We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Southern Grind Coffee House

The Southern Grind Coffee House
4751 Main Street Suite 116, Orange Beach, AL
251-923-3265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 115 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I read the reviews so we stopped here on one of our driving tours. Glad we did. Great to get a "fancy" coffee drink without having to go to Target. Nice people, coffee and atmosphere. The weather was perfect for sitting outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Soooo Much More than Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The outside of this place really appealed to me so we stopped in at lunchtime. The inside was even better! This is no ordinary coffee house. Great selection of lunch items; I especially liked the panini menu and the salads were large and very fresh. Wonderful desserts from pastries to Gelato. But here's the "more" part: around the perimeter of the dining area there are beautifully merchandised goods for sale. It's like a smartly curated boutique of coastal items, inexpensive gifts, and one-of-kind hand made pieces. This is definitely a place I want to visit often because not only can you get a great cup of coffee or a meal, judging by how many people were leaving with treasures, I am sure they get new stuff in all the time!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Reprieve From the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stopped here for a coffee. Great choices and the Lattes were great. That's not as easy as you might think. This was a stop by on our way home. But definitely will not be our last visit. One of those places you wish you had found earlier. Just makes you go "AHHHH!" They serve non coffee drinks, Breakfast, Soups, Gelato and Paninis. Come, Step in and Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a cool place in the Wharf. The owner is an artist and has a lot of her works on display. There are lots of things on sale also. They have a nice selection of pastries and desserts. they also have a great selection for lunch. The coffee is very good. I like this place and will return when in Orange Beach

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Coffee plus delicious lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just the right combination of coffee, gelato , sandwiches and unusual gifts. We had a relaxing lunch with family and friends. The daily specials are fresh and prepared to order. Gelato is extra creamy with many favorites as well as spectacular blends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Southern Grind Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to The Southern Grind Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Southern Grind Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.