We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gulf

The Gulf
Perdido Pass at Perdido Pass Bridge, on Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL
251-424-1800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 119 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Owasso, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Came early for dinner and other than it being a little hot, everything was outstanding. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grouper sandwich was very good. Had the mahi Caesar and it was delicious. I do not understand people who complain about prices ina tourist town. The food was fresh and the atmosphere was worth every penny. Don't go expecting a lot of choices- small
Menu but they do it all well

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    136
    44
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food is good. The menu is limited; they don't even offer fried shrimp. The view is nice, but you could skip the high price tag, purchase a take-out meal and eat at the public park just down the road.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great new place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Best grouper sandwich I have ever had! It's made out of shipping containers arranged in a cool modern design. All outdoor seating but lots of shade. Music is from LP records complete with the clicks and pops. We will be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“WOW and in my own Backyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband have lived in Gulf Shores for the past 14 years. We now live full time in our Motorhome, but still consider this area "Home."
We are staying at at Motorhome resort in Orange Beach, after traveling for a few months. Before we left we noticed Blue Container boxes being assembled next to Perdido Pass.
Came back, finished!!
Last night with out of town friends, we headed there.
Could NOT BELIEVE my eyes as we walked through the breezeway!!!
Incredible, brilliant came to mind!
Smell of food fabulous and the atmosphere, beach, grass, water, boats, different seating areas, sofas, picnic tables, all different... Arm chairs with a table in between, benches, palm trees, twinkle lights!!
We had made plans to eat elsewhere. Won't do that again.
Hardest part was keeping my husband from grabbing French fries off the trays as the waiters and waitresses walked by. They looked and SMELLED so good!
Know where we will be ALL SUMMER.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRidder
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had heard nothing but great things about the Gulf, and the reviews here backed them up. Unfortunately, we had a mediocre experience. Most of us had the fried fish sandwich. It was a big mess of a sandwich with a soggy piece of fish that had no seasoning or flavor. Just tasted fishy. We must of had 6 orders of fries in our group, I think all 6 baskets had just a few fries missing as we left. Bad looking and tasting. Four orders of the grilled cheese sandwich for the kids each had one bite missing. Kids wouldn't eat any more. Burger looked good, just a tough atmosphere to order one in (with the sound of the waves in the background). Also, make sure you go barefoot and plan on getting sandy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gulf also viewed

 

Been to The Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.