We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Variety of Fish Dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish Restaurant & Bar

Big Fish Restaurant & Bar
25814 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3842
+1 251-981-5516
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 115 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Big Fish offers a vast variety of FRESH seafood, premium cut steaks, and a very desirable sushi menu. We have a large wine and cocktail menu. Our open-kitchen concept creates a nice buzz. We have beautiful bar setting for meeting friends and clients. Our courtyard is great for beautiful days and evenings. Let us help you make Big Fish your #1 dining choice!
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Variety of Fish Dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We found this place through trip advisor and glad we did. They had a large selection of fresh fish prepared several different ways in which you can choose. Sushi was very fresh and delicious. Outdoor patio was very nice but be sure to bring your bug spray for the mosquitos. Our server, Jeff was right on top of everything - knew the menu front and back - he was great!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFish R, Owner at Big Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi "LoveMyThree"--

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at Big Fish! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!

Big Fish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    67
    26
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews here, my family and I (two adults, 3 kids) decided to try Big Fish. Strip mall? You will totally forget that once inside! Every staff member we saw greeted us, and they were so friendly. I was so impressed with the decor inside...not at all what I expected. We sat in the charming courtyard at the back of the restaurant, and had the most pleasant, attentive waiter,
Jeff. He was witty and informative, and he totally stayed aware of our needs without us having to ask. Glasses were refilled promptly...even the kids'. We started with the Crab Fritters (delicious and FULL of crabmeat) and the Chili Tuna Sashimi from the sushi menu at Jeff's wise suggestion. The tuna was to DIE for and is a definite reorder item for me! Hubby had the Big Fish sandwich, and he enjoyed it to the point that he would order it again. I got the scallops, and they were delicious. The portion size was very small (4 scallops, a scoop of fried rice and a serving of garlic spinach), but with the appetizers, I didn't go home hungry. The kids loved their meals, and I loved the kids meal prices! We opted to share a slice of Key Lime Pie and a Chocolate Lava Cake. Both were amazing. We will absolutely visit again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFish R, Owner at Big Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Amy--

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at Big Fish! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!

Big Fish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place with very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Yes, the Big Fish is located in a strip mall. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and so was the service. I had the crab cakes which were all crab and delicious! Two people in our group had one of the fresh catches "BIG FISH" style and they loved it. I would highly recommend the Big Fish and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFish R, Owner at Big Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Carolyn--

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at Big Fish! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!

Big Fish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very relaxing night with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had driven all day so were tired & just wanted to eat some good food & relax. This place definitely met our requirements! We were able to sit in the bar area & watch March Madness while enjoying our dinner. Good food & excellent service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFish R, Owner at Big Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi HippyChick--

Thanks for making Big Fish your first choice after a long trip. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! We hope you will be dining with us again soon! Thank you so much!

Big Fish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Multiple trips, seafood/beef entrees great. Food is hot, unlike some joints where the grub comes out maybe warm. Who cares if they wear t's & sneaks. Didn't care for the meatloaf balls, out of Molly Dooker. Oysters?

General comment: Leave yer kids at home, screaming kids in a restaurant are such a drag, moms get a clue, your rug rats are not our little "kiddos".

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFish R, Owner at Big Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi Peter--

Thanks for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Big Fish and thanks for understanding about the T's. We are at the beach and we aren't a fine dining restaurant and we don't try to be either. We want our staff and patrons to feel comfortable. As far as the meatloaf muffins go--well, we are seafood joint LOL! But i thought we would throw some comfort food on the menu for some non-seafood eaters. Anyway, thank you for your support and we hope you will be dining again soon!

All the Best!

Bi Fish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Big Fish Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.