We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the strip mall façade fool you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish Restaurant & Bar

Big Fish Restaurant & Bar
25814 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3842
+1 251-981-5516
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 115 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Big Fish offers a vast variety of FRESH seafood, premium cut steaks, and a very desirable sushi menu. We have a large wine and cocktail menu. Our open-kitchen concept creates a nice buzz. We have beautiful bar setting for meeting friends and clients. Our courtyard is great for beautiful days and evenings. Let us help you make Big Fish your #1 dining choice!
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't let the strip mall façade fool you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I was a little scared when I saw that this restaurant was located in a strip mall, but upon entering, I felt at ease. It was nicely decorated with a very modern, upscale bar area. The service was excellent - every member of the staff we encountered went above and beyond to ensure we were happy. I had one of the fresh catches prepared "Big Fish Style" and it was excellent. The side of sauteed spinach was wonderful and perfectly complimented the fish. The wine list (although not extensive), was good and very reasonably priced. All members of my party were pleased with their dishes as well. One of them ordered several of the small plates in lieu of an entree and was just as happy as the rest of us with entrees. Anyway, please don't miss this place if you are looking for some really good food without the kitschy, touristy vibe. They take reservations, so if I were you, I'd call ahead and have them reserve your spot.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    67
    26
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Meatloaf Muffins, take a trip with me to the Gulf Coast Zone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Big Fish that terrific resturant in Orange Beach has discovered a new crustacean known as the elusive Meatloaf Muffin. This tasty little creature is in season year around and has been perfected at Big Fish. My family and I went there for dinner on a Friday night in June, and only had to wait five minutes for seating. This caused a rise in my level of concern. After sitting down and ordering the necessary cocktails we proceeded with dinner. We all had a vast array of seafood starters and entrees, it pains me to say this but my fathers meatloaf muffins stole the show. All jokes aside I hate meatloaf and don't eat it, but those will change your mind about the dreaded loaf.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

Being a self-professed foodie it can difficult to find a restaurant that deserves such high marks. We have dined at Big Fish on several occasions and we have never been disappointed. There is always an abundance of FRESH seafood that is served in a way to enhance, not cover up, the flavors of the dish. Always our 1st choice for a meal when visiting the area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perdido Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A positive surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We'd heard of the Big Fish and when friends recommended we join them we did. It was a great experience from start to finish. Our server recommended the Appalachicola oysters that were prepared with a mignonette sauce. We also tried the scallops prepared three ways which were wonderful. Three of us opted for hog snapper, two sauteed and the other "Big Fish" style. All were excellent. We finished it off with a great dessert. It was a great experience from start to finish. Can't wait to visit again

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We tried this place since Cosmos was packed, and we're glad we did. Ate in the patio area, which was nice. A little pricey but the quality of everyone's food was excellent, and we would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Big Fish Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.