We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Reds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Shores Steamer

Gulf Shores Steamer
27267 Perdido Beach Blvd, Suite 115, Orange Beach, AL 36561
(251) 948-6344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 115 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Tapas, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Leeds, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Royal Reds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

If you are looking for good Royal Reds, this is the place, they are cooked to perfection, a little messy, but that is just part of it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    87
    35
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Food at a Fair Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Don't go here for ambiance, but if you want a lot of good seafood at a great price it's definitely the place to go. Whether it's steamed shrimp, lobster tail, baked or raw oysters, the portions are large and the taste as good as you'll find on the Alabama coast. You can sit outside on large picnic tables and come in swimsuits. The service is great! I've been coming to the area for 40+ years and have tried them all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent food. Need larger servingfor price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We ate lunch here while on vacation. The dining area is nice with an immediate access to the docking area for charter and personal watercraft. Ordered 1/2 pound of reds and 3 clusters of crab legs. The cost for 2 strawberry daiquiris, 1 pina colada, 1 coke and the aforementioned meal totalled $72 and some change plus tip. Not enough food for 2 adults and a small child.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Party of six. The food was great and the service was better. This was our first time and there is no doubt we will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayoublondie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We always order a big platter to share. It's always perfect. Yes, the shrimp have heads. You get much more flavor that way. Yes, they are a little difficult to peal. The restaurant has no control over this. It's a sign of freshness. If you are a wuss, don't order them. They are most definitely worth the work! The crab and oysters are fantastic, as well. The tea is also wonderful. This is our favorite meal when we visit Gulf Shores. It's worth the drive to Orange Beach. The Steamer that is in Gulf Shores is not as good as this one. I highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Shores Steamer also viewed

 

Been to Gulf Shores Steamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Shores Steamer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.