We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old seafood place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse

Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse
25638 Canal Road, Orange Beach, AL 36561
251-981-2652
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 115 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great old seafood place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Lots of really good seafood. Apps were very good, gumbo, boiled shrimp, salads. Fried and grilled seafood was hot and reasonably priced. Very good old type atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    26
    13
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, but just good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After my filet came back from being too rare to the way I like it, the meat was definitely good. It was the crab legs that were the problem. Being on the gulf, I expected the chef to know how to steam them. Instead, they were overly steamed and dried out. Stick the the filet or ribeye and you should leave satisfied.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“YUMMY steak and shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We live not far from this establishment and decided to take my parents and their friends from Atlanta here to eat. Service was friendly and they had a great crowd, my boys love their shrimp. My parents and their friends and my husband and I all ordered steaks and they were great, cooked to perfection.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good steak in Orange Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My experience with most of the restaurants in the Orange Beach/Gulf Shores area have not typically been very good. We decided to skip the tourist seafood traps this year and try some new small places. Diamond Jims and Mrs. Donnas claimed to be the best steak in the area so we gave it a try. I can say that the steaks were huge and delicious. Every steak in our party of 4 was cooked perfectly to order. I would not say that it is the "best steak ever" as some other reviewers claim, but it is definitely worth a try. The price is a little on the expensive side, but hey, rent is high at the beach so I don't mind paying higher prices for decent food. We will eat here in the future when we are in the area. This is a very casual restaurant, so don't get dressed up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We loved everything about this non-chain-restaurant. The BAMA Shrimp appetizer was enough to feed more than just the two of us, and was excellent. The huge steak was perfectly medium rare; the gumbo was some of the best I have had in a long time. We will be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Jim's and Mrs. Donna's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.