.