We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwiches-a must!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grape Escape Deli & Wine Cellar

The Grape Escape Deli & Wine Cellar
3099 Loop Rd, Unit 2, Orange Beach, AL 36561
(251) 980-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 115 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches-a must!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My favorite lunch place hands down-love it!!! The spot is small but its because everything they create is quality. Great wine, delicious food and a clean yet cozy atmosphere is what makes it. I always make a point to eat there

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I eat at the Grape Escape every time we are in town and recommend to everyone. My favorite is the Portobello sandwich and the tomato bisque soup MUST be infused with some magical ingredient.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the nearby Fairfield Inn and stopped by for lunch twice during the week.
The food was excellent. My wife ordered a "breadless" sandwich and the presentation was fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Cuban sandwich north of Miami.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Grape Escape Deli and Wine Cellar is wonderful place for late breakfast or lunch. Their hours are 9 to 5 Mon-Sat, closed on Sundays. It is a small, spotlessly clean, friendly deli with a surprisingly large menu. It is located in a shopping center and parking should never be a problem. Their beverage selection included several popular, inexpensive wines as well as choices for a connoisseur. Charlotte and I chose a bottle of Apothic Red at an excellent price and decided on Cuban sandwiches. I wish we would have another opportunity to return on this vacation, however there are so many good places to eat in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores and so little time. .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberta, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Lunch on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I should qualify that; if you're looking for a sandwich or soup or a salad, then it's the best lunch you can find on the island. Grape Escape offers a huge variety of sandwiches (and things like them), soups that change almost every day, and salads to choose from. My wife and I love eating here when we're looking for a quick bite in Orange Beach. Her favorite is the Salmon Wasabi Wrap and often goes for half with a cup of soup. Their tomato basil is delicious. I really enjoy the Cuban myself. Most sandwiches comes with chips as well.

The service is always great. Sometimes they can get pretty busy, but people are friendly and try to please everyone. The prices aren't the cheapest on the island for a soup/ sandwich place, but the quality is there to justify them to me.

I've never been myself, but the wine tastings at Grape Escape are also worth a trip according to many of my friends. They also have free wi-fi, so if you're alone pull up a chair to a bar and you can even plug in if need be to get some work done. If you're looking for a good lunch somewhere on the island, you won't go wrong with this spot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grape Escape Deli & Wine Cellar also viewed

 
Orange Beach, AL
Orange Beach, AL
 

Been to The Grape Escape Deli & Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grape Escape Deli & Wine Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.