We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf

Save Saved
You added The Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4830 Main Street, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Gretna, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Very disappointed in our overall experience at The Wharf on a recent family vacation. After going back to the website and rereading it and searching only did I finally find that a shuttle was provided to the Oasis area. The Oasis area is the pool/lazy river/wave pool area, it is not connected to the condos, so you can walk but its a good distance especially with kids, they do provide golf carts for your transportation to the pool area every 15 minutes but if more than 7 people are headed down to the pool area together someone will have to be left behind, you can also drive your car there. This was found to be very inconvenient with 5 young children in the group. The pool area not being connected to the condos is the number one reason why we will not be returning to The Wharf in the future. While at other resorts where there is a pool area and or lazy river, you can bring your own cooler and food and drinks, you are not allowed to do so here, a TIKI Bar is provided but very pricey. The bathrooms are located far away from the pool area, to me this is only encouraging people to urinate in the pools. The Oasis/pool area is only open from 10-8, its hard for young kids who are up early to wait til 10 to go swimming, besides the sun and heat are at there hottest from 12-3, so the pool should be open earlier so the kids can swim when the sun isn't at its hottest and open later for that same reason, they have lights in the pool and you can enjoy swimming without the sun. They also only offer 10 umbrellas for shade in this large area, they are first come first serve, there is no large area by the pool that provides shade, we had a 6 month old with us and other children, so when the 6 month old needed to have a break from the sun, the other children had to get out because we weren't able to watch them in the pool from a shaded area. If we were aware of this prior we would have brought an umbrella. On one of the days it started to rain at 2:00, the pool was closed due to bad weather, the bad weather lasted till 3:30, we decided to go back to the pool at 6:00, we loaded the kids in the cars and they were all excited about going swimming only to find that the pool had closed for the day, a chain and lock were on the gate. There were no signs that said once the pool is closed, it will be closed for the day. The parents and kids were very disappointed, the weather had cleared up and there was no reason to close the pool. If they wanted to send the workers home from the Bar that would have been fine, they don't provide lifeguards so they could have at least one person there to allow people to enjoy the pool. We called the after hour number that was provided to find out why the pool was closed because the office closes at 6, only to find out that they have no control over the pool and they are security. We were told that we could only use the tubes provided for the lazy river, other resorts that we have been to allowed you to bring in other floating devices that are more comfortable. I did like the fact that the pools were zero entry/beach entry. Inside the condos were nice, but extremely disappointed in The Oasis area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferris, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We took our 2 kids to the The Wharf for our family vacation. Normally taking cruises, we had our expections high. I work at a Bed and Breakfast, and customer service is a must!
First of all, upon making our reservation, we had referred 2 other couples who booked here also, and we were told bc of this we would receive some sort of coupons for the Ferris Wheel, or theatre or Laser Tag. Upon check in, it was told to us that this was noted in our reservation but the person that booked us was off; that they would call us later. That was fine. We call the next day, she's off still... WELL HELLO.. you see the notes, step up to the plate and take care of business! We finally get 4 games of Laser Tag the day before we leave. By this time, we have paid for about 4 games already!
The a/c in the room is non-adjustable, being locked at 75 degrees.... it gets hot, espicially at night. By bedtime, the first night, all of our feet were black from the floors.
Some of the electrical sockets did not work, and the alarm clock did not work.
The pool was great; but you have to either drive your vehicle, or ride the golf cart. It is too far to walk. We didn't see this on the website.
I called to check with the front desk about what was in the room, and was told a "starter pack". When we got to the condo, that included 1 roll of paper towels, 1 roll of toliet paper, the only trash bag was the one in the trash can, no shampoo, conditioner, etc..., 1 small pack of stuff for the dishwasher, and no soap to wash dishes with.
There was not an extra blanket for the fold out couch, and you could see, not to mention, feel the springs in it. We have stayed in condos before, and most of this was provided for you. We found out after being there and talking with other condo owners, that The Wharf had actually gone into bankruptcy. Not sure when though. That is why alot of the shops are vacant spaces.
Not sure we will be returning here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here on our way back from Disney to catch the Country Throwdown tour. The room was nice the water park was great. Leah booked our room and she was great. Our problem was with the person that checked us in. She treated us like cattle. She talked so fast we couldn't keep up with what she was saying. We have never stayed here before so we had questions. She acted very annoyed and didn't want to be bothered. We couldn't find a luggage cart so we called to see where they were stored. Again this same very rude person said they should be on the third floor and that was it. After lookiong again and not finding we called agin. The very rude person snapped she couldn't help us that she had seventy check ins this date. Leah was very nice and advised me she could send someone to look. I told her we would find one. All that to say this. WE WILL NEVER STAY AT THE WHARF AND GO THROUGH WHARF RENTAL PEOPLE AGAIN BECAUSE OF THAT VERY RUDE PERSON!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at The Wharf for New Year's Eve. There was a huge party in the central shopping area with three live bands...and then at midnight a spectacular fireworks display that was done simultaneously from two locations on either side of the main street. The restaurants and shops were all doing a lively business as well.

the condo we stayed in was perfect...luxurious, comfortable, quiet (even with all of the revelry going on outside!). It was a great weekend and we're looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I was amazed, this place was perfect. Beautiful scenery, loved the restaurants and shops downstairs and the lazy river/ wave pool. Very relaxing! Everything you need in one place. Orange Beach, AL is breathtaking but staying at the Wharf exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf

Address: 4830 Main Street, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Specialty lodging in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wharf 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.