We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Billing customers despite hurricane” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3111 Loop Road, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Orange Beach
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Billing customers despite hurricane”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a 3 night reservation at this hotel, but called to cancel due to tropical storm Karen. The entire region is under a hurricane watch with the storm expected to make landfall at hurricane strength. Because I booked the room online using an advance rate, the hotel management refused to give me a full refund, still charging me for one night. I am a Marriott rewards member with gold status, called customer service and they explained it is up to individual hotel managers to decide whether they will refund customers in full in the event of extreme severe weather. Very disappointed general manager Karen Choat decided to stick it to customers during an event totally out of their control. I know in the past other Marriott properties have issued full refunds during hurricanes for EVERY type of reservation. I wish this property would have done the same.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    70
    16
    9
    14
See reviews for
84
65
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just spent a two night stay at the Marriott Fairfield Inn in Orange Beach Alabama. We had a great stay! The staff was excellent and helpful. The rooms were spotless and very clean. The beds were VERY comfortable. Each bed had 5 pillows each. We stayed in one of the executive suites which had 2 queen size beds, Sofa bed in separate area with desk. 2 televisions. Very spacious bathroom. Large balcony which overlooked the pool. It was neat to see an alligator and snapping turtles in the pond by the pool from our balcony. The breakfast served in the mornings were delicious! Many items to choose from. Eggs, waffles, biscuits and gravy, fruit, sausage, bagels, muffins, etc. The hotel is not on the beach but is in walking distance. The hotels also has a shuttle to get you closer to the beach. Many stores near by in case something is forgotten. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel facing the pool. The views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I reserved a room from tripadvisor guidance. Picked a basic king non smoking room. Received a handicapped accessible room without being advised at checkin. In the bathroom a used washcloth was still in the shower and trash (box for cough syrup) was in the trash. Bed was made and other trash emptied though. So that was odd. Room had towels but only 2 large towels. I have long hair and usually use two myself instead of the smaller towel. There was no hair dryer! I've never been to a hotel with no hair dryer. Couple that with lack of large towels and you have an inconvenience. So overall just a weird experience. We left early in the am for a fishing trip so no breakfast review.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arab, Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Upon arrival the front desk staff were extremely friendly, willing to offer suggestions, and happy to suggest the options of getting to the beach. Once I entered the room, I was very disappointed with the smell of the room. The air had not been circulating and it left a mildew smell. The room was clean otherwise.
As for beach access, I chose to drive to a state park area 1/4 mile away and did not regret my decision as the staff had explained that they would carry me to a busy road, but not to the beach.
In the future I would probably stay at comparable beachfront hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

booked hotel for 42 family members and friends for a great weekend. This was a great place to stay. Everything was awesome. Breakfast standard continental, but good. Hotel is right across from the beach, and the staff was nice and friendly. The pool was.nice. The rooms were clean and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Friendly staff, attentive to guests, great breakfast in the mornings. Comfortable beds with lots of pillows...ahhhh!
The beach access is across the street, which is a close enough walk or they have a golf cart shuttle service.
This is a great, comfortable hotel, close enough to the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for even numbered room, so you can view the pool and the adorable pond in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterrett, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband, two children and I stayed at this hotel. The staff go above and beyond to help you. We called because a sliding door to the balcony was getting stuck. We did not ask them to fix it, we just wanted them to know it wasn't us who broke the door. : ) They call right back and had a maintenance worker come to look at it. He said someone had probablly kicked it and it would take him a few hours to fix so they were willing to put us in a new room. No questions asked.
The cooking, housekeeping, maintenance and front desk staff were VERY FRIENDLY. Everyone said hello and were asking us how our vacation was going. Clean rooms and lots of extra towels, all you have to do is ask.
There is a Publix and a small grocery Wal-Mart nearby. There is also a pizza place and subway close by. They have a great hot complimentary breakfast.
We enjoyed our stay here very much and would come back again. If you can, request a room in the back of the hotel by the pool and lake, the balconies are bigger.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach

Address: 3111 Loop Road, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Orange Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Fairfield Inn Orange Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.