We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These are the best shrimp ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar

Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar
26029 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561
251-981-6999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 115 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“These are the best shrimp ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stopped here on the way to hotel and was not disappointed. We each got a seafood platter and it was a good amount of food. The fried shrimp were the best we have ever had. Would definitely go back when in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    152
    56
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food Good Service not as good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We visited this restaurant on a recommendation. We took the full parking lot like a good sign. We got the impression from the attitude of our waitress that they are not concerned about customer service. Though the servers at other tables were more friendly. Maybe she was having an off day. As several parties near us left, the noise from the host and the buser cleaning the tables was deafening. It appeared they were more concerned with seating the next customers than they were with current customers. It's not a bar but definitely reminded us of being in one. When the server brought our food I told her this was not as I ordered. She snapped " I know, I'll get the potatoes". Not, I'm sorry I noticed that and will get what you ordered. The food was good but, in my opinion over priced. The drink orders were also incorrect. Not sure that the feeling of inconviencing the two staff members we encountered is worth a return vistin the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Orange Beach Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I grew up spending much time in OB, and eventually lived in the area for some time. I actually lived down the road from Doc's, and ate there fairly often. They always have delicious seafood and great prices. The fried flounder is yummy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philpot, Kentucky
1 review
“Doc's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had several people suggest Doc's. We were not disappointed. Lots of locals there. Always a good sign. Food was plentiful and perfectly seasoned. Will go back next trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I have been to Doc's several times over the last two years in traveling to this area. The shrimp are so light and delicious. Our waitress let us try some of their grilled shrimp and I will certainly get them next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.