We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phoenix West to your Saves list
Phoenix West
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   23972 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mandeville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Our condo unit 705 was a beautiful unit. The kitchen was fully equipped to make full course dinners. This was a family vacation that grandparents, adult children and grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed . The views from the balcony are beautiful and to hear the surf is so serene. The grandkids loved the pools, water slide and lazy river. They split their time at the beach and the pools. We had family pictures done by Photos by LuLu and were extremely pleased. She was a wonderful person and photographer. There are many attractions near such as Adventure Island and restaurants like the Hangout, which the grandkids loved. If you are looking for a really nice place to stay, this is it. We go at least three times a year. No matter what season of the year it is ,we always enjoy Orange Beach and Phoenix West.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
59
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed just a couple of days in May 2013. We had rented 1706 (3 bedroom, 4 bath) and it was VERY VERY nice. We got off to a rough start as the key cards did not work when we arrived which required us to stand in the hallway for an hour. Eventually the keys began to work (computer lag??) and we got in the door. This condo was nicely furnished, quite clean and we had no issues with elevator access. The property boasts a pool, lazy river and quick access to the beach. Parking is plentiful in the attached garage. There are no restaurants within walking distance but plenty within a short drive. This is a high rise that is about 5 years old and is sprinkler equipped and fire/smoke detector equipped. Lots of balcony space for sitting outside. We did have neighbors next condo but did not hear them through the walls. Overall I'd recommend this condo and building if the location is what you are after.

Room Tip: There are multiple realty companies that rent these condo's.......shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our family took our annual beach vacation to Orange Beach and stayed in Phoenix West on the 7th floor. It was furnished beautifully, and had enough beds for 10 adults. Being on a lower floor we could park indoors within 100 ft. of the unit. It was low enough that we could walk up but high enough to enjoy a great view from a relatively private balcony. The unit had all the kitchen stuff we needed and was clean and nicely decorated. It felt like we were back home for the week, but with a fantastic view of the sunset.

We didn't experience problems with the elevators any more than was expected with a large building. The lazy river, zero-entry pool, indoor pool, exercise room and especially the water slide were great fun for the adults (6) and children (5).

The facility is close to grocery stores, restaurants and other entertainment sites. We went toward Foley and had a great time at the Adventure Park, and did some shopping at the outlets. Many good restaurants are only a short drive away.

The staff at the front desk was very helpful, especially Diane and Carol, and getting a wristband for the pool was no problem. I think they do that because some people not staying there were coming to use the pools, etc. It was not inconvenient at all.

The facility is very child-friendly and very secure. There is usually a guard at the street, but always a guard or two on duty, and security camers in many locations. Being able to park indoors is a HUGE plus on hot days and/or rainy days.

We plan on going back annually, and trying to stay in the same unit because it can sleep so many, is well-decorated and has everything we need for the kitchen and bar.

Room Tip: The parking deck is eight floors, so try to get a unit on the 8th floor or lower so you can drive up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We took a family vacation in July 2012. We had a large 4BR condo. The only complaints with resort was elevators were very slow and full, the pools were a little cool for our liking but kids liked them, the air in our condo was awful one BR would freeze while another burned up. We really enjoyed parking garage, the lazy river and security. Also the condos were very clean and taken care of! But this resort needs more elevators, sometimes we would wait 8-10 mins on elevator.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week between Christmas and New Years. This condo complex is centrally located between Orange BeAch and Gulf Shores. Condos are beautifully appointed with near top of the line amenities. We had no maid service, so it really is like having your own apartment for the week. Right on the beach, the daily walks and sunsets in this area can't be beat. Pools are nice, very nice fitness center, tennis court in shade on ninth floor is unique. Parking is very convenient. You will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We loved our stay at the Phoenix West. The unit was very spacious with 3 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. The condo included anything we could possibly need. The furnishings were excellent. The master bathroom was so spacious. It had a double shower and a Jacuzzi tub. It had a nice balcony with a beautiful view of the gulf. We loved the slide, pool and lazy river. It was not crowded but we did vacation in the beginning of October. We would definitely stay here again and recommended it to anyone vacationing in Orange Beach.

Room Tip: go online and check out the suites and pick one suitable to your style
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My family has rented for a months length for our fall break vacation for the last 3 years from Phoenix West. We have loved it every year. They have great beach access, 3 pools to choose from, and every condo we have rented have been great. We love getting up in the mornings and enjoying the beach from the balcony. Almost every single morning you will see many dolphins. My husband and dad enjoy fishing very much. They have fished from the shore right out in front of Phoenix West every year and have caught many different types of fish. We havent taken a fishing trip in Orange Beach yet. We enjoy walking out onto the Pier down the road a little ways to see what everyone else is catching. We enjoy visiting the Shrimp Festival at the Hangout during the month of October. We loved shopping at the Wharf one day. The shops are a little pricey but it is really pretty at night outside close to the water. We also enjoyed eating and watching the Titans game at Baumhower's the the Wharf.
We have several favorite restaurants, I will try to name a few. Cosmos, Tin Top, Colbalts, Shipps Harbour Grill, Wolf Bay Lodge, Francos, Docs, and Baumhower's. There are more I am sure. There is also the Tanger Outlets not to far away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix West

Address: 23972 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix West 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury property located 4 miles East of Hwy 59. Conveniently located to great shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Phoenix West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix West Hotel Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.