We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak...EVER!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse

Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse
25638 Canal Road, Orange Beach, AL 36561
251-981-2652
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 115 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best steak...EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We're a big fan of Trip Advisor, so when looking for that special place to eat on our family vacation, the reviews sent us to Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse! Walking in we were a little concerned by the "casual" decor. This goes under the saying "don't judge the book by it's cover" - "don't judge the food by the building"! We've had the privilege of eating at some of the finest restaurants in the south east and I can say by far, this was the best steak that I have EVER eaten! It melted in my mouth, perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked! Our daughter ordered the shrimp - they were huge and cooked to perfection! To top the evening off we ordered dessert. They offer to flavors of "homemade" cake. Pear cake and Carmel! We ordered the Carmel, it was served fresh and still warm...out of this world! We will return! Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    26
    13
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crazy Wait - Fantastic Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went to this restaurant with a party of six. The hostess told my husband that she couldn't give him an idea of the wait because the large parties had been sitting there for hours with their to-go boxes. We waited an hour and then told the hostess to take our name off the list. She promised no more than ten more minutes, so we waited. When we were finally seated, Blythe came by and took our drink orders. She was our waitress, but we usually only saw her from a distance leaning up against the wall and chatting with someone else on staff. I wish we had the name of the woman who took care of us, because she was amazing! We made a point to tip her separately. But about the food - we all ended up with steak. My husband and I split a ribeye, three got a ribeye to themselves and one ordered the filet. The steaks were HUGE and delicious. They were all perfectly cooked, and no one had a single complaint about the food. Even the salads and appetizers were fantastic - the grape tomatoes were the best I've ever tasted! I highly recommend that you go there for the steak, but don't expect great service. Still, the food is worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Ribeye Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

BEST RIBEYE in the south!. We have ate at many restaurants in southern Al. And Diamond Jim's beats them all hands down. Don't let the looks of the place fool you, you will get the best Ribeye steak there is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Run, run like the wind.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Sat there for thirty minutes. Watched table next to us get an order after sitting for 20 minutes. Had to go to bar to get beer twice and still didnt get our order. Will never go there again even if food is supposed to be decent

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing ribeye at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very popular place and for good reason. We dined on the Labor Day weekend and had a 30 min wait but worth it. The ribeye for $25 is plenty big to share and comes with two sides for each of the persons sharing it. It was perfectly cooked and delicious. Good service and a friendly server made it a great place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.